We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth ...”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hague
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Trout House Village Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hague
Elizabeth, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth ...”
Reviewed 26 December 2011

I visited Trout House Village Resort on the off season hoping to find solitude, and I was not disappointed. I spent a relaxing Christmas weekend writing my novel and being inspired by nature’s beauty. The grounds are immaculate, the owners friendly and helpful, and the Adirondacks breathtaking. I highly recommend the Trout House Village. It’s become a favorite place of mine, and I intend to visit regularly.

Room Tip: Visit their Website. There are so many great rooms to choose from. Find the one that suits your need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nett R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    18
    0
    3
    3
See reviews for
36
59
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We just returned from a stay at the Trout House for 5 days & 4 nights the last week of October for a quick getaway, which was off-season. We were a bit concerned at first about finding places to go to eat, shop, etc; however, we quickly found many things to do in the area. We stayed in the Ethan Allen Patio and could not have been more pleased with the friendliness of the hosts and the cleanliness and location of the cabins. Check in went smoothly and at that time the host explained all of the things to do in the area, including restaurants and shops in the little towns surrounding the cabins. This was really helpful. Upon getting to the cabin...it was fully stocked with everything needed (including hairdryer, shampoo, soaps, fully equipped kitchen, towels, linens etc) so you really could just pack your clothing and arrive on their doorstep and be well taken-care of. The hosts have also prepared a very detailed book with the history of the resort, local hikes, fishing information, and restaurant information, which we absolutely loved. Also, the Trout House offers all kinds of other things to do for families besides boating, like a putt-putt course, half-court basketball, corn-hole, if you decide to hang out at the Trout House for a few days. We had planned to use Trout House as a base camp for exploring all of the things to do in the area; however, ended up spending one full day around the resort just relaxing and exploring all the things the resort had to offer.
OTHER INFORMATION about the area/things to do (To the south)--- We flew into Albany airport and drove to the resort. If you have time and are looking for a scenic route...take Route 9 North out of Albany (instead of I-87). Route 9 hugs I-87 the entire way but takes you through all of the small towns, like Saratoga Springs, Glens Falls, etc. Traveling via Route 9 takes about 2 1/2 hours to get to the resort and via I-87 is about 1 1/2 hours. Spend some time exploring Saratoga Spa State Park, which offers lots of hikes, spa services, golf and is the summer home to the NY Ballet so there is something year-round. Glens Falls has outlet malls, which would be a great way to spend a rainy day. Lake George is just about the last place to get gas on your way to the resort; however, don't bother with groceries in Lake George. Its about a 45 minute trip from Lake George to Trout House along Route 9N.
Other Information (to the north & west) & things to do---Ticonderoga is approximately a 10 minute drive to the east on Route 9N from Trout House and offers many family-owned restaurants, in addition to Wal-Mart for stocking up on basic munchies, drinks, etc. There is also a Meat Market in Ticonderoga on the main street for grilling purposes. Ticonderoga also has a nice public park with a waterfall and covered bridge, in addition to Fort Ticonderoga. Also, it is home to Mt. Defiance, which provides spectacular views of Fort Ticonderoga, Lake Champlain, and the Green Mountains of Vermont. You can drive it or walk the road (about a 30 minute walk). If you continue to follow Route 9N through Ticonderoga it will take you on some really scenic drives overlooking Lake Champlain. Also, about 20 minutes north of Ticonderoga there is an orchard and farmer's market supplying baked goods, candy, etc. There was literally a line out of the door when we arrived and the baked goods were phenomenal. If you continue to follow Route 9N it will eventually put you about 15 miles outside of Lake Placid. I would definitely recommend seeing Lake Placid as its a quaint village with a lot of stuff for kids. They have the 1932 & 1980 Olympic hockey arena with a hall of fame and guided tours...all for free. You can just wander on your on time through the complex which was nice. Also, we found the arena to be the hub of activity with information about things going on at the Olympic village & Whiteface mountain. We happened to be there on the weekend when they were running U.S. Team time trials for the skeleton and luge and were able to watch. There was not a large crowd and it was also free. I would definitely recommend as we, as adults, were impressed; therefore, I can only imagine that a kid would also be entertained. Also, in Lake Placid you should make a point to visit the Lake Placid Lodge, which is open to the public for free as well. We received this information from talking with an antiques dealer as he mentioned this was the place where he would go to relax and read a book. The Lodge contains a private art collection and a bar that serves decent food. You should also ask for a private tour of the wine cellar, which boasts a wine list over 30 pages long. Its definitely worth while. Overall its a good place to explore and relax.
Things you should not miss---Saratoga Spa State Park, Mt. Defiance, the park in Ticonderoga, the farmer's market/orchard north of Ticonderoga, Fort Ticonderoga, Lake Placid hockey arenas, Lake Placid Lodge, and of course...relaxation on the water at Trout House.

Room Tip: A few of the cabins are split to offer more units (Ethan Allen Patio (bottom floor) & Ethan Alle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Bree9107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We were just at Trout House this last weekend for our one year wedding anniversary and it could not have been more beautiful and peaceful. What an amazing and secluded way to capture all of the romance you need. We stayed in the Eagles Nest cabin and it was so rustic, clean and picturesque we still can't believe we got to stay there. The bed is warm and comfortable, the showers and tubs are roomy and clean, and the balcony's view is not to be missed.
We took a small rowboat onto the lake and took more pictures from there! I couldn't believe all of the boats they had for their guests to use. The beach is small but exactly what you expect from a lakeside beach. It was cold this last weekend but for us that only added to the beauty. The outlying area is just as breathtaking, and every sight was incredible.

The cabin itself was very spacious for a couple, we would definitely be comfortable bringing another couple along and splitting the top and bottom floors. The kitchen was very workable with the bar seating (although the knives could be sharpened or replaced) - we cooked every single meal from scratch so we made a lot of use from the kitchen.

The fire place is perfect, and makes the cabin even cozier than before. We had a fire going the entire time. The property has a lot of buildings on it but it was so quiet and peaceful it is like you are entirely alone. We heard no other noise at all from other guests at all.

We will DEFINITELY be back - although maybe a TINY bit earlier in the season. I am still smiling!

Room Tip: Call the resort directly about availability - the website might not be updated - we got different in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldwinsville, New York
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in October 2011 as family trip to enjoy the fall leaves. We had a terrific time.

Trout House is located right on Lake George with a beautiful view of the lake. We stayed in the Ethan Allen Log cabin. The cabin was kept up very well with some nice renovations. We loved the large balcony overlooking the lake as well as the wood burning fireplace. Some of the nice amenities of the log cabin include the following:

Two stories with 2 bedrooms
Kitchen
Two tvs
Grill
Wood for fireplace

Trout House Village also offers non motorized boats such as kayaks, paddle boats, canoes, and row boats. There is a swimming area and beach as well as numerous outdoors games like badminton and horseshoes. The property also has hiking trails and bikes for your enjoyment.

We can't wait to visit again. The staff is very helpful to ensure you enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mallori24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in early October. First off, it is very important to read over/review the different accommodation options which range from smaller and simple efficiencies, to cottages to upscale chalets. Our primary goal was having a place all to ourselves (with no other guests on a floor above or below us) and for this reason we picked a cottage (Hill House). The Hill House was amazing. The views from the 2 balconies and pretty much any window within the cottage was fantastic. The Hill House recently had major renovations done and you could tell throughout the interior of the cottage. Cozy living room, upscale kitchen with all you need for cooking and eating in. On the upper level of the cottage were 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms along with a washer/dryer set up in the one bedroom. The master bathroom had a large jacuzzi tub that overlooked the lake. We loved the Hill House and would totally choose it again. The cottage was overall very clean, and the only recommendation we can make is for them to possibly invest in a swiffer vacuum sweeper (instead of using the old-school straw broom) for the hardwood floors as we noticed a little more dirt and crumbs than we'd expect. Overall, not a huge deal but we thought it was worth noting.

The grounds of the resort were beautiful and clean. There was so much to do....hiking, shuffleboard, putt-putt, biking, basketball, badminton, volleyball. Gas BBQ's are also provided for free. One the lakeside part of the property, there was plenty of other stuff to keep you busy ranging for paddleboats to rowboats to a clean beach to relax/play on....so many other things too! You have to check our their website to see it all, its amazing. The lake itself was crystal clear. We were very impressed.

As for the local area, it should be noted that there is not much within about 10 minutes of the resort. The town of Hague (within easy walking distance) has very little going on, and during the offseason, pretty much any restaurant (there are only 2 or 3) is closed much, if not all week. Also, the general store/market in town was sold and vacant as of early Oct. 2011. Hopefully something similar moves back for the town residents and resort visitors. Otherwise, up in Ticonderoga (10-15 minutes north of the resort) there is a Walmart with all the food and necessities you need. We stopped there before our inital check-in and never had to go out in search of food or supplies thereafter.

Anyway, this is definetely a place we'd recommend to anyone and hope to visit again sometime soon. I'd place it easily in one of the top 5 places we've ever stayed in terms of overall satisfaction.

Room Tip: Check out their website or call them to be get the perfect room for you and your family. Lodging typ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pars1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
08831
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We planned our family vacation at The Trout House Village Resort for the week of August 20th-27th. We traveled with a family of five with children 4, 13, and 15. I have been staying on Lake George for more than 25 years staying everywhere from the East Shore to multiple stays at The Sagamore. The service from our first contact with Nat to our checkout was warm, friendly and attentive. We stayed in the Eagle's Nest. The Eagle's Nest is a beautiful, well appointed traditional log cabin with amenities just not found on the lake. The view of the lake from our balcony was inspiring. Inside the cabin were all the modern amenities you could want and then some. There were flat screen televisions everywhere including the master bathroom. The kitchen had every modern convenience you could hope for and plenty of room to cook, eat, and serve a family of five. We had our own Weber gas grill, Jacuzzi tubs and plenty of comfortable sleeping options. The location of the resort is well north of all of Lake George Village in the quaint family town of Hague.
The upside of staying this far north is that you are away from the touristy area of Lake George Village and close to Ticonderoga, Lake Champlain, and Vermont. The Patchett family takes a lot of pride in their property and goes out of their way to make you feel like family.
Alice Patchett was a great host as was the entire staff of the resort. They just couldn't do enough to make you feel at home. By the end of our first day, we realized that we found something really special and knew immediately that we would return next summer. We are already counting the days.

Room Tip: Inquire about availability as early as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Thomas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

The Trout House cottages are well equipped, accommodating and very comfy. The bed was plush, the kitchen is ready to cook all your meals and they even provide grills (both charcoal and gas). It's very clear that they have been running a resort for a long time. It is all very well thought out to accommodate guests.

They offer quite a few amenities: bicycles, boats, water toys etc. However you should note; THE LAKE IS ACROSS THE STREET. A road runs in between the cottages and the lake. The main road. It wasn't a big deal for us at all, but it's certainly not depicted online with the road. If you have children, I would think this to be a concern.

The surrounding towns offer up a slew of outings and shopping options. You can get it all from Wal-mart to the tourist bricka brack. Same with food options.

Lake George is incredibly beautiful and the Trout House Village is a nice place to stay.



The family/staff are pleasant and helpful when asked upon.

The surrounding towns offer a slew of outings

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank budahhfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hague
8.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
16.6 mi away
Bonnie View on Lake George
Bonnie View on Lake George
#2 of 8 in Bolton Landing
223 reviews
15.3 mi away
The Sagamore Resort
The Sagamore Resort
#1 of 8 in Bolton Landing
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Stone House Motel
The Stone House Motel
#4 of 6 in Ticonderoga
33 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ruah Bed & Breakfast
Ruah Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Hague
36 reviews
8.2 mi away
Super 8 Ticonderoga
Super 8 Ticonderoga
#2 of 6 in Ticonderoga
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trout House Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trout House Village Resort

Property: Trout House Village Resort
Address: 9117 Lakeshore Drive, Hague, NY 12836
Region: United States > New York > Hague
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trout House is located on the peaceful shores of northern Lake George, and has been a popular summer destination for generations of families. The sleepy village of Hague is surrounded by the lake's majestic Adirondack Mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trout House Village Hotel Hague
Trout Hotel Village
Trout Resort Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing