We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stirling House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 10 Greenport B&B and Inns
New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place”
Reviewed 10 August 2008

I can't say enough about this beautiful B&B. The moment you arrive you feel as if you are home. Each room is beautifully furnished with loving care to detail. And the breakfasts! They are a gourmet's delight. Clay is a wonderful host. I can't wait to go back again.

  • Liked — The quiet serenity
  • Disliked — Loved everything
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank marguerite14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
211
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga NY
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2008

I'm back at work now after a too short weekend at the Stirling House. I close my eyes and I'm back on the front porch of the Stirling House looking at the most beautiful shimmering water and tranquiity you can find. Tomorrow I'm going to try to click my heels together...."there's no place like the Stirling House...There's no place like the Stirling House......."

  • Liked — The bed was most comfortable
  • Disliked — In the winter or if its raining you are pretty much confined to your own room. There is a very small common area inside
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dorable1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2008

My sister and I planned a girls vacation to Long Island and started our week by staying at the Stirling House. Our host, Clay, was very hospitable along with being a great chef when it came to our breakfasts. The short walk into town was very convenient as we made several trips. It was our favorite place to stay in Long Island.

  • Liked — location to water and town
  • Disliked — no coffee pot in room
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ma95008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2008

We're just back from our first stay at the Stirling House. It was one of the most relaxing trips we've had in quite a while, and our first visit to the North Fork. Between the vineyards, the great restaurants, the local shops, the waterfront activities, and perhaps most importantly, the creature comforts at the Stirling House, we couldn't have asked for a better mid week get-away. Also, hats off to Chef Clay ! Our breakfasts were delicious, (served on the front porch) and enhanced by the magnificent water views. The Stirling House offers all the amenites you look for in a top notch B&B: a beautiful location, great accommodations, and personalized service providing straightforward, accurate and insightful information on all the local attractions......overall, two thumbs up for a job well done.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kath423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, CT
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2008

Great place, great vibe, excellent breakfast on porch overlooking harbor. Few blocks from downtown so location is also great. Couldn't have been better.-Marc

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYS
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2008

We arrived in the evening and were greeted by a friendly face in the person of Clay, the owner. He was very helpful and showed us our room which was large and quite lovely. We immediately mellowed from our trip out to Greenport. Breakfast was delicious and there was an afternoon snack as well. The views of the water are healing, really. The porch is large and comfortable and the water view sublime. It's also a short walk into town to the boutique shops and harbor. All in all I couldn't have asked for a better weekend. Thanks Clay!

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank palmtree527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucuman, Argentina
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2008

The Stirling House at Greenport, Long Island, was the most wonderful place. It totally fulfilled our expectations. Clay, the inkeeper, was very kind and gave us great recommendations as to where to go and what to see. His breakfasts were really outstanding, The room was delightful. We had a great view even from the bathroom. So we can absolutely recommend it.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie&Alejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenport
0.4 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
2.2 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#2 of 7 in Greenport
511 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
0.5 mi away
Fordham House
Fordham House
#1 of 10 in Greenport
192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbor Knoll
Harbor Knoll
#6 of 10 in Greenport
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stirling House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stirling House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Stirling House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 104 Bay Ave, Greenport, NY 11944-1404
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Greenport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Greenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stirling House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront luxury in Greenport Village. Thank you to our guests! June, 2015 - Tripadvisor inducted The Stirling House into its Hall of Fame for receiving the Award of Excellence for the fifth year in a row. Featured on NBC's The Today Show, The Stirling House Bed & Breakfast is the top rated waterfront inn of Long Island. Quality abounds and the guests come first at The Stirling House, Long Island Wine Country's gem. Award winning breakfasts, gorgeous views of Greenport Harbor and Shelter. Boutique hotel, with expert concierge service. Vine Time, the total wine experience is both hosted by The Stirling House. Licensed by NYS Liquor Authority, The Stirling House is the North Fork's ONLY fully wine licensed B&B. 06/2011 Vine University - The All inclusive wine making class and getaway has started and has been met with very favorable reviews from their "freshman class". Stirling House provides their guests with complimentary area beach passes, as well as towels and chairs on demand. Wi-fi, i-Pod docking stations, ensuite pruvate bathrooms, flatscreen TV/DVD players, fireplaces, and so much more. You will never want to leave the porch! Better Homes and Gardens, Wine Enthusiast, Frommers, NY Daily News, WPIX TV, Edible Magazines, and Coastal Living rate The Stirling House B&B as their first choice. Shouldn't you? Celebrities come here to feel normal, and normal people are treated like celebrities. Coming Fall 2015 Guided Bike Tours of the North Fork Coming Winter 2015 Clay's Baking Lab 101 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Stirling House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stirling House b&b
Stirling House Hotel Greenport
Stirling House Bed And Breakfast Greenport, NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing