We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Silver Sands Motel & Beach Cottages
Nearby Hotels
Cliffside Resort Condominiums(Greenport)(Great Value!)
US$243
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sound View Greenport(Greenport)(Great Value!)
US$311
US$296
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harborfront Inn at Greenport(Greenport)(Great Value!)
US$334
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Blue Inn At North Fork(East Marion)(Great Value!)
US$200
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shelter Island House(Shelter Island)(Great Value!)
US$195
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pridwin Hotel(Shelter Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heron Suites(Southold)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
91
40
6
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
91
40
6
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagespeconic bayprivate beachshelter islandnorth forkretro feeltwenty yearsblast from the pastgreenport villagetime warpslice of heavenstepping back in timeget awaymy husband and ii can't say enough about howwe loved our staylong island
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I just came back from a week at Silver Sands Motel and beach cottages. We had the large cottage for a family of four. It's got everything you need including AC. I think the hardest part of my day was choosing whether to walk 30 seconds to the beach or 20 seconds to the pool.
The pool is great with lots of chairs and sunbeds to hang around it. It's shared with the cottage and motel guests, but rarely is it that busy.
The beach is private and ends with a nature conservation area where there are ospreys nesting. Its on the Peconic Bay so calm and there are rocks for the children to hunt for fish and crabs. Also a beachy area with chairs and sunbeds and a swimming area.
As you drive into the area there are often deer blocking your path as well as the train tracks so the kids love the run up to watch the trains go by, about four times a day and watch the deer.
It's a haven from the city and the Hamptons. The family that own it are superb. You can't go wrong.

Room Tip: I've not stayed in the motel rooms but the cottages have everything you need including a bbq outside each one and picnic benches. There is plenty of garden around all the cottages so you have your own space. Some face onto the bay so you are seconds from the beach some are further back, better for families with smaller children. In Greenport is a carousel, some restaurants (not very good thats why we grilled every evening) and a lovely toy shop.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jolambchop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Hey! We just got back from a week in New York, and finally returned to the Silver Sands for a weekend away. Just the two of us. It was better than we even remembered. Such a happy place, and we actually got a chance to unwind, take some romantic walks, enjoy the cute beach! Close enough to town to be very convenient, but not too close. And romantic? You bet. We won't wait as long for our next trip.

Room Tip: Get a cabin. It'll let you have a sweet night together.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DocuDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Our first time there - only stayed 1 night (but will definitely return before the summer is over!!!). A lovely place - yes, the furniture is outdated but in my opinion it only adds to the charm. The motel's room had all the necessities (microwave, tv, coffee maker, small fridge) and the gift bag with chips upon registration was a nice added touch! The beds were comfy and soft
The beach is marvelous and the grounds are spacious and lovely! Greenport is only 1 mile away, so all the restaurants, etc are within easy reach as is everything else North Fork has to offer)
Hope the owners don't change a thing about the place!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElenaF963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012 via mobile

This place is a classic. The owners are awesome and willing to do anything within their power to make your stay pleasant. The water and the beach although only a quarter of a mile wide were great, along with the spectacular view. They even upgraded us without a request , to two rooms ( my husband, myself and our adult daughter ) which was really really appreciated!!
Now for the not-so great part. This place has not been upgraded nor modernized for at least 40 or more years (1970's I'm guessing) ! I know the decor could be considered "kitschy " kinda like a retro look, but it just looks shabby and old. The linoleum in our room had a vague "astro" look that I distinctly remember from the 60's or even earlier-like when Eisenhower was president!! The outside door to our motel room was terribly deteriorated and acutely in need of replacement. The inside though very clean still had a faintly musty odor. All in all IF u want luxurious surroundings-THIS PLACE AIN'T IT!! It only cost $300 for two nights for two rooms so at least their charges are in line with their accommodations. However, I for one would have liked and would have been willing to pay for a little more modern environment-like at least the 80's!! Watch out ,isn't that Tony Manero from Saturday Night Fever Boogying down by the SS?

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Floodmargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Our visit unfortunately was very short, just two nights this past week.
Our last visit was nearly a year ago and so we were looking forward to returning.
Again, a pleasant stay. The staff could not be more friendly and accomodating.
It's great location and welcoming atmosphere will not disappoint you.
We can't wait to return again, hopefully very soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Volvogirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews