We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a treat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 10 Greenport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We just returned from a family wedding in Greenport NY and 4 lovely nights at the Morning Glory. This B&B delivers everything the website and reviews promise and more. Thanks to our gracious and welcoming hosts, Renate & Klaus and the incredibly cute and love able Max. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in your home and will be talking about your amazing breakfasts for quite awhile. Such a treat to be pampered! We ❤ our visit to Greenport. Wineries, lavender farm, bike rides, great little shops and good restaurants. It's well worth the trip.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BizzyB610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MornGlory04, Owner at The Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2016

Thanks for your wonderful review. We really appreciate your kind works, and we are so glad your stay was just what you wanted. Sorry for the delay in responding; just learning the technology and trying to get up to speed. But, please come see us again and enjoy another dose of Greenport!

Warmly,
Renate and Klaus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
There are newer reviews for The Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

This spotless B & B is just a few hundred yards walk from "downtown" Greenport, New York. It fronts the main road, however, which is surprisingly busy in the early morning and after-dinner, as many people probably commute over to Shelter Island and beyond on the small car ferries that run frequently during the day from the dock at Greenport. Greenport is nonetheless a quaint small town, the "nicest" that we have yet visited on Long island (see our reviews of the restaurants there).

Your gracious host Renate Wilhelm and her capable handyman-husband Klaus are German immigrants and long-time American citizens who make your stay comfortable. There is parking at the side of the house for the three guestrooms. The backyard has a big table and comfortable chairs for al-fresco dining, but the yard is green and shaded and there were mosquitoes this year due to the late and very moist spring. Our hosts supplied us with an effective citronella spray for free, for our forays into the local state parks. The front porch is not shaded and is mosquito-free and has comfortable chairs.

This is definitely a place for grownups only, and the other guests were couples of various ages and occupations. All of them drove in, as is necessary this far out on Long Island, railroad or not.

The lovable Maxi, whose name does not describe his size, is the friendly little pooch with superb hearing who will announce your every arrival with much barkation (that's Gen-X-speak for you). You will, however, have to haul your luggage up one flight of stairs. No doubt Klaus would do this for you if asked, but you need the exercise, remember? At the top of the stairs and outside the rooms is a little fridge filled with flip-cap bottles of cold water. A great idea on a hot June day!

We had the largest room, the Love Deeply suite. The bed was even higher from the floor than we had realized from the photographs, and was soft and bouncy. The room, like the rest of the house, has peaceful, pale tones to it - the house has a "Seaboard" feeling to it, without being Victorian or fussy. We did not use the room's air-conditioning, instead relying upon the ceiling fan, and opened the windows at night. There was copious hot water for bathing. The Wi-Fi is secure and the signal is strong.

The breakfasts alone make this place noteworthy! Stay several days so that you can explore the area's wineries, but also so that you can sample the different breakfast offerings. Our first breakfast involved thin German apple pancake to be split and shared, with a superb warm berry compote to be passed around, preceded by a cup of fresh local berries in sauce for each person, and some scrambled eggs and bacon. This is life-affirming food! The other breakfast were similarly delicious, but the German apple pancake is the best, and is not served every day.

The knowledgeable owners know the local directions well.

We will eagerly return to this B & B if our business or leisure ever takes us again to Long Island, NY. Our thanks once again to Renate, Klaus, and little Maxi.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank ScienceTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MornGlory04, Owner at The Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2016

Thanks for your wonderfully detailed review. We really appreciate you taking the time to provide such great information to future guests, and we thank you for the many compliments. Sorry for the delay in responding; just getting up to speed with all the technology of this day that doesn't come quite as easy for us older folks :). But, thank you again and please come visit soon!

Warmly,
Renate and Klaus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Adam and I had a wonderful and convenient weekend getaway from NYC! Extremely accessible to the Long Island Railroad and the Greenport main street (within walking distance) . There is also a bike rental right next door, with bikes being delivered directly to us. The B&B environment was exactly what we were looking for in escaping from the city - relaxing, comfortable, delicious breakfast and several other nice touches such as lavender-water rinsed linens (!!!!) Renate and Klaus and their new puppy Maxi, the owners, were incredibly hospitable, helpful and friendly. If you need any help finding things to do or places to visit they were full of helpful recommendations and knowledge of the area. They have put a lot of thought and care into their operation, turning our stay into one of the best weekend getaways we've ever had. I am looking forward to visiting again and would not change a thing about the trip.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank courtneys563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MornGlory04, Owner at The Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2016

Courtney, thank for your very sweet review. It was a joy to read and we are so glad your stay was just what you wanted. Sorry for the delay in responding as we are trying to get up to speed on technology. Thank you again for the many compliments and please come visit us again soon!

Warmly,
Renate and Klaus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The Morning Glory Inn is everything a Bed & Breakfast should be--it is a picture perfect Inn! From the moment you enter you will feel very special. It is meticulously clean, all rooms are elegantly decorated and exemplifies the owners' love for this Inn. The bedrooms are comfortable, the beds made with the finest linens. You will wake up each morning to the delicious food aromas coming from the kitchen as Renate whips up another delicious 5 star breakfast. Her freshly baked goods are available all day and night in the dining room. Renate and Klaus are the epitome of the perfect Innkeepers. Their hospitality and friendly personalities will immediately make you feel that you are staying with friends. The nice touch of the lit lanterns on the porch will welcome you back when returning at night. The Morning Glory Inn will leave you wanting to come back again and again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marion R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MornGlory04, Owner at The Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2016

Marion, thank for your wonderful review. It was a joy to read and we appreciated all of the details and compliments. We are so glad your stay was just what you wanted... Sorry for the delay in responding as we learn the technology and get up to speed. But thank you again, and please come visit us again soon.

Warmly,
Renate and Klaus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I were thrilled with the accommodations and the hospitality of The Morning Glory! The rooms were serene and luxurious and breakfast each morning was a feast for the senses! I would hightly recommend this beautiful inn that Renata and Klaus have created. No detail was overlooked. We hope to be able to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DCD624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MornGlory04, Owner at The Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2016

Thank you so much for your sweet review. We are so glad your stay was just what you wanted and thank you for the wonderful feedback. Sorry for the delay in responding -- trying to learn all the technology of the day and get up to speed. Please come visit us again.

Warmly,
Renate and Klaus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I light up whenever I think of this property. We stayed here for Labor Day weekend and everything was splendid. The house smells amazing, like warm pastries, all the time. Upon arrival there were maybe half a dozen freshly baked treats in the dining room, which we were advised to eat whenever we wanted! Our room was comfortable, quiet and well decorated. Breakfast was incredible: croissants from scratch, delicious yogurts, anything you could ask for. I recommend this B&B to all my friends. You can also walk to town from there, which is very convenient.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juliet I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MornGlory04, Owner at The Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2016

Juliet, we loved reading you wonderful review - WE lit up reading it, thank you. We are so glad your stay was just what you wanted and thanks for the many compliments. Sorry for the delay in responding; just learning all the technology and getting up to speed. We hope you will come visit us again soon, and thank you again.

Warmly,
Renate and Klaus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

What a great experience. This b/b was lovely,owners welcoming but not overly intrusive. Rooms comfy.Bed was a liitle too soft for us, but all else great. Some traffic noise outside, but subsided by 11pm so really not a problem. The best part were the breakfasts. Renate is a superb gourmet cook. Her baked goods surpass most bakeries I have been in. The best croissants I have ever had, delicious scones, homemade jams. Always delicious homebaked goodies available in dining room for whenever you may want a snack.All fresh fruit served were ripened to perfection. My only complaint is I won't wake up to another morning filled with wonderfulness!

Room Tip: Rooms in back may be quieter.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eastcoastfoodie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MornGlory04, Owner at The Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2016

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us -- and the food. Please come back again so we can make you some more goodies. :)
Sorry for the delay in responding as we learn the technology and get up to speed. But thank you again and please come visit again soon.

Warmly,
Renate and Klaus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenport
0.7 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
2.0 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#1 of 7 in Greenport
595 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
0.1 mi away
Fordham House
Fordham House
#1 of 10 in Greenport
194 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stirling House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast

Address: 912 Main St, Greenport, NY 11944-1241
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Greenport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Greenport
Price Range: £148 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast is a beautifully renovated 19th-century home in Greenport, New York, part of the charming and historic North Fork wine country region of Long Island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast Greenport, NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing