We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the view, good food & friendly staff”

Soundview Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 67 Restaurants in Greenport
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Providence RI
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Can't beat the view, good food & friendly staff”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Stopped in for a late lunch, quiet April weekend, grabbed a table by the water & soaked up the view. Very relaxing spot, no rush from staff, all in all a pleasant stop. Hate to complain but windows could have used a washing as the view was the highlight of the stop, but would recommend it either way.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Waterfrontguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    58
    34
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenport, New York
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The Soundview Resturant”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I've been here many times and the food is consistently good. The waiting staff is also very much to be expected.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wbogardus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenport, New York
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Rachel sandwich,mmmmmgood”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Had this sandwich 3 times its great. Great food, great view of LI sound. Friday, Burger & Beer for $12

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StoneyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west babylon
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Beautiful View”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We had a light dinner there the first night. I have read many mixed reviews on the restaurant, but I was pleasantly surprised with the food. Every thing we ate was delicious. We arrived about 45 minutes before closing and never felt rushed to get out. They also had a decent sized bar area with a piano player. I guess since it was so late and off season, there weren't many people there - but we found it enjoyable.
They say the sunsets on the sound are not to be missed (I agree) and if you log on to the restaurant website, they give you the sunset times so you can plan your dinner and have a great view.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank suz3032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pretty View, Average Food”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I have mixed feelings on the Soundview restaurant. On the one hand, I really like getting a table by the window and looking out at the water. I've been going there for about 5 years and have a nostalgic affection for the place. However, the restaurant itself could use some improvements. The ambience feels a bit dated, despite a light "face lift" recently. This is not necessarily a bad thing, just be aware that you're going to more of an old-fashioned seafood place.

Service is consistently good, they have nice servers and the food always comes out fairly quickly. Drinks are good, and they make a mean martini. The food, however, is really just okay. I usually order fish when I am there (something about being on the water), and I suspect that they are using frozen fish most of the time.

The confusing part is that I would still return to this restaurant, despite the "just okay" food. I'm a sucker for a pretty view, and they do have a gorgeous view of the water.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beachycali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Soundview Restaurant also viewed

Greenport, North Fork
Greenport, North Fork
 
Greenport, North Fork
 
Southold, North Fork
 

Been to Soundview Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing