We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Sunset Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sound View Greenport
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Greenport
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This was our first trip to the Sound View Inn. We stayed three nights in a 1-1/2 bedroom suite. The room was spacious, a nice-sized sitting area, and a kitchenette area that had a fridge, microwave, toaster and coffee maker. They also supplied dishes, glasses and utensils for four. Good enough for breakfast and snacks. This room also had a private balcony that overlooked the Sound with the most spectacular sunsets. It was comfortable and clean. The room and property, however, is in need of some updating and maintenance. The beach is private and a typical North Shore beach that is both sand and rocks. The water was crystal clear and calm. There is also a large, unheated pool on the property, as well as a very nice restaurant. Not sure what it's like on the weekends, but mid-week was quiet and relaxing. The Inn is located on Route 48, so the front of the room did get a bit loud from the passing cars and trucks. We slept with windows closed and AC on, so it didn't bother us at all. In all, it was a very relaxing holiday in a great location. We definitely plan to return next summer.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (658)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

470 - 476 of 658 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed one night to wait for the ferry the next day. There was only one room left and it was a 2 bedroom suite in the apartment building next to the hotel. The room was very spacious and clean but who wants to stay in the room when you have the beautiful view outside? We usually stay on the south shore and was surprised that there were rocks instead of sand (wear your shoes while walking on the beach) The staff was friendly and helpful, we really appreciated the recommendation to make a reservation for the ferry - it was necessary!!! We had a great nights sleep. We will return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JWP442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Very pretty surroundings. Rooms, nothing special, but clean. Nice outside deck overlooking the Sound. Large pool overlooking the water. Pool clean, plenty of lounge chairs and floaties for the kids. Staff is strict but very accomodating. Pretty restaurant with beautiful views of the Sound. Indoor and outdoor seating available. The only negative thing is their close proximity to the street. The traffic noise was a little bothersome to me at night when trying to sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This was our 7th year staying at the Sound View Inn. It has become a family tradition with my husbands entire side of the family thanks to my beautiful in-laws. I don't know who had more fun, the kids or the adults. I can't say enough about Ellen and the entire staff. The view is priceless!!!! Thank you for another EXCELLENT week. Can't wait until next August. Let the countdown begin!!!! 357 days!! Can't come soon enough!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tpasc21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

All of the rooms are just steps to the beach on LI Sound. The beach is raked regularly, well maintained and clean. A great place for a family outing which our trip was. Our kids with their families had another suite and a deluxe room in the newer section. All accommodations were clean, the staff was courteous and helpful ( a screen door off the runner was fixed in minutes of our call). Newer TVs in all the rooms that we have seen and plenty of space if you want to cook up a big pasta dinner. We'll be back. Housekeeping does a great job in straightening, cleaning and picking up after the grandkids. Great location - in the heart of wine county and between Greenport and Southold (plenty of shops & great restaurants). PS. Jelly fish when in season come and go with the tide; plan you swimming accordingly or use the large modern pool with lifeguard in attendance.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

You can't beat the location...you open your back door and there's the LI Sound, just steps away from you. We were in a small "suite with king bed." If you can deal with a totally outdated motel that is not particularly clean, i.e., hairs in the sink, no garbage bags in the garbage cans, but hey, our wrapped bathroom cups were in the garbage, guess they just forgot to put them on the sink (GROSS!!!!)... Looks as though they rushed to get the room ready... The surrounding area of the faucets were filthy and the shower didn't look clean either (more hairs). I also didn't like the fact that any time I needed to flush the toilet, I had to put the toilet seat down as the handle to the flusher was in a very weird spot... After I sprayed the door handles and sink faucets with Lysol, I felt ok touching them. (yes, I carry a mini can when I travel lol!) Oh and The Sound View Inn Restaurant...totally overpriced with just average food. I gave them 3 stars, my boyfriend gave them 2.5. There was no one sitting outside so we thought it might be nice to eat outside. We were told all outside seats were reserved yet we noticed maybe two people at one table, the rest vacant -- still vacant when we left! The bread basket consisted of two Arnold's store type rolls and 3 flatbread, not too impressive to begin with. I had the grilled shrimp which came with angel hair pasta and spinach, which was weighed down in oil. The shrimp (5 medium size) were good, pasta ok, spinach couldn't finish due to oil. My meal was $28.50, totally overpriced. I had a glass of the house Cabernet... Tasted watered down. My boyfriend had one of the specials -- chicken with bruschetta and goat cheese. We were laughing because every time one of the staff walked by, we kept hearing what they were running out of ... Lobster, orange vodka... He said they must have run out of spices, too -- that his meal had no flavor -- and his meal was about $24-26. Overall, the best part of the stay pwas the proximity to the LI Sound. The setting and view are by far the very best this place has to offer -- but one caveat to even that -- the noise of the cars going back and forth outside the front windows drown out the lovely sound of the waves right outside our back windows -- even with the air conditioner on. If you can get past these type of things, then it's a great place to stay. We paid $225/night for two nights plus tax. We, on the other hand, would prefer to stay someplace else next time.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Karmascounting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Don't believe the gushing reviews supposedly written by other "guests". Our "deluxe" room did have a small Audiovox (i.e., cheap) flat screen TV, fridge, microwave and single-serve coffee maker that made coffee that tasted like light broth, but the furnishings were old and the bathroom was original from sometime in the 1950's -- no joke -- except to mis-match flesh-tone missing tiles with turd-colored ones and poorly repaint the sink and counter. Front desk is curt and robotic. It looks like the younger help is scared of the management. Annoying tip jars are everywhere.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pepe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenport
0.5 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
1.9 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
3.4 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Pridwin Hotel
The Pridwin Hotel
#3 of 5 in Shelter Island
241 reviews
2.5 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
73 reviews
8.3 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sound View Greenport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sound View Greenport

Address: 58775 Route 48, Greenport, NY 11944-2280 (Formerly Sound View Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Greenport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Greenport
Price Range: £144 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sound View Greenport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than 100 miles from New York City on the North Fork of Long Island, this idyllic property evokes the timeless spirit of a classic seaside resort. Its Norman Rockwell charm will conjure memories of blissful childhood summers in the sun, while its recently renovated spaces offer the comforts of modern life. Our guest rooms and suites offer the intimacy of a seafront cottage, with all the perks of a full-service hotel and every room opens directly onto a waterfront deck, with access to our private beach. The property is a short bike ride or drive from a variety of authentic North Fork experiences, including the village shops of historic Greenport, several award-winning vineyards, local farms offering freshly picked delights, and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Sound View Greenport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sound View Hotel Greenport
Sound View Greenport NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing