We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hague
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Trout House Village Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hague
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very pleased”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This was our first time of staying at the Trout House. We stayed a week in August of 2014 at the IP cottage. I have read other reviews and must say that we were 100% pleased with the staff, cleaning people, the information presented and what we actually saw and got. We picked the Trout House because of being open year round. I figured that they had their act together and they certainly do. Our cottage was immaculate. We were provided with even a full sized refrigerator. It appeared to us that the staff has thought of everything. We also picked the Trout House because we would have free access to their beach and free use of their kayaks, etc. We indeed had kayaks whenever we wanted, the beach sand was raked daily. We used the shuffle board and ping pong table during our stay and played on the nine hole mini golf. All the equipment is provided, in nice condition and easily accessable and available. As far as someone complaining about coffee, if you don't use the coffee pot provided in your room, you can walk or drive to the Hague market of which we did some mornings to get breakfast sandwiches and coffee. The nearby Firehouse Restaurant also in Hague, again within walking distance, has wonderful meals. We will return to this wonderful Resort!

There is nothing negative I can say and we will definitely go back another year.

Room Tip: Read through the detailed info. provided to pick your cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    18
    0
    3
    3
See reviews for
35
59
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This is an old, somewhat Victorian style sprawling house with an old fashioned kitchen, worn but comfortable living-room furniture & a myriad of rooms that are now sleeping quarters. Some bedrooms have private baths, other share. It gives you the feeling of vacationing (or living) in the 1940's. There are TVs & some other amenities, however. it is very family oriented. There is a beach available across the highway and a dock where patrons can anchor their rented or private boats. Lake George is known for it's fishing and other water activities. Nice place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patsy07_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colts Neck, New Jersey
Level Contributor
284 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Can't say enough good things about the family run resort on the shires of Lake a George. We opted to stay an the "island View " house for a week with our children, their spouses and our three grand daughters. From the minute we arrived we were made to feel at home. Since the house is located on a hill above the resort, the owner Scott actually led us directly to the front door.

The house was impeccable! Everything was "just as advertised". The crib and high chair were there as requested etc.

The beach was clean and kid friendly. There were kayaks, paddle boats, paddle boards, row boats, a sun fish all available and at no extra charge! When was the last time anyone experienced that ? Kudos to Scott, Alice and the staff for providing a great experience fir our family.

Room Tip: Can't speak about rooms since we stated in a house. The Island House's location provides co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjflan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband Bob and I went to Fort Ticonderoga as we are both history buffs. We stayed at the Trout House Village Resort. Our room was in the main house and we had a private bath. The view from the Trout House is exquisite. We had a blast paddle boating to a little island 1/2 mile off shore, kayaking, playing shuffle board etc. The only issue for me was the lack of coffee/refreshments. The closest restaurant was a 15 minute drive.

Besides the Fort and the resort amenities, we went to Schroon Lake to look for the summer camp I had stayed as child (long gone).Generally, all the people we met were friendly. I look forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

On a business trip, associates and I decided to stay at the trout house in the Island View Lodge. It was an extravagent alternative to a hotel room. I could not have asked for better amenities than was provided. At nearly half the price of the nearby Best Western. I was later forced to stay at the Best Western for $150 a night when scheduling conflicts arose. I would recommend any traveler to stay at the trout house over any of the local hotel(s).

Room Tip: Get the island view lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We came across Tout House while boating in northern Lake George. I saw it from the lake and it looked so nice I was determined to find it for our next visit. Upon looking at the website, we fell in love with the cabins and the fact we could have our teacup yorkie stay too! We booked the Iroquois log cabin for a family vacation in June and December, 2013 and have now found our home away from home! The Iroquois has a beautiful layout, a full kitchen,a stone fireplace, a great porch overlooking the lake and 2 Jacuzzi tubs in the 2 full bathrooms! In the winter, the floors are heated and there is wood already cut to keep the fireplace burning although the heat is plenty!
The private beach provides kayaks, rowboats and lounge chairs. Included are bikes, snowshoes, ping-pong and basketball and more! Everything is just perfect for any excuse to getaway! We hope to return again this year for more R&R. Just book it!

Room Tip: Just tell them what you need and like, they will advise you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Had a nice time at the trout house . The cabin is "cozy" there is a small living room with a gas fireplace and a nice small room in the front with a hot tub that is big enough for one person. The small deck/ porch in the front of the cabin has a lake view ( from across 9n) and a deceptively comfortable rocking chair. The kitchen is a nice size with fairly new appliances and opens up into a small covered deck in back with an outdoor refrigerator and a portable BBQ. There are three small bedrooms upstairs with a nice size bathroom. All in all the cabin was clean and comfortable . I have been going to Lake George my whole life and am familiar with the local " dialect" and am not expecting a concierge at the front desk ... that being said the ownership could have been more attentive to the very few questions we asked about the lake in the "off-season" and the maid did not clean the cabin one day because it interfered with her lunch. :) that said I would return

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ntirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hague
8.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
24.8 mi away
The Alpine Lodge
The Alpine Lodge
#2 of 4 in North Creek
126 reviews
24.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
The Sagamore Resort
The Sagamore Resort
#1 of 8 in Bolton Landing
1,535 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Stone House Motel
The Stone House Motel
#5 of 6 in Ticonderoga
24 reviews
8.2 mi away
Super 8 Ticonderoga
Super 8 Ticonderoga
#2 of 6 in Ticonderoga
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trout House Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trout House Village Resort

Property: Trout House Village Resort
Address: 9117 Lakeshore Drive, Hague, NY 12836
Region: United States > New York > Hague
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trout House is located on the peaceful shores of northern Lake George, and has been a popular summer destination for generations of families. The sleepy village of Hague is surrounded by the lake's majestic Adirondack Mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trout House Village Hotel Hague
Trout Hotel Village
Trout Resort Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing