We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stirling House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 10 Greenport B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 August 2009

We just returned from our second stay at the Stirling House. We look forward to our third stay. Clay was very accomodating, never overbearing. The breakfasts were very special and the rooms very very clean and tasteful. We loved Long Island wine country as well. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbguygal22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2009

We had a wonderful stay at Sterling House. The entire place was very clean and updated. Clay made the most delicious breakfasts, the views are wonderful. Clay also provided great insight as to the local things to do and places to eat. the fresh cookies and tarts placed out for us at night were a great touch!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NyTravelingchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

My husband and I have been going to Greenport for getaway weekends the past four years. This year, my husband read the fabulous reviews for The Stirling House and we were lucky to be able to book the Shelter Island room. The Inn lived up to its fabulous reviews. The Inn was quaint, well decorated and immaculately kept. The Inn has a lovely porch with tables, chairs and a hammock. Our room was beautiful, with a view of the water and Shelter Island, and larger than it appears in the website photos. The Inn is very well located. It is at the end of a quiet block but only a short stroll to the shops and restaurants in town. Clay, the Inkeeper, could not have been nicer or more helpful. He also serves a scrumptious breakfast every morning on the porch. We would highly recommend the Inn to others and would gladly return next year.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LongIslandDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

We needed some real rest and relaxation and couldn't have picked a better place.
The owners made it clear that their main concern was our happiness. I only had one pair of shorts, which I managed to get dirty. They were washed an dried in no time. There was a beautiful view of the water from the front porch with lots of and peace and quiet.. We stayed in the French room on the ground floor. Beautifully decorated, with a little sitting room that is separate from the bedroom with a sliding door between them (Great if one of you stays up late and the other doesn't) . Also, the fridge and coffee were right outside our door. The gourmet breakfasts were beautifully presented and delicious. They make the same thing for everybody, so tell them if there is something you don't like to eat. To their credit, they do ask if you have any food allergies.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RKB55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

What a great B & B. The owner Clay is so accomodating and funny. And what a cook! His breakfasts are not to be missed, multiple courses! The Stirling House is very charming with a great water view. The place is immaculate too. My partner and I had a very romantic stay at the Stirling House. Its also one of the best located B & Bs in Greenport because it's such a short walk to downtown action. Highly Recommended!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cnd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2009

We stayed one night in the Stirling House and one night at the Bartlett House because neither place had both nights available. We thought it would be interesting to compare both places anyway since they both sounded very promising.

I would be happy to stay at either place again, they are both lovely. If I absolutely had to make a choice I would give the edge to the Stirling House.

Bartlett House wins on their interiors. It is a beautiful, elegant house with many interesting furnishings and collectibles. The innkeepers could not be nicer. There's a very large porch but it's right off the main road so it can not be as restful as you would want which brings us to why Stirling House gets the edge.

The Stirling House is on a quiet cul-de-sac and overlooks the water. It is wonderfully restful. We hung out on the porch, read, ate, chatted up a lovely couple staying there. It was peaceful. Plus Frank who was filling in for Clay gave us a tasting of a Castello de Borghese Riesling that we all loved. We went to that vineyard the next day because of that tasting. We stayed in the Shelter Island Room on the 2nd floor that has a view of the water and we would stay there again.

My only two quibbles with the Stirling House, and they're very slight, is to please put out a cup for brushing your teeth (my husband had to put his pants back on and go downstairs to the public coffee area to grab a plastic cup) and that for $300 a night please throw in some hair conditioner. This was the only time I didn't bring along because almost every place provides it and this time it wasn't there. These are very, very small complaints and the rest of the experience was completely fine.

I also want to say that even though I'm from Brooklyn we have never really been out to the North Folk of Long Island and it's great! It's Cape Cody enough for me without the 6 hour drive. There's the water, the vineyards, farm stands, garden centers galore and great restaurants. The Frisky Oyster was as good as everyone said and there's plenty of great local places to grab a beer and hit the raw bar.

We definitely plan on more little getaways to the North Folk and either one of these B&Bs are great to stay at.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vicchickBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

I've just returned from a quick overnight break at the Stirling HOuse, which I strongly recommend to anyone heading to Greenport. The Inn is brilliantly located at the end of a quiet street, at the water's edge. (I could see the water from the window of my room).. I had arrived by train, and the Inn was an easy 10 minute walk from the train station, and an easy walk to all the village has to offer. The other guests with whom I chatted at breakfast were every bit as charmed and enthusiastic as I was with the Innkeeper's hospitality (always friendly and available but not intrusive), the physical layout if the Inn, and the spectacular gourmet breakfast. I couldn't have been more pleased, and am already looking forward to a return visit.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
Thank villagepam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenport
2.2 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#1 of 7 in Greenport
685 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
1.8 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fordham House
Fordham House
#1 of 10 in Greenport
201 reviews
0.2 mi away
American Beech
American Beech
#9 of 10 in Greenport
18 reviews
1.7 mi away
Arbor View House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stirling House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stirling House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 104 Bay Ave, Greenport, NY 11944-1404
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Greenport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Greenport
Price Range: £181 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stirling House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront luxury in Greenport Village. Thank you to our guests! June, 2015 - Tripadvisor inducted The Stirling House into its Hall of Fame for receiving the Award of Excellence for the fifth year in a row. Featured on NBC's The Today Show, The Stirling House Bed & Breakfast is the top rated waterfront inn of Long Island. Quality abounds and the guests come first at The Stirling House, Long Island Wine Country's gem. Award winning breakfasts, gorgeous views of Greenport Harbor and Shelter. Boutique hotel, with expert concierge service. Vine Time, the total wine experience is both hosted by The Stirling House. Licensed by NYS Liquor Authority, The Stirling House is the North Fork's ONLY fully wine licensed B&B. 06/2011 Vine University - The All inclusive wine making class and getaway has started and has been met with very favorable reviews from their "freshman class". Stirling House provides their guests with complimentary area beach passes, as well as towels and chairs on demand. Wi-fi, i-Pod docking stations, ensuite pruvate bathrooms, flatscreen TV/DVD players, fireplaces, and so much more. You will never want to leave the porch! Better Homes and Gardens, Wine Enthusiast, Frommers, NY Daily News, WPIX TV, Edible Magazines, and Coastal Living rate The Stirling House B&B as their first choice. Shouldn't you? Celebrities come here to feel normal, and normal people are treated like celebrities. Coming Fall 2015 Guided Bike Tours of the North Fork Coming Winter 2015 Clay's Baking Lab 101 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stirling House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stirling House b&b
Stirling House Hotel Greenport
Stirling House Bed And Breakfast Greenport, NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing