We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Square - CLOSED

The Square
Price range: US$12 - US$31
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: THE SQUARE IS A UNIQUE CULINARY EXPERIENCE BROUGHT TO YOU BY AWARD-WINNING CHEF KEITH LUCE. WHETHER YOU'RE STOPPING IN FOR A CAFFEINATED PICK-ME-UP, A QUICK BITE, A SWEET TREAT, A DRINK WITH FRIENDS, LOOKING FOR A TRADITIONAL DINING EXPERIENCE, OR EVEN SHOPPING FOR KITCHEN AND HOME GOODS, YOU WILL FIND IT IN THE SQUARE.
Middle Island, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

We enjoyed lunch on a steamy 4th of July. Started with oysters and clams, very fresh. I had the lobster roll, and would have preferred a larger portion. My husband really loved the Thai Duck. Very interesting flavors, perfect heat. The sweet potato side was absolutely wonderful. My Cosmo was delicious, as was a Capirihna. Nice wine selection as well. All in all a nice lunch. Our server was charming and attentive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KRB1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NofoSquare, Manager at The Square, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Hi KRB1000,

I'm so glad you enjoyed your time with us on the 4th of July! We appreciate your coming out. We hope to see you again soon!

Cheers!

Raelinn Doty

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Where's the Great Chef?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Went to this restaurant fully expecting big things since they claim to have a former chef with experience at the White House and three prominent NYC restaurants. Where was he this past Saturday night? I suspect hiding in Hong Kong!!
We had the most ordinary and unexciting meal ever! Flavorless duck, plain unseasoned steak, sides that were slopped on the plates, and service that was definitely not experienced or attuned to the needs of customers. The live music from their adjoining courtyard was so loud and inappropriate that we literally had to shout to be heard and simply gave up trying to talk to each other or the staff because of the ear piercing music which should have been played "Far Far Away".
The group I was with were celebrating a birthday but alas... the wait staff and maître dame forgot and we simply left with more to forget about a disastrous evening. Don't bother, no signs of anything creative or tasty. The famous Chef (Luce???) must have loosed his mind!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank theNYSALJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NofoSquare, Manager at The Square, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Hi NYSALJ,

I apologize that you had a less than favorable experience with us when you were here in June. Your feedback is very important to us and we are definitely listening and taking action. I'd like to invite you to come back and join us again sometime, as we have a seasonally-changing menu, are continuously training staff and are posting the times of our live music so that guests can make an informed choice about when they prefer to dine with us. Please feel free also to contact me any time at 631.477.6840 or info@nofosquare.com

My best regards,

Raelinn Doty
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens, NY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We've been three times since they opened already. Awesome. The food is really very nice. Large portions. Inventive and interesting dishes (try the lobster and shrimp corn dogs!). The service is not as polished as some other places (a lot of young kids), but is friendly and attentive. The drinks could use some improvement, however. They are just OK -- the place could benefit from a mixologist to make some strong cocktails. I'll stick to beer until they improve.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NR14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NofoSquare, Manager at The Square, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Hi NR14,

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your times with us at the Square! Thanks so much for the kind words. And we are indeed working on our bar/cocktail/wine program. Check back with us soon for some fun additions!

Cheers! And hope to see you again soon.

Raelinn
- Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Square also viewed

Greenport, North Fork
Greenport, North Fork
 
Greenport, North Fork
Greenport, North Fork
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing