We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sound View Greenport
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Greenport
Reviewed 26 September 2013

You come to this hotel for the location and views, not for the rooms. The rooms are clean and standard - nothing special, but who spends all day in their rooms? The continental breakfast is also basic. One thing I would recommend is that they replace their broken lounge chairs. I did not try the restaurant but was told it was good. THe location is a short drive to other restaurants, shopping and ferry. I really enjoyed the pool. It was clean and large.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sky029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (697)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

538 - 544 of 697 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

Ocean view from every room. Left our patio door open every night to fall asleep to sound of the ocean. Clean, basic rooms. Huge patios overlooking the water. Great staff. Wonderful free contienetal breakfast every morning. 5 minute drive to town. Close to many North Fork Wineries. We will be staying here again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StacyAnn401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I stayed in the 2 1/2 room suite with my husband and 18 year old daughter. The accordion door separated the sleeping quarters. The layout of the room was great. The kitchenette was outdated but functional. Being right on the water made the stay exceptional. The pool was huge and immaculate. I would definitely stay there again. Loved it!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I love the Sound View! Its so easy to get to from NYC and feels like a different world. The rooms are clean and each has a wonderful view of the sound. The restaurant has views also and the food is decent. The area is beautiful, Greenport has great restaurants, Orient Point has a wonderful park and it has very easy access to Shelter Island on a quick ferry ride (we biked and it was perfect). I highly recommend it. Its not fancy and I love that its the "un-Hamptons". The Northfork, please keep your old school charm!!!

Room Tip: Go for the suite–its worth the extra $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

If your looking for the 4 Seasons, this isn't the property for you. If your looking for peace and tranquility this IS the place for you. It is close to the farms, the charming towns and you can literally throw a stone in the Long Island Sound from your deck. Like to fish? This is your place to go! I found everyone at the front desk - EXTREMELY helpful and knowledgeable despite what other reviews have said. I have been coming to this property since 1980 so I have alot of memories here. That has to say something. They offer a free breakfast in the morning which I did not have but saw other guests walking back after their morning bite.

The cons for me is the colony of spiders that trickle down from the wood above at night..I am not a bug person AT ALL and very much afraid so I was constantly looking up. This kind of freaked me out. Again, you are on the water, anything is possible. I was surprised to not see any bugs inside until the last night. This big black thing that could of been a cockroach, i don't know, ran out from under bed and when we tried to kill it, it was jumping at us. Yeah that was fun. If you can get through the spiders out on deck, and the occasional bug inside and the outdated property - Then you will love this place. This is a place to make memories... I posted a few pics as well.. Enjoy!

Room Tip: 2 1/2 room is way to go!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie11552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Waking to a Monday departure and knowing it's ALL OVER, until next time.
This property is exactly as it represents itself on line, from photos to narrative. It is a motel, with the best beachside location you will find on the North Fork. Yes the decor is dated but the rooms offers sufficient creature comfort and facilities to allow for a most relaxing time. Waking up exactly where you want to be, grabing a coffee and light breakfast in the lobby, spending the day on the deck or beach, strolling over to the restaurant for lunch, sundowners or dinner, who needs more on a short break from the city? And if you do, Greenport is minutes away with a good variety of shops and ample foodie opportunities. Staff was most accommodating and professional. The other guests we met were mostly on return trips, which says it all !

Room Tip: If you want more privacy and newer rooms, go for the 1.5 bedroom or full apartment set ups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYCviaSYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

My sister-in-law and I were looking for a basic, clean and affordable place with a water view in the North Fork area of Long Island. We found it all at this establishment, located right on Long Island Sound. Very scenic! The sounds of waves lapping against the rocks and shoreline just lull you into blissful sleep! It is the perfect motel from which to explore wine country, bountiful farm stands, Shelter Island (ferry is only minutes away) and the Hamptons. The office staff was friendly and informative and met our needs. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RottyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenport
1.9 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
0.5 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
8.3 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
195 reviews
21.8 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
2.5 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sound View Greenport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sound View Greenport

Address: 58775 Route 48, Greenport, NY 11944-2280 (Formerly Sound View Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Greenport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Greenport
Price Range: £97 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sound View Greenport 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than 100 miles from New York City on the North Fork of Long Island, this idyllic property evokes the timeless spirit of a classic seaside resort. Its Norman Rockwell charm will conjure memories of blissful childhood summers in the sun, while its recently renovated spaces offer the comforts of modern life. Our guest rooms and suites offer the intimacy of a seafront cottage, with all the perks of a full-service hotel and every room opens directly onto a waterfront deck, with access to our private beach. The property is a short bike ride or drive from a variety of authentic North Fork experiences, including the village shops of historic Greenport, several award-winning vineyards, local farms offering freshly picked delights, and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Sound View Greenport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sound View Hotel Greenport
Sound View Greenport NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing