We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Summer Relaxing Spot”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Greenport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Silver Sands Motel & Beach Cottages
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Greenport
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Summer Relaxing Spot”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We've been coming to this spot for many years and have stayed in everything from their motel rooms to the cottages to their largest house. Rustic and far from fancy, every place is comfortable and relaxed for young families, couples, seniors and everything in between. A huge waterfront location that looks more like a mountain lake than a salt water bay, it's perfect for swimming, kayaking, water skiing and more. The sandy beach with small waves is ideal for even very young children. There's also a swimming pool. Greenport Village is a terrific vacation spot. It has the charm of a New England seaside village with a carousel smack in the middle of its quaint downtown. Plenty of dockfront areas to stroll right by the old-fashioned fishing boats, ferries and multi-million-dollar yachts. There's lots of food choices -- breakfast spots, pizzerias, family restaurants and even a few 5-star Manhattan eateries. Wineries are all over the place. Family run for decades, the Silver Sands owners are sweet people who go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one. Returning guests always talk amongst ourselves how hard-working and special the owners are, making you feel like you're at your own home.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    40
    6
    6
    3
See reviews for
38
59
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We only had three nights to get away and there was never a thought to go elsewhere than Silver Sands . We absolutely love it . The Staff could not be more friendly or accomodating. We had a motel room, very close to the private beach. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. Continental breakfasts are also included. We never tire of returning here. The location is perfect, literally a mile into town to browse the many shops and dine at one of the many restaurants. It's peaceful and relaxing. A great place for couples or families. We also always make a stop to the local farmers market on our last day . You can't beat the local veggies! Please check out Silver Sands if you are looking for a unique experience.

Room Tip: We prefer the Motel rooms which have two comfortable beds, a microwave, and small refrigerator, tabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Volvogirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

My girlfriend and I spent three nights in a beach cottage at Silver Sands, and loved it. Actually, "cottage" doesn't really describe the unit where we stayed: it had three bedrooms, a working fireplace, full kitchen, deck, huge lawn, two grills, a picnic table, three lawn recliners, and its own private stretch of beach. All for an amazingly low rate. I'm sure none of the decor has been upgraded since the cottages were acquired by the motel, and that's fine with us – it has the lived-in look of a place that's been in someone's family for years. The staff is super-helpful and friendly, and our rate included a complimentary bottle of wine plus a $50 voucher at a superb local restaurant. If you're looking for potpourri and chintz, there are plenty of B&Bs in the area to cater to you. But if you're looking for a fun, hip spot with a retro vibe, a place to stretch out and relax, Silver Sands is an amazing value. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank haveukewilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hewlett, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

The motel is located a few minutes west of the Village of Greenport on a very quiet section of the beach, facing Shelter Island. It's private and far from the main road. It's a nice location with a nice little beach. they put out chez lounges, but it wasnt beach weather.

My girlfriend and I stayed here during a cold and damp Memorial Day weekend. If anything short of a fancy five star hotel is what you need for a nice vacation, you will not like this place. It is not fancy. Rather, it's a throwback to the days when lodging like this was good enough for our parents. Our room was clean and had dark brown panelling, like my childhood bedroom, and a turquoise linoleum floor with a pattern that resembled drizzled chocolate. l'm sure it looked good in the fifties. Today, I guess we'd charitably describe it as being vintage. I could've done without the faucets wherein you had to hold the hot or cold in place to keep the water flowing.

However, the bed was very comfortable and had a cozy down comforter, which, given the raw weather, came in handy. In truth, most of our time spent in the room was spent between the sheets. So, we paid greater attention to the ceiling than to the floor or walls. And, not that it's important, but the ceiling tiles had thousands of little holes in them. Strange decor.

On the whole, we were satisfied with our room. Very good value for Greenport. We'd come back.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Crimepays2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We love Silver Sands! We've been treated so well year after year. Cabin 33 seems to be one of the largest and great for an affordable full week stay on the North Fork. We had two bedrooms, one small bathroom, a kitchen, a sitting area with a daybed that looks out to the bay, and a living room with dining area. The cabin has central air conditioning. It's been our home away from home each August.

They have games/movies available to borrow from the reception area. The cabin is located just a stone's throw away from the beach and on the other side the pool. They have activities during the week like a nature talk with animals. It's the most relaxing vacation you could have. We just swim, go to the farm stands and cook out on the grill. There are attractions within an hour's drive and small town fun things to do close by like miniature golf, a great working carousel, ice cream, tea shop, coffee places and a toy store.

Room Tip: Cabin 33 is large and right between the beach and pool. There's a good size backyard facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank savann8h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

A college friend and I have met here once a year every October for the last eleven years, and we LOVE it at Silver Sands! The two-bedroom cottage we reserve is perfect for our "girls' getaway," with a fully equipped kitchen, and a lovely beach just footsteps from our yard. On the weekend my friend goes back to the city, my upstate relatives arrive, and we have a family weekend -- sometimes with several cottages, sometimes, like this year, with five of us staying in the big cottage and having an amazing time, baking cookies, making our own dinners with local groceries, feeding the seagulls, collecting shells and acorns, and playing on the beach.

The owners are wonderful, always making sure we are comfortable and happy, but without intruding on our family time. The cottage is reminiscent in decor of our family childhood summer home nearby, is SO comfortable, and incredibly clean! The cleaning staff is friendly, always bringing us a breakfast tray of goodies and clean fluffy white towels, more than we can use!

There is so much to do nearby, between the shops and restaurants in Greenport village (1 mile away), or the vineyards and various museums, ferries, tours, and beaches. We love the fall season that begins in October, when the leaves start changing color but the air is still comfortably warm.

This is a marvelous getaway, a place to relax and lay back and enjoy the comfort of a home away from home. We will continue to come back every year, because we love it here!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BarbiJKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic Beach, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

Really nice old time charm. Like staying at someone's home. Great location. Will definitely return. Staff friendly and attentive. Best value ever! Bottle if wine, bucket of munchies upon arrival. Room has coffee maker and complimentary creal and milk as well as OJ and muffins that were replenished daily. Complimentary wi fi and office has livingroom with wide screen TV and DVD s. Fun place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patticake9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenport
1.1 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#2 of 7 in Greenport
492 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
0.8 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
183 reviews
1.7 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
68 reviews
1.9 mi away
Heron Suites
Heron Suites
#2 of 3 in Southold
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Motel & Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Motel & Beach Cottages

Property: Silver Sands Motel & Beach Cottages
Address: 1400 Silvermere Rd, PO Box 285, Greenport, NY 11944-2829
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Greenport
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Greenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"DIRTY DANCING meets THE FLAMINGO KID" - NEW YORK MAGAZINE, April 2007The Silver Sands Motel and Beach Cottages was established in 1961 on 40 unspoiled acres on Peconic Bay in Greenport, facing Shelter Island. We are a quiet getaway for beach and nature lovers, and their families, and have been for generations. Our rooms and cottages all have microwaves, mini-fridges, television, AC, and some have efficiency units as well as full kitchens. We are set off the beaten-path in Greenport, down a wooded road on the beach and are adjacent to 18 acres of pristine wetlands. Over the last half-century, we have been host to families, couples, studio film shoots, major fashion shoots, and have been featured in the NEW YORK TIMES, NEW YORK MAGAZINE, THE NEW YORKER, TIME-OUT, TRAVEL & LEISURE, and NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC TRAVEL MAGAZINE. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Motel & Beach Cottages Hotel Greenport
Silver Sands Motel And Beach Cottages
Silver Sands Hotel Beach
Silver Sands Motel & Beach Cottages Greenport, NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing