We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historical place to check out.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Claudio's Restaurant

Claudio's Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 61 Restaurants in Greenport
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Dockside dining, inside and out, right on Greenport Harbor. Casual, resort-style attire.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
159 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Historical place to check out.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We were in Greenport just shopping when we came across this place. It has a real old time feel which I like. I ordered the White Clam Chowder which was fantastic! The other orders were clams and fish n chips. Everything else was very good as well. Our server we very polite and always checked up on us.
A few days after going here we watched a National Geographic show on prohibition and this place played a major part in illegal spirits. They said there is still to this day a "trapdoor" in the floor behind the bar where they used to store the booze. I wish that i would have known that because I would have loved to see it. Next time I go I will be sure to ask to check it out. Worth the stop.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    156
    81
    40
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We have been discriminated here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We were out and about at "downtown" Greenport looking for a place to eat. We checked out Claudio's outdoor places and didn't like the Junk-food feel of it so went to the main restaurant instead. We never got past the hostess, she took one look at us (a couple with 2 young children both in strollers) and said they have no table available for a while. Just behind her was an empty table; assuming this was an issue of place for the strollers we decided to wait and after about 5 minutes she came back and said: "it is going to take a while"... I don't normally see my self as someone who speaks "American" (just moved here 2y ago) but this time it was very clear that what she meant was that we are not welcome there.
It might be totally true that they had nowhere to put us but the way we were handled was manipulative and rude. If someone would just tell us - I am so sorry but we don't have a room at this moment or maybe try to work things out with us (like fold the strollers?) I wouldn't complain but this was insulting!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sivan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
154 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Budget priced seafood place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Located on the pier. Was tempted by the wide selection of seafood options and bargain prices. Ordered clams (which came with fries, coleslaw & tartare sauce). Very cafe style presentation and clam pieces so uniform could have been frozen! When bill requested to settle, waitress almost slid it off the table across to my husband! Not the best of experiences I'm afraid.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinkfish01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orient, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Claudios in the Fall - Perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Two pints of ice cold Pumpkin Ale with a sugar Cinamon Rim, Hot clam chowder on a cool fall day, old school decore overlooking a warf. I'll take this version of Claudios over the chaotic, biker-infested Claudios of the Summer any day. Sit at the bar for lunch anytime after Labor Day and you will have a great experience, no doubt.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank FishermanMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“JOHN IS RUDE!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We walked in without a reservation and John gave us the worst table with other tables empty. He had said rather rudely that those tables were for customers who reserved them. While we were deciding if we wanted to stay there he grabbed the menu's really rudely and stormed off. We walked to the front and said to him that we were deciding what to do and he didn't care. SO RUDE!!
Go to Noah's the food is excellent and so is the service!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslierapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Claudio's Restaurant also viewed

Greenport, North Fork
Greenport, North Fork
 
Greenport, North Fork
Greenport, North Fork
 

Been to Claudio's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing