We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Should be called platinum house!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stirling House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stirling House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 10 Greenport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Should be called platinum house!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2010

Had a lovely 3 night stay with my boyfriend. Clay (the owner) is so warm and funny and really tries to please his guests. You can tell he puts his heart and soul into the Stirling House. Breakfast was superb, and eliminates any need for lunch! If you are lucky you will be there when he makes his orange pecan french toast, simply amazing, but then again so are all the breakfasts. We stayed in the Shelter Island room which is bright and airy with a great view of the water. The house is very eclectic and tastefully decorated. But our favorite thing was just having a glass of wine on the lovely front porch. It also has a great view of the water. The place is a five minute walk to downtown Greenport and a short dive to many wineries, so it really couldn't have a better location. The street is quiet and place has such a relaxing vibe. A wonderful break from everyday stresses. If you can make it to Long Island wine country, STAY AT STIRLING HOUSE!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cnd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
205
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

A wonderful location with great accommodations and a knowledgable gracious host. The gourmet breakfasts were a wonderful way to start the day!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tinaalbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

The staff was very attentive, but not burdensome. The breakfast was to die for. Welcomed with home backed cookies and wine from the local vineyards. And the room was clean and cozy. Mattress a little firm for taste.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eway495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islip, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

As a habitual labor day new england vacationer but with a new baby, i couldn't commit to the journey across the sound...enter stirling house. With an awesome water view in the shelter island room, friendly efficient service by Clay and that yummy breakfast on the pretty porch, i may never take the ferry again! Very intimate house with 3 nice spacious guest rooms, super clean and homey feel. We only were there for one night (last minute plans and can only stay one night away with the baby) but will definietly return to stirling house again!!! The location was also perfect for exploring greenport. Two short blocks from the main hub of town, so you can walk to restaurants and icecream and all that stuff, but far enough to not have swarming cars or too much hustle an bustle. Short drive to the wineries or Orient Point Beach/state park....That and the fact that right at the end of the block is a beautiful and private waterview area dock. You can just sit out there on the bench or dock, or still have an excellent view on the porch and be protected from sun or rain...just fabulous~~

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephVan935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2010

I echo the positive comments of reviewers that this B&B is exceptional because it has so much going for it. In real estate, they say there are 3 things that are important to consider when you buy a home: location, location, and of course location. Stirling House has this one well-covered as you are situated at the end of a quiet cul-de-sac right on the water. Seagulls punctuate the sounds of the sea as you gaze across Shelter Island Sound towards Dering Harbor. And a short walk up the street and you are right in the middle of a great waterfront town.

The French Room Suite was wonderfully whimsical and had a small adjoining room with a sofa and TV with views of the water. A whirlpool tub, terry robes and a comfortable bed made this a delight to return to after a day exploring and wine tasting:)

Our host Clay was affable, warm and very knowledgeable about the area. His gastronomic breakfast creations are nothing short of a Gourmet Magazine cover and the imported French, endless coffee on the spacious front porch made us feel pampered to say the least.

Are we headed back?
Already booked it!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuerreBrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harbeson, Delaware
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

After reading all the outstanding reviews of The Stirling B & B I decided to surprise my husband with a stay there for his birthday. The price seemed high, at $300/nt for Mon & Tue stay, but I figured there was great value according to all the reviews so I was happy to pay it.

We stayed in the Shelter Island room; simple room with minimal amenities and needs met. For the price, and to be deserving of such high praise, I would have expected higher quality of amenities. The room a/c barely kept the room at 74-75 degrees, the bathroom was always warmer since it had no a/c. The shower was small, had one of those rain shower heads that really doesn't provide much pressure, personally I'd prefer a handheld shower head in such tight quarters.

The only other interior room that we were allowed access was a small dining/living room. It contained a round table that seats four, and a wicker loveseat. Not much room to relax, especially if all three rooms are occupied. I wonder what you'd do in colder months when you wouldn't be sitting on the front porch. The picture of the room with the piano in it was not accessible to guests, so I don't know why this picture is shown.

The breakfast was the only thing I'd agree deserves the high praise received by The Stirling House, they were very delicious! The only owner we met, Clay, was very pleasant, very helpful, and very knowledgeable about so many things.

In the end, it was okay, we won't be going back, just not what we expected from all the hype.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Enjoylife927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staten island
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

The host was very accomidating his breakfasts were excellent. The bed and breakfast living and sleeping areas are very clean and nicely decorated.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank restypag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenport
0.4 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
2.2 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sound View Inn
Sound View Inn
#2 of 7 in Greenport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
1.5 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fordham House
Fordham House
#1 of 10 in Greenport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stirling House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stirling House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Stirling House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 104 Bay Ave, Greenport, NY 11944-1404
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Greenport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Greenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stirling House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront luxury in Greenport Village. Thank you to our guests! June, 2015 - Tripadvisor inducted The Stirling House into its Hall of Fame for receiving the Award of Excellence for the fifth year in a row. Featured on NBC's The Today Show, The Stirling House Bed & Breakfast is the top rated waterfront inn of Long Island. Quality abounds and the guests come first at The Stirling House, Long Island Wine Country's gem. Award winning breakfasts, gorgeous views of Greenport Harbor and Shelter. Boutique hotel, with expert concierge service. Vine Time, the total wine experience is both hosted by The Stirling House. Licensed by NYS Liquor Authority, The Stirling House is the North Fork's ONLY fully wine licensed B&B. 06/2011 Vine University - The All inclusive wine making class and getaway has started and has been met with very favorable reviews from their "freshman class". Stirling House provides their guests with complimentary area beach passes, as well as towels and chairs on demand. Wi-fi, i-Pod docking stations, ensuite pruvate bathrooms, flatscreen TV/DVD players, fireplaces, and so much more. You will never want to leave the porch! Better Homes and Gardens, Wine Enthusiast, Frommers, NY Daily News, WPIX TV, Edible Magazines, and Coastal Living rate The Stirling House B&B as their first choice. Shouldn't you? Celebrities come here to feel normal, and normal people are treated like celebrities. Coming Fall 2015 Guided Bike Tours of the North Fork Coming Winter 2015 Clay's Baking Lab 101 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Stirling House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stirling House Hotel Greenport
Stirling House b&b
Stirling House Bed And Breakfast Greenport, NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing