We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a few days at the Soundview”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sound View Greenport
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Greenport
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Spent 2 nights at the Soundview Inn. Had a great time. Sleeping to the sounds of the waves was awesome. Beautiful sunsets, food and drinks at the Soundview restaurant were very good. Friendly staff. Great relaxing couple of days. Visit the local winerys on the way to pick up some wine for your stay. Planning on going back real soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

520 - 526 of 632 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

I love the Soundview inn. My family first vacationed in Southhold/Greenport 50 years ago after my grandfather had stayed at the soundview inn.

The sunsets on the sound are awesome and every room has its own deck. Our room was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. The pool is wonderful. After getting a workout in the pool you can swim in the sound and walk on the beach.

The Levin brothers are 100 and 103 and both will greet you at breakfast.

The rest of the staff are very friendly and helpful. The restaurant on the property has excellent food and the same great views. Cannot wait to come back.

Room Tip: We got the least expensive and it was just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nat50226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We have been going to the Sound View Inn, several times a season, for the past 19 years and WE LOVE IT!!! It is so relaxing for us to be there sitting on the deck and looking forward to seeing the most "BEAUTIFUL" and "BREATHTAKING" Sunsets on the Sound, or having our morning coffee on the deck while enjoying the sound of the water.

The entire staff is very accommodating, and our room is always clean and has a well-stocked kitchenette. You just can't beat the view from the large decks that overlook the water. It is truly magnificient.

We enjoy every minute of our time there, and the fact that it is so close to the Wineries, as well as the quaint town of Greenport, makes it so easy to shop in all the little boutique stores, or spend some time at the dock watching all the boats come in.

Another great feature at Sound View is the fact that they have by far the "BEST" restaurant. The food is absolutely delicious, and again, the view with all the glass windows overlooking the water while dining, along with the sunsets, is something you cannot get enough of.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OurTimeInParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Stayed in the adult suites for a few days. The suite is perfect for two couples or for those who want two separate bedrooms. The suite has two sets of sliding glass doors..one in the 'master bedroom' and the other in the living room which open up to a patio. You can walk right on to the beach. The inn also has a pool so you have a choice of the beach or the pool...i love that! You can also see the beautiful sunreise & sunset...got some amazing pics. I took advantage of the workout room..it was awesome looking at the ocean as I was on the treadmill! The staff is very friendly & accomodating. The manager, Ellen is also very attentive and ensures that you are enjoying your stay! Although the furniture is old everything is very clean! My husband and I slept in the smaller room and we would have enjoyed a TV in that bedroom. This is our 3rd time there and hope to enjoy it for many years to come!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouRod_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Just got back from a few days at the Sound View & I had the best time ! Friendly Staff, Secluded, and beautiful view of the Sunrise & Sunset. Highly Recommended <3

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

The staff was welcoming and warm, proud of the services they provide to their guests.
The water is very close to the rooms. This was perfect for us! Lovely sunrise moments and breathtaking sunsets!
Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Costapapson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We stayed for one night and our experience was much different from those who had negative experiences. Every room opens up onto a deck on the beach, one word of advice if want to sit out on the deck at sunset bring a citronella candle. We asked for and received a late checkout and then stayed on their beach and pool all afternoon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 48Rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenport
0.5 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
1.9 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
3.4 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Pridwin Hotel
The Pridwin Hotel
#3 of 5 in Shelter Island
241 reviews
18.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
8.3 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sound View Greenport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sound View Greenport

Address: 58775 Route 48, Greenport, NY 11944 (Formerly Sound View Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Greenport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Greenport
Price Range: £145 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sound View Greenport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than 100 miles from New York City on the North Fork of Long Island, this idyllic property evokes the timeless spirit of a classic seaside resort. Its Norman Rockwell charm will conjure memories of blissful childhood summers in the sun, while its recently renovated spaces offer the comforts of modern life. Our guest rooms and suites offer the intimacy of a seafront cottage, with all the perks of a full-service hotel and every room opens directly onto a waterfront deck, with access to our private beach. The property is a short bike ride or drive from a variety of authentic North Fork experiences, including the village shops of historic Greenport, several award-winning vineyards, local farms offering freshly picked delights, and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sound View Greenport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sound View Hotel Greenport
Sound View Greenport NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing