We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stirling House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 10 Greenport B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 April 2012

This is the perfect place to stay after a tour of the wineries. It is only a few minutes off the Northfork wine trail. It is located in a great town and is in walking distance to many restaurants. Overall, everything was great! We were greated by "Clay" the Innkeeper, who has a great personality. He gave us a great overview of what to do in the area. Breakfast was delicious as well. I highly recommend this place!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Shelter Island Room" and has a nice view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noelle5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2011

We just returned from 2 nights here and couldn't have been happier with our stay! Clay is a welcoming host and FANTASTIC cook!! We had gorgeous weather and waking up to a scrumptious breakfast, served outdoors with a water view is PERFECT. We stayed in the French Suite on the first floor, it was nicely decorated and everything was clean and fresh. Bathroom was roomy and it had a jacuzzi tub. Funny, the entire time we were staying here we only saw Clay and the other couples in the house in the morning during breakfast. Any other time we were "home" it was like we had the house to ourselves, privacy was never an issue. If you needed Clay, there are ways to reach him but we were not tripping over him by any means. The house has a very welcoming atmosphere and is super charming. We had pumpkin bread, banana bread and peanut butter cookies for afternoon snack all were sooo good. The snack area stocked with teas, water and soda came in very handy at night after a day of wine tasting.

Besides the location, great host, food and view, a few little things that make a big difference stand out...we loved having a TV. There was lots of information about the area inside the room and brochures at the entrance of the house. Our room had it's own thermostat, very big deal to me because I'm not crazy about sleeping with lots of heat and was glad we were able to control that. Towels smelled so fresh, and the bed linens were so silky soft. Breakfasts were not only delicious - homemade croissants?? really?? YES!! and the time taken with the presentation of each dish really made it feel like a special breakfast - love that! My birthday was on check in day and Clay greeted me with Happy Birthday candies, very nice! We used the coupon from Trip Advisor and got a free bottle of wine. The is located on a cul de sac so it is very quiet. We slept with the window open and the peacefulness outside along with the bay breeze were just what I needed and I look so forward to returning!

Room Tip: The French Suite doesn't have a full water view but definitely enough to satisfy during the smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank trizi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at Stirling House for two nights in mid-September, 2011. We absolutely LOVED it. Clay is a wonderful host - he's energetic, has a great sense of humor, and always has tips / advice. The breakfast is AMAZING and since this B&B is on a street that ends by the bay there is hardly any noise or traffic at all (just the crickets!), making it a great place to catch up on rest and relaxation. And since it's within a few blocks of the shops and restaurants in Greenport there's no need to drive or fight traffic.

We highly recommend the Stirling House... we're already looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ca-lammity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

This is our second stay at the beautiful Stirling House B & B. We had a wonderful relaxing time. Clay makes you feel like you've come home. We spent one night just visiting with him over a bottle of wine, and you feel like you've known him forever. The rooms are beautiful, spotless and comfortable. I have not had such a peaceful sleep in a long time. The breakfasts are unbelievable and the porch offers a wonderful water view. I could have sat there all day on the rocking chair or hammock. We could not wait to come back from our day out to see what wonderful afternoon snack was awaiting us. Clay out did himself every day. We will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dee32060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Clay is a terrific host...funny, charming, and full of great advice. It's so nice to talk with a guesthouse owner who isn't pushing restaurants & venues that they get kick backs from. Clay genuinely believes in the places he recommends and gives honest advice. Of course, the Stirling House is a great place to stay right in the middle of Greenport. They are the only north fork B&B allowed to serve wine which is a great feature. We go back every year for a romantic long w/e, and will continue to do so as long as Clay is there! Oh, and his breakfasts are legendary!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cnd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Only three rooms in this B&B so it is low key and relaxing. Very comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast and treats in the afternoon. Coffee, tea, and sodas available 24/7. Located with a great view of the water, just a few blocks to quaint downtown Greenport. Ten minutes to the Orient Point ferry. We had a great experience here.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogerft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Loved, loved, loved The Stirling House Bed and Breakfast. The setting is superb, the rooms spotless, lovely and with THE most comfortable beds. We have been to the North Fork many times, so didn't take advantage of Clay's vast knowledge of the area, but felt like we were living in a fabulous house. Seriously, ready to book another stay right now!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwbiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenport
2.2 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#1 of 7 in Greenport
661 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
1.8 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
195 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fordham House
Fordham House
#1 of 10 in Greenport
200 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbor Knoll
Harbor Knoll
#6 of 10 in Greenport
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stirling House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stirling House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 104 Bay Ave, Greenport, NY 11944-1404
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Greenport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Greenport
Price Range: £207 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stirling House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront luxury in Greenport Village. Thank you to our guests! June, 2015 - Tripadvisor inducted The Stirling House into its Hall of Fame for receiving the Award of Excellence for the fifth year in a row. Featured on NBC's The Today Show, The Stirling House Bed & Breakfast is the top rated waterfront inn of Long Island. Quality abounds and the guests come first at The Stirling House, Long Island Wine Country's gem. Award winning breakfasts, gorgeous views of Greenport Harbor and Shelter. Boutique hotel, with expert concierge service. Vine Time, the total wine experience is both hosted by The Stirling House. Licensed by NYS Liquor Authority, The Stirling House is the North Fork's ONLY fully wine licensed B&B. 06/2011 Vine University - The All inclusive wine making class and getaway has started and has been met with very favorable reviews from their "freshman class". Stirling House provides their guests with complimentary area beach passes, as well as towels and chairs on demand. Wi-fi, i-Pod docking stations, ensuite pruvate bathrooms, flatscreen TV/DVD players, fireplaces, and so much more. You will never want to leave the porch! Better Homes and Gardens, Wine Enthusiast, Frommers, NY Daily News, WPIX TV, Edible Magazines, and Coastal Living rate The Stirling House B&B as their first choice. Shouldn't you? Celebrities come here to feel normal, and normal people are treated like celebrities. Coming Fall 2015 Guided Bike Tours of the North Fork Coming Winter 2015 Clay's Baking Lab 101 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Stirling House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stirling House b&b
Stirling House Hotel Greenport
Stirling House Bed And Breakfast Greenport, NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing