We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All-around perfect.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stirling House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stirling House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 10 Greenport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“All-around perfect.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

The Stirling House deserves a 6 out of 5 on location! Breakfast is served on the porch overlooking the water, and it is a very short walk to the local shops. Service was great and food was magnificent.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tjenca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stirlinghouse, Owner at Stirling House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Hi, Thanks so much for your review. Things like this really make my day! See you again soon
Clay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
205
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We visited late September, after the crush of summer crowds had departed. The streets and the town were quiet, but most businesses still open and humming. This was fine by us.

Clay and the Stirling House were the perfect combination to assure a fun, restful North Fork experience. We were very much at home during our stay, and although the first floor French Room is comfortable and welcoming, it is very European in size. Not a problem, just an observation.

Breakfasts were exceptional and creative, hand crafted by Clay. Common areas most comfortable, easy walking distance to town and fine dining, and many vineyards only minutes away by car. Worthy of a return visit!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jfitzjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

What a wonderful place to stay while visiting the north fork of Long Island! The location was perfect; a water view from every room on this quiet street, and walking distance to the shops and restaurants of Greenport. Clay was a gracious host and an amazing chef. His breakfasts were so good that we didn't stop eating when we were full. (No need to have lunch.) Wine and homemade snacks were available every afternoon. Each room has a TV and there are many DVDs available to watch. Clay recommended restaurants for dinner, which we enjoyed.

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms. All have water views and TVs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank F G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockland County NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

What a lovely place! Beautifully decorated and graciously hosted! Great breakfast as expected - will return! It was very conveniently located while not being right in the middle of the crowded streets. Dock across the street was lovely - quick walk to the main part of town was very peaceful.

Green Features: I believe that they have special certification on their green practices
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LynnJimScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We just returned from a wonderful two night stay at stirling house b&b. as this was our first time staying at a b&b we can't compare it to others, but the bar has been set high. Breakfasts made by Clay were absolutely delicious as we're the daily desserts set out in the living room space. We stayed in the room on the first floor. It was a great size, clean, decorated with taste and also had a tv which was a nice plus. The b&b location is great. Walking distance to restaurants, park and movie theater. Overall I highly recommend this b&b. sitting on the patio and watching the water was really a relaxing experience and we hope to experience it again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eweiss2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millburn, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed at Stirling for 2 nights in the first floor room. Clay was a wonderful host and the breakfasts made us break our diets! The view from the porch was lovely and peaceful and the B&B's location was perfect for a quiet walk into town for dinner. Clay was also very helpful with where to go for wine tasting, dinner etc. Noahs and the Frisky Oyster were both wonderful, and on Shelter Island, Sunset Beach was a great spot! Loved our stay and hope to be back!

Room Tip: I would take a second floor room when we come back - needed the first floor this time for medical re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gkierkut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
272 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We spent two nights here in a very comfortable front room with views of the harbor and Shelter Island. Clay is very accommodating and serves a delicious breakfast and he did not forget our gluten free requirements. The Inn is a bit pricey but it was worth it. Go to Noah's for dinner. A 10 minute stroll and excellent food.

Room Tip: Pick the front room. The Shelter Island room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrTEastlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenport
0.4 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
2.2 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
0.5 mi away
Fordham House
Fordham House
#1 of 10 in Greenport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.4 mi away
Townsend Manor Inn
Townsend Manor Inn
#10 of 10 in Greenport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stirling House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stirling House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Stirling House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 104 Bay Ave, Greenport, NY 11944-1404
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Greenport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Greenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stirling House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront luxury in Greenport Village. Thank you to our guests! June, 2015 - Tripadvisor inducted The Stirling House into its Hall of Fame for receiving the Award of Excellence for the fifth year in a row. Featured on NBC's The Today Show, The Stirling House Bed & Breakfast is the top rated waterfront inn of Long Island. Quality abounds and the guests come first at The Stirling House, Long Island Wine Country's gem. Award winning breakfasts, gorgeous views of Greenport Harbor and Shelter. Boutique hotel, with expert concierge service. Vine Time, the total wine experience is both hosted by The Stirling House. Licensed by NYS Liquor Authority, The Stirling House is the North Fork's ONLY fully wine licensed B&B. 06/2011 Vine University - The All inclusive wine making class and getaway has started and has been met with very favorable reviews from their "freshman class". Stirling House provides their guests with complimentary area beach passes, as well as towels and chairs on demand. Wi-fi, i-Pod docking stations, ensuite pruvate bathrooms, flatscreen TV/DVD players, fireplaces, and so much more. You will never want to leave the porch! Better Homes and Gardens, Wine Enthusiast, Frommers, NY Daily News, WPIX TV, Edible Magazines, and Coastal Living rate The Stirling House B&B as their first choice. Shouldn't you? Celebrities come here to feel normal, and normal people are treated like celebrities. Coming Fall 2015 Guided Bike Tours of the North Fork Coming Winter 2015 Clay's Baking Lab 101 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Stirling House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stirling House Hotel Greenport
Stirling House b&b
Stirling House Bed And Breakfast Greenport, NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing