We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food and service is superb”
Review of First and South

First and South
Ranked #14 of 67 Restaurants in Greenport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$42
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Opened in 2012, First and South is a relaxed atmosphere with quality fare, drinks, craft beer & wine! A well-rounded view of what the North Fork environment has to offer.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food and service is superb”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

First and South was one of several restaurants recommended by the owner of the B&B we were staying at and without exaggeration was this one of the single best restaurant experiences ever!!

We are both living in NYC and quite spoiled when it comes to food and service and First and South could easily hold its own in the city. A small but very, very good menu. We had the Chowder Soup which was AMAZING!! The fish of the day served on kale and barely and the Bean Burger were both out of this world. And the Chocolate Pie for dessert served with salt and thyme and Strawberry is just without words - for a chocolate lover/expert one of the best desserts I've ever eaten!

The place is really nicely decorated and happened to employ a wonderful staff on May 2, the night we were there.

Highly recommended!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnaAna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    39
    17
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Terrific under the circumstances”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Came here for a surprise birthday brunch.
Hour and a half drive.
Unfortunately, when it came to order we were informed that they could not serve meals from the menu because the propane they cook with had run out.
The manager and hostess could not have been more accommodating., knowing we had come so far for a birthday surprise party.
The cook, I guess, tried so hard to whip up something for all of us.
What he did prepare was very good.
I would definitely return to see this restaurant under normal conditions.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelerLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cozy and Delicious”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Stumbled into this cozy and delicious restaurant on a very chilly Good Friday after discovering the restaurant "Frisky Oyster" only had one fish dish on the menu (go figure?)
We LOVED this place, it has amazing service (go DAN), food, ambiance, and charm. The Caesar salad was one of the best we have ever had. Will be back as often as possible.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank metro35inc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cute atmosphere--with little attention to detail in food/service it could be great”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Want to like this place--cute atmosphere, good bar. Been three times now, But the service and the food need a little something. Servers seem like they need a little more training--drinks came after the food came out, nobody checked to see if how our meal was, etc. And the food--the soup was the best I have had in a long time. But the bean burger and chicken sandwich--not great. And the handcut fries were great the first time but burned last time. Bread makes the dish--these sandwich rolls appear to be from a package, mushy. Better bread and the dish would be so much better.
Wish they would pick up the Thursday night open mic night that was so popular at the now closed MAIN restaurant. Would be the perfect location for it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank dmgtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Rockaway, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“cozy place”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

very friendly staff and ownership... good food and nice cozy atmosphere spent new years eve there and it was a very nice time with excellent entertainment

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank kim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed First and South also viewed

Greenport, North Fork
Greenport, North Fork
 
Greenport, North Fork
 

Been to First and South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing