We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Authentic Greenport Cucina”
Review of Biere - CLOSED

Biere
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Greenport, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Authentic Greenport Cucina”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Biere manages to be both authentically Greenport and an authentic cucina. Frank and family create a such unique and welcoming place that draws so many locals that it can feel like a club for Greenporters with so many people stopping by tables of friends and neighbors to say hi, but inclusive enough that out-of-towners often leave feeling part of the club. And, the kitchen serves such fresh, delicious, and personally prepared food it would fit into any Italian city. I always leave feeling contently relaxed and with great taste memories.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    15
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Riverhead, New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The Best of the Best”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The food is definitely the best on the North Fork, the locals who live and work in Greenport I have heard them say Franks place is definitely the best food on the North Fork. Its best to order a drink and let Frank surprise you with the meal. Its a total experience that I have not had in any restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oiafisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best food in Greenport”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The restaurant is a not so well kept secret anymore, so you might wait for one precious table, and it is all worth the time. We go there all year long, and Frank, the owner, is always there, serving his chef's wife's amazing food, and pulling great surprises out of his many hats, such as local oysters, Peconic Bay scallops, grass fed beef and the absolute best ice creams in New York state.
Should I add that he makes wine in his domain? Please try his sauvignon blanc, or chardonnay. You will fall in love at the corner banquette and keep asking for more, with a bit of jazzy music keeping your dreams and your date happy and happier. Go!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Francois L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex,England
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Quirky, dark but worth it”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

No reservations here which meant at 6.30pm on a Saturday night when it opened, we had a chance of a table. Some regular customers were waiting for the doors to open so we picked their brains and decided to give it a go.
The place is in virtual darkness as the windows are curtained, why? The candles add atmosphere I suppose. Good fish, cheery helpful waitresses & an excellent guitarist made the evening. The tables are few and closely packed. Frank, the owner, is not to everybody's taste but we found him fine. Would certainly recommend coming here.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah_e_wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Really really good”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

From owner Frank's gracious and generous hospitality to the perfectly perfect servers (one of whom I found out later was Frank's daughter) this was an all-around wonderful dining experience. It was expensive but worth every penny.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank finneywatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Biere also viewed

Greenport, North Fork
Greenport, North Fork
 
Greenport, North Fork
 
Greenport, North Fork
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing