We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful winery, great wine”
Review of Kontokosta Winery

Kontokosta Winery
Ranked #2 of 19 things to do in Greenport
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Simsbury, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful winery, great wine”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The staff were excellent, the winery was beautiful with a view of the Sound, and the wine was the best of the 3 we visited. We enjoyed the Savignon Blanc and Cabernet Franc the best.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    34
    11
    12
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
56 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful, eco-friendly winery on the North Fork.”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I love Long Island wine country, and am always excited to find and try some new wineries. On a recent drive out to East Marion, we drove past this place, and decided to give it a try. They opened just this year, and are not on the LI Wine Council map. The tasting room is gorgeous and modern. They have a huge sitting area, as well. The building was made entirely from repurposed materials, (and I'm pretty sure the guy explained that the whole place is wind-powered...I was drinking, so I can't be sure). The tasting selections included a variety of whites and reds. We enjoyed the white blend, chardonnay and sauvignon blanc. They also sell some nice olive oils, which they have for sample at the tasting bar. There is a walkway that leads to the beach, and we were encouraged to go explore and enjoy the property with a glass of wine, which we did. I look forward to coming back soon.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrooklynWino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southold, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Needs better customer service”
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

We walked in here, looking at the beautiful winery. The only staff we saw was sitting at the computer and didn't even say hello as we entered. Then, when we stood at the bar the same tasting room staff member poured for another couple (never mind that we had entered first) and still didn't acknowledge us for another 3 minutes. This was not a busy day. The wines were not very good. Surprisingly, I had no interest in finishing any of them--and I really enjoy a good sauv blanc or merlot. Disappointing. A beautiful view if you walk toward the Sound--this winery is attractive, and has potential--but needs more time--and the staff needs practice in greeting customers. A pity, the tasting room is very hip and
trendy.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 17wandalust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Unexpected Surprise!”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We were touring around Greenport and spotted this winery from the road. We drove in and had one great surprise after another! The winery is wind-powered, the tasting room was gorgeous and completely packed with people enjoying the afternoon, the wine was good AND there is a walk to a beautiful bluff and steps down to the beach. Don't miss it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kontokosta Winery also viewed

Greenport, North Fork
 

Been to Kontokosta Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing