We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B & B, Great Hospitality!”
Review of Harbor Knoll

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harbor Knoll
Ranked #6 of 10 Greenport B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My wife and I spoent two delightful nights at this B and B right on the seashore in Greenport. The owner, Leureen Miller looked after us, providing an excellent breakfast in the room overlooking the harbor. Room was very comfotable with air conditioning, tv, etc., and very quiet and peacful. Town of Greenport is just a short walk away from the B and B. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Note, the Harbor Room does not have an ensuite bathroom. However, a private bathroom just for this r...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
There are newer reviews for Harbor Knoll
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

My husband & I spent 2 nights at the Harbor Knoll B&B and had a wonderful time. The location is great. A short walk to downtown Greenport's bars, shops, restaurants, train and ferry. You definitely don't need to worry about driving to dinner as there are many nice restaurants to choose from nearby. The B&B itself is lovely. A very pretty breakfast room right on the water and lots of windows. Breakfast was plentiful. Many food and beverage options which were all delicious. The innkeeper is very pleasant and interesting to talk to. We stayed in the Lighthouse room which I recommend. We had a private bathroom inside of our room (other rooms at the B&B share a bathroom) and a room facing the harbor. Very nice view. The room is fairly small, but we weren't in our room much so that was fine. The grounds of the home are also lovely. Outside of the breakfast room & porch is a pretty yard with chairs so you can sit and enjoy the view. There is also a private sandy beach area with a few chairs and a dock. The beach is pretty narrow, but you would be the only ones there. You can definitely jump off the end of the dock and go for a swim. We did! The only cons I would say are the price which was pretty high (at least during prime summer) and the 7pm check in time (which may be standard for B&Bs, as I don't frequent them often, not sure). We were delayed on our trip in and didn't arrive until 9pm. We did call ahead to let the B&B know we were late, but definitely felt very bad about it. The Innkeeper stayed until our arrival to check us in. Overall, if you are looking for some r&r in the summer, I would recommend Greenport & Harbor Knoll!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leueen, Owner at Harbor Knoll, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

I appreciate the warm and positive comments made by this guest but I would like to point out that the reference to shared bathrooms in incorrect. We have no shared bathrooms, each guest room has a private bathroom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

If you want a clean, comfortable, charming Inn, stay here. If you need an accommodating innkeeper who personally brings you homemade breakfasts on the porch, stay here. If you want to be on the water, stay here. (There is no other Greenport B&B on the water.) Did a lot of searches to decide on this Inn; ultimately being on the water was the deciding factor. We, along with the groom's parents) stayed here for the weekend of my daughter's wedding, (the groom's parents stayed in the charming cottage; we stayed in the main house), and we all couldn't have been more thrilled with the accommodations. What a beautiful, restful spot to go over last minute details, and to walk into the village to pick up a few needed things. The gardens are spectacular, and the views are breathtaking. Wish we would have had the time to take our kayaks out, because the inn is right on the bay. Still, in our quiet pre-wedding moments, we loved watching the ferries go back and forth to Shelter Island. The location was quiet, even on the holiday weekend! Thank you, Luween. We highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetobird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Mrs. Miller was very open and welcoming of us into her home. She was kind and breakfast was good. The house is literally on the water, where you can swim on a private beach. I recommend this house to anyone looking for a nice relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mhf13yanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I arrived and was greeted by a beautiful young girl. She explained everything and was very clear and helpful. She brought us to our room overlooking a spectacular view. This is not at all what I expected! The room was comfortable and home-y. This inn offers many services! Including massages, wine and snacks, and oysters! The inn is so conveniently located! It's right next to the ferry and town. The owner, Leueen, was well connected in town and was able to help us select restaurants, and activities. Overall, I was very pleased. You really can't beat a water view with a beach so conveniently located, with many services. So pleased!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sweetpanda525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This was our first stay at Harbor Knoll. It is a very upscale inn with breathtaking views of Shelter Island and lots of privacy for the guests. We felt a bit like we had our own country house on the water. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 60745Angelica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We just took one night here, coming from CT it was an easy trip.
We were familiar with the area especially Shelter Island so it was just a matter of finding a nice place to stay the night. Harbor Knoll was perfect! Rooms were spotless and comfy. Great views.
Loved the local wines and cheese in the early evening that were left out.
Friendly staff. Quick walk into Greenport for dinner.
We would definately stay there again. I know it says we stayed in 2012 but it was 2011.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarshaG58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenport
0.2 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
1.8 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#1 of 7 in Greenport
595 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
191 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stirling House Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Fordham House
Fordham House
#1 of 10 in Greenport
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Knoll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Knoll

Address: 1 Miller Lane, 424 Fourth Street, Greenport, NY 11944
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Greenport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Greenport
Price Range: £225 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, waterfront inn with private beach and dock. Very private and quiet with wonderful gardens and breathtaking views. Elegantly decorated in the English country home style. Each of our 4 bedrooms have en suite private bathrooms. We also offer an enchanting one-bedroom cottage with kitchen, living room porch and separate entrance. So easy to reach from Manhattan--within walking distance to Greenport Hampton Jitney stop, Ferry to Shelter Island, and Greenport village and train station. You don't even need to bring a car! Close to North Fork Wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Harbor Knoll reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Knoll Hotel Greenport
Harbor Knoll Greenport, NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing