We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, beautiful location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hague
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Trout House Village Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hague
New York City, New York
1 review
“Great place, beautiful location”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My girlfriend and I spent last Christmas at the Trout House Village in a nice and cozy cabin. We were happy with the place, location (with a gorgeous lake view) and the staff, very friendly and helpful whenever we needed their help and/or assistance. The cabin was impeccable and had everything we needed and expected (including a fully functional fireplace). Hague is also close enough to Gore Mountain, where we went skiing. I highly recommend this trip in winter time if you're looking for a calm getaway destination.

Room Tip: We stayed at Montcalm Patio, ground level.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Leandro V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    18
    0
    3
    3
See reviews for
35
59
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Trout House Village in the "Lord Howe" cabin this past weekend. We were looking for somewhere far away from the city where we can go relax with our dogs, (we have 2 pit bull mix terriers) maybe do a little fishing, and just relax. We hadn't really looked online for photos or anything because we booked so last minute, so we were SHOCKED when we walked in and saw how beautiful it was. The cabins sit right on the lake, we walked into a huge eat-in kitchen with every cooking amenity you can image, more than I have in my own kitchen at home. A big beautiful living room with a huge flat screen tv and DVD player, beautiful wood burning fireplace with plenty of firewood outside(they even built us our first fire among arrival) a private deck overlooking the lake, a second floor with 2 bedrooms, 2 beds in each room.Our bed was so comfy I didn't want to leave. The staff was so friendly and accommodating, when we inquired about renting fishing equipment they just handed us theirs, poles, bait and tackle at no charge. I will definitely be back. Looks like it would be the go to place in the summer. I noticed a BBQ outside every cabin, a small mini golf course, volleyball net and even a game of corn hole! Absolutely amazing and peaceful, at a very fair price. Thank You Guys very much!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland Park, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This is at the North end of Lake George in the town of Hague. Stayed with my brothers last week for the 2nd time. Rented the Montcalm lodge. Certainly not a 4 seasons, but a nice rustic, knotty pined interior with moose and woodsy bedspreads. Great kayaks and boats , Close to several hiking trails. Great fishing. Plenty of wood for the fireplace From this location we had a majestic view of the lake & surrounding mountains. Very friendly staff, family owned. I am already booked for next year.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank drj0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed at the Trout House in 10/2013. We were very disappointed. The inside of the cabin was very old. The fireplace didn't work - entire cabin filled with smoke each time you lit the fire. Required opening windows and door (sort of defeating the purpose). It looked like the fireplace need a good cleaning. The cabin we stayed in smelled like a mouse had died (or more like a family of mice had died) we again had to keep all the windows open. We even found a mouse trap one of the closets. The beds were terrible. This place definitely needs an upgrade, and they should know better than put guests in a cabin that smells like a dead animal. VERY disappointed and would not recommend.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Paul Revere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TroutHouse, General Manager at Trout House Village Resort, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
WOW, we at the Trout House are not used to receiving such a poor review, and we are shocked and disappointed to see these comments! The Paul Revere is an exceptional cabin! Most of our guests say the web-site pictures do not do our accommodations justice. Specifically, new wall to wall carpet was installed in Paul Revere in October 2012. Over this past winter,the Paul Revere received a brand new upgrade to the Jacuzzi jet tub bathroom and tiled floors were installed in the bathroom, kitchen and bar. There are now large HD flat screen tv's in the living and bedroom,that are not shown in the website pictures- now 2 years old.
We purchase only top quality beds and most guests comment that they have never slept better! We pride ourselves on providing dry, split firewood and kindling that is seasoned for 2 years. Since many of our guests have little experience with fireplaces, we even build the first fire for them! Guests are instructed to keep the glass doors closed and put one log in at a time. If the glass doors remain open and too much wood is piled on the fire in an attempt to keep it going, the fireplace may smoke and smolder.
Our housekeepers inspect the cabins before each check-in and provide maid service daily. If there are any issues, they are instructed to notify the office. Finally, we instruct our guests to: "Please notify the office of any problems that may arise, so we can resolve the issue promptly." We are committed to ensure that all our guests have a pleasant experience at the Trout House. Unfortunately, we can not address an issue if we are not informed of the problem.
Alice Patchett, General Manager and Innkeeper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williston Park, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Views are magnificent! Our cottage was very comfortable and had everything to make our stay same! All the Staff were so helpful and quite pleasant! I have always wanted to stay here and so glad that I finally did! Will most certainly be back! Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Their web site shows pictures and descriptions quite accurate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed at the Trout House from Wednesday, Sept. 10 thru Sunday, Sept. 14. Our first visit to the Lake George region. After reading reviews on the trip advisor we decided on the Trout House and I'm so glad we did. What an absolute wonderful establishment. Friendly staff at the time of check in and check out. The gentlemen at the time of check in took the time to tell us about the area and the lodging itself, sorry I do not remember his name. We stayed in the General Burgoyne cabin which is above the Jefferson retreat. Woods surround the one side of the cabin so there is only cabins on one side. What a spectacular view of the lake. We walked into the cabin and my first thought was how clean it was and how spacious. It is everything and more of how it is described on there website. All the appliances are up to date. There is a flat screen TV in both the bedroom and sitting area. A two sided wood fireplace which we did use on the last night we were there. Note: bring paper towels and tissues, other then that everything is there for you. We ate at the Wagon Wheel and Sentinel Grille located in Tigonderoga about 8 miles north. Both very good eating establishments. We took the trip down the mountain to Lake George Village about 40 minutes south. Spent the day there took the 2-1/2 hour Mohican boat tour of Lake George. Ate at Porreca's Restaurant for dinner. They are an authetic Italian restaurant homemade pasta, well worth the money. Bolton Landing is halfway between Lake George and Hague. Cute little town with shops and restaurants. Looking forward to staying again at this wonderful lodging.

Room Tip: Upper cabins have a better view of the lake. General Burgoyne is secluded with woods on one side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clpiascik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Just got back from our first 4 night family vacation at the Trout House.

I found out about this hidden gem on my drive up to Burlington for business. (I live in Long Island, NY). Drove right by it and wrote it down on a scrap piece of paper....glad I did. Once I found out it was dog friendly outside of summer it looked like the perfect place to bring the entire family for our first true family vacation.

The Paul Revere cabin was exactly as advertised on the website, maybe even better, since it had flatscreens (the website had older looking TVs). Very comfortable, we even loved the way the sound the screen door made when it closed.

Views, cabin, games and activities at the resort, etc are unbeatable. One morning I took the kayak for a ride to the other side of the lake and back. Each way was about 1.5 miles. When I got out to the middle of the lake I looked around and the views were even more breath-taking. My 360 degree view was beautiful lake water and in the far distance rolling green mountains as far as the eye can see in the background.

The town of Hague, "downtown" is just a 5 minute walk from resort, is beautifully country and super small, nothing in town more than a quaint market but for a family of ours who work in Midtown Manhattan, it was exactly what we were looking for. Walking our dogs in town would always turn into nice conversations with the locals. After the 2nd day you would bump into the same people on the street or in the market and expand on your conversations from the prior day. It was a great vacation.

Only minor drawback was that if we want to bring the dogs back it could not be in the summer months. Although they are one of the few dog friendly places that we found.

It was no surprise when I learned that most people who visit Trout House, especially in the summer, leave their deposit for next year before going home.

On the drive home we were already speaking to my sister about a joint family vacation next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobertB1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hague
8.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
24.8 mi away
The Alpine Lodge
The Alpine Lodge
#2 of 4 in North Creek
126 reviews
24.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#4 of 88 in Lake George
113 reviews
15.3 mi away
The Sagamore Resort
The Sagamore Resort
#2 of 8 in Bolton Landing
1,537 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Stone House Motel
The Stone House Motel
#4 of 6 in Ticonderoga
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trout House Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trout House Village Resort

Property: Trout House Village Resort
Address: 9117 Lakeshore Drive, Hague, NY 12836
Region: United States > New York > Hague
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trout House is located on the peaceful shores of northern Lake George, and has been a popular summer destination for generations of families. The sleepy village of Hague is surrounded by the lake's majestic Adirondack Mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trout House Village Hotel Hague
Trout Hotel Village
Trout Resort Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing