We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal”
Review of Scrimshaw - CLOSED

Scrimshaw
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Front Street
Stony Brook, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I'l be honest, we went to Scrimshaw only after failing to score a reservation at numerous other restaurants in Greenport. Boy, were we pleasantly surprised. The bartender made some great drinks; and we all (four of us) had great meals (fish, steak).
We sat outside, and the weather was almost as perfect as the meal.
Don't be scared of trying this place.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rtbsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    19
    15
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nys
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Although the staff was polite and friendly, the service was slow and the food was disappointing. My husband had a salad for an appetizer, which was just lettuce and one cherry tomato for $12 and the stripped sea bass with vegetables, which was fishy and slightly over-cooked for $38. I had filet mignon and vegetables, which were cooked to perfect medium rare, but the wine reduction was bitter and the outside of the meat was so charred that I had to cut it off because it added to the bitterness. We skipped dessert , needless to say. The bill came to $103, no alcohol, no dessert and only one appetizer. Not worth the money. The atmosphere is just ok, so not worth going to the restaurant for the view.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dfwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Not a bad thing to say. Excellent experience and food. Service was a tad slow but it's a good place to slow the pace anyway.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mld747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amityville, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"DISAPPOINTING"”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Yesterday my husband and I had lunch at Scrimshaw. I was looking forward to the delicious Cobb salad which I enjoyed on my first visit last summer. The waitress informed me that they did not have the ingredients and the salad would be available later. I ordered the Bowl of Mussels in Wine Sauce. The portion was very small, the mussels were tiny, and the wine sauce had no flavor. My husband had a hamburger which was good. The best part of the meal was the appetizer of steamed Cantonese dumplings, however, there was only 6 dumplings for $16.00. The service was not good as the waitress never returned to the table to ask how the food was or see if we needed anything else. I guess you are paying for the beautiful view of the harbor because it certainly is not the food or service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dmlwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flushing, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Double Yum!!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband and I were vacationing in Greenport last week and had the pleasure of dining at Scrimshaw two nights in a row-- it was THAT GOOD. We arrived at the beginning of the dinner service and were seated by the charming hostess Jess. The service and food were impeccable, and we had the chance to chat for a bit with Chef Rosa Ross when she visited our table at the end of our meal.
The first night, my husband started with the chowder and had the butter-poached lobster tails-- both DIVINE. I had the oysters and the Hong Kong Bouillabaise, a symphony of amazing flavors and textures, We finished with desserts, liqueuers, and espresso-- a perfect meal, perfectly served, in a lovely setting. We enjoyed it so much, we made a reservation for the following night before we left.
The second night, I started with the Duck Spring Rolls, which are TOTALLY amazing. The play of the silky texture of the duck confit against the crispy wrapping, and the tomato, and the napa cabbage-- it was ART!! When the plate came, I looked at it, looked at my husband and quipped, "At Noah's, this would be an entree." It was a very generous appetizer, in every sense of the word. My husband can't seem to leave the chowder behind (he has it whenever we eat there). He had the Strip Steak special and I had the Crescent Farms Duck Breast. Both were extraordinary. The quality of the ingredients Chef Rosa employs, and the artistry with which she puts them together, and the nice-sized portions make Scrimshaw a better value for our tastes than either Noah's or Frisky Oyster.
I want to go back to Scrimshaw and do it all over again. Both evenings provided lovely memories of this latest stay in Greenport.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scrimshaw also viewed

Greenport, North Fork
Southold, North Fork
 
Greenport, North Fork
Greenport, North Fork
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing