We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place. Needs Updating.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sound View Greenport
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Greenport
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Stayed here over Labor Day weekend. Overall a nice place to stay, though a little pricey for the room and amenities offered. Pool was basically unusable because the water was so cold. They should heat the pool. Also, they should fix running water for shower next to pool to wash the sand off your feet. Rooms are fine but in need of reno. New thicker towels for bathrooms.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shutsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

465 - 471 of 661 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2014

This motel needs a major overhaul. We relied on other trip advisor evaluations when we made this choice and were more than disappointed. The room was FILTHY! So much so that when we checked in and complained to the manager she send a cleaning crew into the room and it took them 2 hours to re-clean the room. Upon entering the room my 12 year old, once she realized that she was going to be sleeping on the dirty, stained, crumb infested couch, asked if she could sleep in the car. The furniture was stained and falling apart. The high quality particle board it was made of was water stained and pealing back in many places. The carpet has large stains on it and smelled like curdled milk, so much so that we had to Febreze the room to tolerate staying in it. The blankets on the beds were disgusting and pilling and very very old. We asked for extra sheets to cover outside of the couch and the blankets so they would not touch our bodies, The deck outside the back was rotting in many places. The noise from the cars and trucks zooming by was so loud that you felt cars were driving through the room. The pool is not heated, ever. If we were not there with another family we would have walked out. We booked 4 nights and after three we had had enough. They did give me money back for the first nights stay because of the conditions. The view is very pretty but not worth it. The tennis court was made out of plastic play ground material, the basketball courts has the hoops stuck at a level that only a three year old would enjoy. The beach, which in all fairness is not controllable by the hotel, is rocky, and the large size rocks are in the water and are covered with algae making swimming very unappealing. August is also Jelly Fish season, just something to take note of. Appalling overall. They should be ashamed!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank Joanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Located on an idyllic spot right on the Sound, the guests at the Sound View are treated to spectacular views of endless sky and water; magnificent sunsets; and the lush sound of waves lapping at the shore. Sounds like heaven, right? Well, yes... this part of the deal is definitely heaven, and why we stayed there. Plus we couldn't afford the $500+ rates in good hotels.

Unfortunately, beyond the splendid location, the Sound View is extremely disappointing: stained wall-to-wall carpeting; towels that look like rags; a filthy bathroom, with mildewed tiles and clogged drains; holes in doors. "Housekeeping" is a misnomer. It's one thing to be an "older property" and something else entirely to be run-down and dirty.

In the are-you-kidding category: rooms purportedly include a "refrigerator" -- which may look like one, but has a disclaimer taped to the door: "this unit is not a refrigerator." Huh? One is encouraged instead to get ice from the restaurant to keep one's snacks cold; doing so results in quizzical looks from the staff and a dozen ice cubes in a used grocery store plastic bag.

It's sad that the management of the Sound View doesn't run the facility commensurately with the magnificence of its location.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Leara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

We went for a wedding we drove by the place and said where only going to stay one night let's try it out!!! Rooms are very spacious and your right on your own little private beach!!! The next day we went to the Resturant and boy Ooohhh boy the food was phenomenal and the people very friendly. I absolutely fell in love with this place we sat by the water while we enjoyed our lunch fanatic is all I have to say!!! The only thing I would say as a down fault is the rooms are outdated but besides that great little getaway!!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Xinia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Great place to stay. Romantic and relaxing as it actually has an adults only area set away from the family rooms. Great views, strong AC, clean and neat, well equipped rooms with a clean private peaceful beach. Nice pool even though we chose to go into the Sound. Totally great way to end the summer in a romantic relaxing setting. Friendly and courteous staff = we will definitely stay again next year!

Room Tip: Couples = there is an adults only side! All rooms have great views. There is continental breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Frank Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

We booked 3 nights as a quick mini vacation and was not sure what to expect. Yes it is an older property, but it was well maintained. The property is right on the sound and the view is spectacular. The room was large and specious. We are looking forward to going back again in the fall

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kevin4232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Came to Greenport for the day and packed some clothes in case we were Able to get accommodations on short notice. They were so wonderful at the Soundview as they had one room left. Such a popular place, amazing view, we stayed in the apartment area and it was really perfect.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenport
0.5 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
1.9 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
3.4 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
254 reviews
2.5 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
73 reviews
18.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sound View Greenport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sound View Greenport

Address: 58775 Route 48, Greenport, NY 11944-2280 (Formerly Sound View Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Greenport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Greenport
Price Range: £152 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sound View Greenport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than 100 miles from New York City on the North Fork of Long Island, this idyllic property evokes the timeless spirit of a classic seaside resort. Its Norman Rockwell charm will conjure memories of blissful childhood summers in the sun, while its recently renovated spaces offer the comforts of modern life. Our guest rooms and suites offer the intimacy of a seafront cottage, with all the perks of a full-service hotel and every room opens directly onto a waterfront deck, with access to our private beach. The property is a short bike ride or drive from a variety of authentic North Fork experiences, including the village shops of historic Greenport, several award-winning vineyards, local farms offering freshly picked delights, and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sound View Greenport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sound View Hotel Greenport
Sound View Greenport NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing