We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a beach view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sound View Greenport
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Greenport
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Room with a beach view”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Car parked in front of door, private beach right outside the room, great views, friendly, helpful staff and a decent cup of coffee and continental breakfast in the morning...just what the doctor ordered for a short stay in Greenport. Had lovely lunch in adjoining restaurant too. Also, the various special discounts on offer gave us the incentive to stay an extra night and makes us want to come back again soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    169
    77
    46
    37
See reviews for
140
232
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Sound View Inn is the perfect beach resort 5 minutes from everything. The rooms were clean and the view with the breeze from the sound was quite relaxing. Kid friendly with a beautiful pool. Since we let them know we were booking multiple rooms with family they roomed us next door to each other. We stayed on the beach well into the night and no one said a word. It was great.
There's a small gym with updated equipment which was more than adequate.
This Inn is not very fancy but if you frequent the area, it's perfect.
We will definitely revisit.

Room Tip: Each suits has a full size private balcony on the beach. It's worth the extra $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenlawn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We have been frequenting southold/greenport for 30+ years. Over the last 5 years I went with my family for the 4th of July weekend. This was the first time we stayed at the soundview inn and it was perfect! My sister, myself and my sister in laws booked rooms next door to each other. Clean rooms, private entrances to your room and the beach, balcony with table and chaise lounges, I stayed in a 11/2 room suite and it slept the 4 of us comfortably. We had a terrific time and highly reccomend the SVI. I have found my home for our annual trip! The assistant manager Betty was helpful and welcoming, I look forward my next trip!
M.Sasso

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mlsasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Stream, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

The Sound View Inn is a great place to stay. It has a beautiful private beach and the staff is warm and welcoming. It is also close enough to all points of interest. I would stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask the front desk when you call which room they recommend for the size and purpose of yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CrownDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

When I booked this room I was told that it would be a 2 1/2 room when I got here I got a 1 1/2 room.. When i complained i was told that i could have that room but id have to cut my stay a few days short..I stayed with 4 adults 2 had to sleep on an old run down dirty pull out couch that was covered with urine stains (not comfortable) & the other 2 adults slept on two twin beds that were pushed together - I also, was givin a room without a stove.. The bathroom is the filthiest thing about this place.. There holes in the ceiling, the walls are practically rotting, & the toilets look like public restroom toilets.. I do not even feel comfortable being barefoot in there, I'm not kidding! Yes, the doors are new but honestly what do the guests get out of a new door? What about new blankets, new bathrooms? They offer breakfast but don't even try to bring it back to your room because the 'manager' is like a Sargent & won't let you even take a muffin or a cup of yogurt.. Everything has to be eaten in the shoebox size breakfast room! When new people checked in the room next to us they complained that there were pillows missing & I was on the beach & overheard the 'manager' tell the guests that the people next to them (pointing to my room) took it - so not only did I get a gross room here. I was accused of stealing!! I dont have only bad things to say so i will say that - The pool area & the view of the sunset is the only nice thing about this place - but its def. Not worth $280/ a night!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sweetie5o6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I almost never take pen to hand - or actually fingers to keyboard - but I just had to share this weekend with you. I must start by saying that I am a Director of Hospitality for a very large company - so I am always interested - in seeing the interaction of staff and guests. My friend and I arrived in the late afternoon, at first it looks like a large motel. We checked in and went to our room. The room was very dated - but we didn't care - we were expecting a beachy sort of place - no frills. But then we opened the back door - and there was the sea ! Beautiful absolutely beautiful. Just the view and we were happy. Now this is where it all goes wrong. In the morning we go to their little reception room for what they call "A contintental Breakfast" if you call a few stale buns a breakfast - Hey Soundview go for a few Hardboil eggs at $300.00 a night.
So while we were there, a man came into the room and toasted an English Muffin - wraps it up in a napkin and prepares to leave, the staff person jumps in from of him blocking the exit door (honestly you can't make things up like this) and tells him he cannot leave with the English Muffin! He explains that his wife is nursing their 5 week old baby in the room, feels light headed and needs something to eat - she says I don't care - this english muffin does not leave the room - at this point I personally would have reacted different - but he being a gentleman hands her back the muffin and leaves - at which point she announce to us all - ha I stood my ground!!!!! What ground - if she worked for me she would have been out the door immediately.

The same women tells this other couple who checked in at 10:30 the night before - they got lost because the address on the web side for the Inn was wrong - that they still had to check out at 12 noon today. They said fine - we just would like to stay and use the pool - the place was half full - she then tells them - no - they can only stay one hour after check out - are you kidding me. I never in all my years - experienced such unmitigated rudeness - while we were there talking to other people 8 people in total said nice place - but would never come back just because of the meaness of the staff!!!!

Honestly folks - there are plenty of small inns , hotels and motels out in Long Island - run don't walk past this one!

Thank you

Jerene Murphy

Room Tip: Its all about the view - the rooms only look good with the lights out :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Choosy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We had an unbelievable time at the Sound View. Those people who are used to a Marriott or Hilton might find the rustic-ness of the Sound View a little jarring at first, but the room was perfectly functional and our 1 1/2 room suite had many thoughtful touches I've never seen in a hotel -- a kitchenette that was fully equipped with a toaster, dishes and silverware, even salt and pepper. We were mere feet from the Long Island Sound and had an unobstructed view from everywhere in the room. The private balcony (a feature I don't believe you get with the smaller rooms) was just wonderful. The service was first rate -- we were pleased that on a hot day, we came back to our room and the A/C was turned on. About the only things that were missing were a modern TV and working internet connection, but we didn't go to use the internet, so I didn't press the issue. There was noise from the highway behind us, but we closed the windows facing the highway and opened the doors facing the Sound -- problem solved. The Sound View is close to everything and was a very charming, romantic place that we'd definitely stay at again.

Room Tip: The 1 1/2 room suite was a wonderful upgrade for a relatively small extra cost. It was worth it just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HerbLehman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenport
0.5 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
3.4 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
183 reviews
1.9 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Pridwin Hotel
The Pridwin Hotel
#3 of 5 in Shelter Island
229 reviews
1.4 mi away
Heron Suites
Heron Suites
#2 of 3 in Southold
114 reviews
2.5 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sound View Greenport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sound View Greenport

Property: Sound View Greenport
Address: 58775 Route 48, Greenport, NY 11944 (Formerly Sound View Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Greenport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Greenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sound View Greenport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than 100 miles from New York City on the North Fork of Long Island, this idyllic property evokes the timeless spirit of a classic seaside resort. Its Norman Rockwell charm will conjure memories of blissful childhood summers in the sun, while its recently renovated spaces offer the comforts of modern life. Our guest rooms and suites offer the intimacy of a seafront cottage, with all the perks of a full-service hotel and every room opens directly onto a waterfront deck, with access to our private beach. The property is a short bike ride or drive from a variety of authentic North Fork experiences, including the village shops of historic Greenport, several award-winning vineyards, local farms offering freshly picked delights, and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sound View Greenport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sound View Hotel Greenport
Sound View Greenport NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing