We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stirling House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 10 Greenport B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 December 2010

My husband and I stayed for the weekend. It was so lovely, our every wish was accommodated. Clay the owner was so helpful and informative about the area. The room was beautiful and the water view is fantastic (Shelter Island Room). The best of all breakfast- not to be missed. I would highly recommend this B$B .

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellythedoglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2010

My wife and I made our first trip to Long Island wineries in November and stayed two nights at the Sterling House. The rooms were quite clean (coming from my wife, a clean fanatic, that's quite a compliment.) The host, Clay was helpful in steering us to several of his favorite wineries, all good recommendations, because we brought home a case of wine. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. While the weather was cool, we were able to sit on the front porch with the curtains lowered and enjoy breakfast with a water view, which was nice because the location was a factor in our decision to stay there. In cold weather, you would have to eat in their breakfast room. We wish the inn had evening meals available because we enjoyed Clay's cooking, but that doesn't seem to be available at the area inns, unlike some inns where we have stayed in Vermont. Still, we had good meals by making the short walk into downtown Greenport. We will be going back!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moodysmood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2010

I liked the place. It was very quiet. Our room was a little dark because the house next door is fairly close and bars any view from the ground floor. The owner was kind enough to send quickly back to me a pillow which I had left behind.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ibelle48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

The service was very welcoming and friendly. The room was cozy. The location of the house had a great view of the bay. You can just walk out the door and be standing on the dock in 30 seconds. The breakfast was delicious. Every room was clean & neat. The decor was beautiful.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mcs1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Stirling House this October for a long weekend. It was a great experience - the room was clean and adorable, with plenty of space. We stayed in the French room. Clay, the proprietor, was friendly and great with suggestions on things to do, places to go in Greenport. Clay also made the most amazing breakfasts, one day pancakes, the next day waffles... it was like dining at a gourmet restaurant for breakfast. There's really nothing I can say to do it justice in a review. When you come back from a day of roaming around, Clay would put out freshly baked goodies, including the best chocolate covered caramels I've ever had (that he made!).
But enough about the food - the B&B is great, it has everything you need, and is located on a great spot in Greenport with a view of the water. I really enjoyed sitting in a rocking chair on the front porch with a good cup of coffee taking in the view....

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling-Troop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

We had a fantastic time at the Stirling House - Clay was extremely nice and welcoming, and gave us a great restaurant recommendation (The Farm House). And what a fantastic breakfast! The location of the B&B is outstanding - right on the water - it's an amazing view. It's also walking distance to the town of Greenport, and an easy drive to the local wineries. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrooklynB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful weekend at Stirling House B & B.
We could not have asked for more. We were celebrating our anniversary and Clay greeted us with a fabulous bottle of local Reisling. We immediately started to relax.
The house and our room- The Greenport Room -were beautifully decorated, warm and comfortable. Situated at the end of a small tree lined street, directly across from the Sound, we thoroughly enjoyed the water views from our room, the porch and. the comfy rocking chairs on the lawn. A walk into town took only a few minutes. Clay's breakfasts were amazing and he was eager to share all his knowlege of the North Fork- wineries, restaurants, scenic drives, and history. We would definitely love to come back and stay at Stirling again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winelover0913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenport
0.4 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
2.2 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#1 of 7 in Greenport
632 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
193 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fordham House
Fordham House
#1 of 10 in Greenport
198 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbor Knoll
Harbor Knoll
#6 of 10 in Greenport
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stirling House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stirling House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 104 Bay Ave, Greenport, NY 11944-1404
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Greenport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Greenport
Price Range: £212 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stirling House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront luxury in Greenport Village. Thank you to our guests! June, 2015 - Tripadvisor inducted The Stirling House into its Hall of Fame for receiving the Award of Excellence for the fifth year in a row. Featured on NBC's The Today Show, The Stirling House Bed & Breakfast is the top rated waterfront inn of Long Island. Quality abounds and the guests come first at The Stirling House, Long Island Wine Country's gem. Award winning breakfasts, gorgeous views of Greenport Harbor and Shelter. Boutique hotel, with expert concierge service. Vine Time, the total wine experience is both hosted by The Stirling House. Licensed by NYS Liquor Authority, The Stirling House is the North Fork's ONLY fully wine licensed B&B. 06/2011 Vine University - The All inclusive wine making class and getaway has started and has been met with very favorable reviews from their "freshman class". Stirling House provides their guests with complimentary area beach passes, as well as towels and chairs on demand. Wi-fi, i-Pod docking stations, ensuite pruvate bathrooms, flatscreen TV/DVD players, fireplaces, and so much more. You will never want to leave the porch! Better Homes and Gardens, Wine Enthusiast, Frommers, NY Daily News, WPIX TV, Edible Magazines, and Coastal Living rate The Stirling House B&B as their first choice. Shouldn't you? Celebrities come here to feel normal, and normal people are treated like celebrities. Coming Fall 2015 Guided Bike Tours of the North Fork Coming Winter 2015 Clay's Baking Lab 101 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Hotels.com so you can book your Stirling House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stirling House Hotel Greenport
Stirling House b&b
Stirling House Bed And Breakfast Greenport, NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing