We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite vacation spot in the world”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Greenville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunny Hill Resort and Golf Course
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2009

I just came back from my annual mecca to the Catskills and wanted to write this review as my way of saying thank you to Sunny Hill's owners and staff for a great time as always.

I have been going up to Sunny Hill since I was 10 years old (33 straight years). The most magical part of this vacation is that each year I am able to renew the friendships I have made over the years, since many families book their trips for the same week year after year. In fact my kids now can't wait to see their friends (they actually count the calendar days until Sunny Hill as my brothers and I used to do), who happen to be the children of my childhood Sunny Hill friends.

Aside from renewing lifelong friendships what makes the place truly special is their focus on the kids. There are numerous activities for kids of all ages (they have recently focused on teen activities which sometimes gets lost at other places). The nightly Just for Fun Rides- restored fire engines, army and monster trucks- is the daily highlight for my kids along with weekly activities like the rock climbing wall, the splash pad waterpark and the fishing contests.

I guess what makes me truly appreciate Sunny Hill (and what has spurred me to post my first vacation review ever) is that as life gets a little more complicated as each year advances it is nice to reconnect with a simpler time. Sunny Hill represents that simpler time (with all the amenities), with the focus on family and friends at the center of the experience.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VPB17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2009

The best family vacation! I've been going for ten years now every summer!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank princessegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

This is by far the best vacation! The kids, young and older, enjoy freedom to roam the Sunny Hill grounds and take part in so many varying activities for each age range. The adults get to enjoy allowing their children the freedom of the setting and the comraderie they enjoy with the other vacationing families. The Nicholsen family makes guests feel like family and like Sunny Hill is a "home away from home" (without the cooking, cleaning, and work!) There's so much to do, yet you don't have to do anything! From the wonderful meals, to the fun nightly activities... it's all wonderfully inclusive and relaxing!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mammaclancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

My family has been going to Sunny Hill for Generations. The family atmosphere, the wonderful service, the activities for the kids (rides, rock-climbing wall, pool, fishing, golfing) and the value you receive are exceptional. We stay for a week and sometimes we will even add a few days for a second trip because the kids love it. Sunny Hill is a place our kids count the days before they arrive - Friday night fireworks caps off a memorable week. We greatly appreciate all of the effort Gary, Wayne, Eric and the entire Nicolson Family have provided us - Go to Sunny

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marino132117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2009

This all inclusive resort is our most treasured time of the year. It is a family centered, warm, wholesome place to vacation. My husband and I have as much fun as the kids do. With activities all day long planned by their staff, day camp for the younger kids, and entertainment for all ages, we enjoy our time away as a family. The staff is incredibly kind and accomodating and the Nicholsons (the owners) make us feel like part of the family. We think about Sunny Hill all year long and miss it when we leave. It is our favorite place on earth.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmfmjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2009

Our kids say Sunny Hill is better than Disney World! It's where our memories are made year after year! We have 22 of us coming to join us every summer, and every minute is spent with smiles, love and laughter! The kids love the camp, the guys love the golf, and the ladies love walking, shopping at the jewelry/pocketbook show, and spending time together. From the meals, to the swimming, to the rides at night, and the evenings of dancing with your family and friends, it's all fantastic! This family run resort makes you feel like you are part of their family while you are there! It's our special place!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2009

Hello,I am putting another review on this resort. Plus besides all of the rides and stuff they also have A Scavenger Hunt,BINGO,kickball games,soccer games and much more too. there might not be too much things to do there but you just never get bord of it. I stay there for A week, and we go there for the 4 JULY. Thats it bye!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zackizkool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
23.6 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
12.2 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
303 reviews
12.2 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
174 reviews
3.3 mi away
Baumann's Brookside
Baumann's Brookside
#2 of 3 in Greenville
32 reviews
14.2 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Hill Resort and Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Hill Resort and Golf Course

Address: 352 Sunny Hill Rd, Greenville, NY 12083-4521
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Greenville
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Greenville
Price Range: £65 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunny Hill is a 600-acre, all-inclusive, family resort, set in the picturesque Great Northern Catskills. Many of our guests are friends and families who return year after year to commemorate a special tradition, celebrate an annual event or simply relax and unwind amid the splendor of nature. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunny Hill Resort And Golf Course Catskills Hotel Greenville
Sunny Hill Hotel Course Catskills
Sunny Hill Resort And Golf Course Greenville, NY - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing