We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A new favorite”
Review of First and South

First and South
Ranked #12 of 61 Restaurants in Greenport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$42
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Opened in 2012, First and South is a relaxed atmosphere with quality fare, drinks, craft beer & wine! A well-rounded view of what the North Fork environment has to offer.
Amityville, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A new favorite”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The food was interesting and delicious. Enjoyed a table outside on a beautiful night. Great service too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    37
    14
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Very happy we chose First and South for our only night in town. Wait staff couldn't have been friendlier. Bartender didn't skimp on the alcohol. Buttermilk chicken was fantastic.

Helpful?
Thank northhowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic City
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome food off the beaten path”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for something off the main drag, or you just want the best black bean burger and fries you ever ate, go to First and South.
We ate at the bar and the bartender was friendly and knowledgable, and made us a delicious watermelon mojito. A nearby patron recommended the black bean burger so we gave it a try.
This place takes its french fries very seriously, but the burger was equally special. There were a variety of local beers and even wine on tap and the atmosphere was friendly so we stuck around.

Helpful?
Thank shouse57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhode island
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Nice looking place,we stopped for dinner on a wine tasting trip to Long Island.Menu looked
interesting appetizer was ok if a little small.We all ordered some sort of burger and a side of veggies.The burgers took forever to come out and were served on paper plates!!! We were
embarrassed as we had brought friends from Switzerland to dine with us .The veggies came out after we were finished so we sent them back!You would expect paper plates for a burger on the ferry but not a $20 burger in a nice restaurant.Also the server put them down without checking who ordered rare etc.I haven't felt this ripped off in quite a while.A $175 dinner on paper plates!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mfaggella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverhead, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Neat bar, friendly staff”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Grabbed a drink here with my husband while waiting for friends. The bartender was very friendly and knowledgeable. We each started with a beer she suggested. Ended up getting fries to snack on, yummy! I wasn't crazy about their homemade ketchup, it tasted more like marinara sauce to me. Then we each had a cocktail made by the manager (I think). They were both interesting and delicious.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KaBu23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed First and South also viewed

Greenport, North Fork
Greenport, North Fork
 
Greenport, North Fork
 

Been to First and South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing