We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - relaxing B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stirling House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 10 Greenport B&B and Inns
New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location - relaxing B&B”
Reviewed 11 April 2011

Great rooms and location - owner is super helpful when needed and unobtrusive when not - highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billem63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
211
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Anderson, SC
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2011

We had an incredible experience staying at the Stirling House B&B. The service was superb. The room was relaxing and very comfortable. The food was scrumptious! The view of the water is spectacular. I can't wait to go back in the spring/summer to really enjoy the beautiful front porch. I would highly recommend this place to any and all to come and enjoy the wonderful experience of Stirling House.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrking63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamden, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2011

My family chose the Stirling House for our family reunion. The inn keepers were so caring and attentive to our every need. I loved the views of the water and even though it was January I was able to sit outside on the front porch for a bit because they have put up heavy plastic shields for cold/wind protection....a great idea. There was always coffee to be had and the breakfasts were delicious and plentiful. The warm cozy bathrobes were a really nice touch too. My family will consider making this an annual event and we will keep coming back to the Stirling House. I would highly recommend this place .

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abramsm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2011

A perfect little bed and breakfast. We were looking for a winter weekend getaway from this city, and this was it--perfectly. It is easy to get to, has a great location, and is run by a guy (Clay) who is everything you'd want from an owner. He is knowledgeable, thoughtful and professional--and disappears at just the right time so you can really enjoy the space as if it's your own. Ask him for restaurant and vineyard recommendations! (we liked Noah's and the Farmhouse) The breakfast is great and made with love, the sitting room is exceptionally cute, and the rooms are nice (simple, but with everything you'd need). One note, it's not actually on the water. It's across the street from a dock and the water--but it's still great. A short walk to town (which has lots of great little spots and quality food), and you can take the Jitney in an easy shot from the city. Overall, a great experience from a bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pj99995353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centereach, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2011

Greenport is a slice of yesteryear on eastern Long Island. The town is filled with antique shops, a carousel, ice skating rink in winter and lots of great water views. The Stirling house sits at the edge of Stirling Bay. The views are phenomenol and the ambience was perfect. Especially nice was the homemade breakfast of German Apple Pancakes.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seashell23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centereach, NY
1 review
Reviewed 14 December 2010

My husband and I stayed for the weekend. It was so lovely, our every wish was accommodated. Clay the owner was so helpful and informative about the area. The room was beautiful and the water view is fantastic (Shelter Island Room). The best of all breakfast- not to be missed. I would highly recommend this B$B .

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellythedoglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 13 December 2010

My wife and I made our first trip to Long Island wineries in November and stayed two nights at the Sterling House. The rooms were quite clean (coming from my wife, a clean fanatic, that's quite a compliment.) The host, Clay was helpful in steering us to several of his favorite wineries, all good recommendations, because we brought home a case of wine. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. While the weather was cool, we were able to sit on the front porch with the curtains lowered and enjoy breakfast with a water view, which was nice because the location was a factor in our decision to stay there. In cold weather, you would have to eat in their breakfast room. We wish the inn had evening meals available because we enjoyed Clay's cooking, but that doesn't seem to be available at the area inns, unlike some inns where we have stayed in Vermont. Still, we had good meals by making the short walk into downtown Greenport. We will be going back!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moodysmood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenport
0.4 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
2.2 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#2 of 7 in Greenport
509 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
0.5 mi away
Fordham House
Fordham House
#1 of 10 in Greenport
191 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbor Knoll
Harbor Knoll
#6 of 10 in Greenport
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stirling House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stirling House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Stirling House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 104 Bay Ave, Greenport, NY 11944-1404
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Greenport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Greenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stirling House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront luxury in Greenport Village. Thank you to our guests! June, 2015 - Tripadvisor inducted The Stirling House into its Hall of Fame for receiving the Award of Excellence for the fifth year in a row. Featured on NBC's The Today Show, The Stirling House Bed & Breakfast is the top rated waterfront inn of Long Island. Quality abounds and the guests come first at The Stirling House, Long Island Wine Country's gem. Award winning breakfasts, gorgeous views of Greenport Harbor and Shelter. Boutique hotel, with expert concierge service. Vine Time, the total wine experience is both hosted by The Stirling House. Licensed by NYS Liquor Authority, The Stirling House is the North Fork's ONLY fully wine licensed B&B. 06/2011 Vine University - The All inclusive wine making class and getaway has started and has been met with very favorable reviews from their "freshman class". Stirling House provides their guests with complimentary area beach passes, as well as towels and chairs on demand. Wi-fi, i-Pod docking stations, ensuite pruvate bathrooms, flatscreen TV/DVD players, fireplaces, and so much more. You will never want to leave the porch! Better Homes and Gardens, Wine Enthusiast, Frommers, NY Daily News, WPIX TV, Edible Magazines, and Coastal Living rate The Stirling House B&B as their first choice. Shouldn't you? Celebrities come here to feel normal, and normal people are treated like celebrities. Coming Fall 2015 Guided Bike Tours of the North Fork Coming Winter 2015 Clay's Baking Lab 101 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stirling House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stirling House b&b
Stirling House Hotel Greenport
Stirling House Bed And Breakfast Greenport, NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing