We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the view!”

Soundview Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 67 Restaurants in Greenport
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't beat the view!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We made a reservation for the patio hoping for great weather and a beautiful sunset which we got. Ordered a cocktail to start. Waitress seemed in a hurry to take our order which wasn't really a problem because we had already decided. Ordered soup as our first course, our entrees and placed an order for wine to have with dinner. Soup arrived immediately and was delicious, but entrees arrived almost immediately as well. Had to cancel our wine because we weren't halfway through our cocktails. Food was delicious, loved the selection of local wine, the view of the sound and sunset were amazing, but the server and kitchen need to work on timing and pace of a meal because it really destroyed the leisurely evening we were hoping for. The end of our meal was wrecked by a string of profanities from a nearby diner who was also apparently unhappy that their entrees arrived before they finished their appetizers.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MKETraveler710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    58
    34
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Odenton, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great view, ok food”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This restaurant has such awesome potential with its location right on the sound! The water and beach are right under their outdoor seating area! But the menu had good options but the food was nothing to be "wow'd" by. The bread they bring to the table was stale and seemed like out of a bag, they also weren't very flexible on changing up sides with their entrees which seemed odd, the seafood seemed fresh but for the price we hoped for a more modern place and unique menu options.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 883christinab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Spot with Views”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Beautiful views and sitting on the outside deck...you are right on the water! Go for lunch when it is less busy..we were there on weekday for lunch. Beautiful day on the deck seating but service was a little slow, food was good. Dining room dated.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gezette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Soltice Sunset”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We took the recommendation from our B & B. Spoke with the hostess several days before since I have to be gluten free, Michelle was a very knowledge hostess. We made a reservation for an outdoor setting, great evening.

Food is fresh and inviting. We had the duck and also brie appetizers, grilled chicken and stuffed flounder entrees. Service was impeccable, couldn't ask for a better evening.

Great outdoor setting.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NascarMom5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“After tasting the wines, eat here!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Visiting relatives in Long Island and a half day of wine tasting ended with dinner up near the tip of Northfork. Cousins said that last year when stopping with other relatives the food was just o.k. However this time he changed his mind as everyone's food was done right, served hot, and service was excellent and that was before the crowds as we got there at. 6:45 on a Friday night.
The skirt steak was juicy and tender, lots of mashed garlic potatoes and that choice was two of the eight dinners ordered, I had the Wedge salad which along with the grilled side of asparagus and it was good and not over cooked.. Two people ordered flounder and someone else got fried fish with French fries, and dinners ranged from average $18.00 to $32.00 but included potato and well cooked veggies. Got one dessert which was a ppscoop of vanilla ice cream with some chocolate syrup so we could get a birthday song in. Our waitress was so patient and helpful taking the group pictures. Drinks by the way were also available and my Greyhound was made well. There is an outside deck to sit at and be served but we chose to sit inside as we hadn't prepared to bring sweaters or jackets as the day had been so warm. I tend to agree with the review saying lunch would be a good meal to have here.
Ask for a window table as we were lucky to have a beautiful sunset.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 385eileenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Soundview Restaurant also viewed

Greenport, North Fork
Greenport, North Fork
 
Greenport, North Fork
 
Southold, North Fork
 

Been to Soundview Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing