We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this campground!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haines Falls
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
North-South Lake Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love this campground!”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Had another great stay in loop 4. We were at site 100- all woods behind us with those wonderful big rocks for the kids to climb on. Sites are spacious with a nice wooded buffer in between. Saturday night was pretty noisy after quiet hours, but with family noises not drunk party-ers. It was all quiet by 11:30 and the loop pretty much emptied out by Sunday. Loops by the lake seemed to stay pretty full. We took some nice hikes - artists rock and sunset rock are moderate hikes with great views, pretty rocky but doable for younger kids. Ashley falls was ver nice too. The hike to the top of kaaterskill falls is short and easy but there is no longer a trail to the bottom - too dangerous. You have to drive back out of the campground to 23a and park, then walk along the road to get to the trail. The bottom can get a bit congested but it's still beautiful. Wildlife a-plenty- deer, beaver, chipmunks, and yes, a bear. Husband saw one as we climbed up the hill behind our campsite and then that same day one (may be the same one ) came through the campground and tore apart a cooler left unattended on a campsite (even though you sign a form when you register that says you WILL NOT leave any food or anything that came in contact with food on your site!). It didn't pay the slightest bit of attention to anyone and ran off when the ranger came by and we didn't see it again (thank goodness!). We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    32
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
44
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I absolutely loved these campsites. Every one was private (that we drove by) and surrounded by woods. Our site was 31 and only had neighbors on one side and woods along the back and side, close to the restrooms and water. The hiking trails had amazing views. We brought our dog along (his first camping trip) and it was very dog friendly except for the area near the lake. We couldn't get near the water with a dog which was very disappointing. We made up for it by driving to another lake a few miles away that had a lot less people and was very peaceful and dog friendly. After all the reviews about bears, i admit I was nervous but no sightings for the entire four days.

I would come back again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Julesr006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catskill, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

First of all let me be clear that I am reviewing North South Lake as a park and not the camping experience as my family and I have only been there during the day. A day pass is $8. The park has 2 clean beaches, one adjacent to the campsite side of the lake and one less busy beach (South beach) which many people who are visiting for just the day may opt for, but either are nice. In my experience south Beach is relaxing, with fewer people. My kids, (5 & 7) love the water and ability to play with sand toys (no flotation devices allowed). There are also a few hiking trails on the North side of the lake that can take you to the old Catskill Mountain house site. Beautiful view but be careful, especially with children, as there are no barriers between the top and a fall to the bottom. There are also several letterboxes hidden along trails at the park, a few of them very easy for children to follow directions for and find. You can rent canoes or rowboats and fish in several areas of the lake as well. As for the camp sites, you will have to look to another reviewer for the camping experience but I can say that they are very wooded, which seems nice. There is also a playground near the North beach (camping area) for kids. This DEC run park is also part of the Hudson River School artists trail so if you are into painting or history you can read up on some of the places in the park where the likes of Thomas Cole or Frederick Church found inspiration. This is a beautiful site and one can easily spend the whole day with the family with picnicing, fishing, swimming, hiking and so forth. I don't believe you can buy food there so bring your own.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Catskillfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We drove 14hrs from Canada and got to the park at 9:31 pm. The friendly girl (not) at the office would not allow us to set up camp as the park time is 9pm so make sure you arrive on time, they do not care what the reason was! After another hour drive to a hotel and then back again in the morning the site we had was very nice with good privacy. Site 117 loop 7. Close to bathroom if you have little ones and the dish washing area.

We stayed Mon July-16-22, well tues I guess. Here is my rant about this park.....after not being allowed in Monday night the staff allowed a man to enter at 9:21pm on Wed night so I was angry we spent 100 on a hotel and he didn't have to. Also Tues night we bought wood at 9:15pm and Wed night they would not sell it to us at 9:10pm so I guess if your a male they give you special allowances than they do the females. I know the policy said no entry after 9 so make it for everyone!!

There are bears, we saw them everyday. They come down when you are cooking morning, noon and night. They run off and they didn't bother us. Some people leave thier food and garbage out and the park staff clearly tell you not to!! People need to realize feeding them will only make it worse!

The beaches were clean, life guards and there is boat rentals to so that was nice. The trails are marked and we felt safe on them. I never saw a bear on a trail but brought bear bell just in case. The trails are a good workout up the mountains but all the views were well worth it.

My cell phone worked in my loop, if you want it.

All in all it was a good trip and very beautiful there, I just wish the staff at the front was nice, even a little bit!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed 3 nights in early July, and it was a great experience. South Lake beach is perfect for little kids. The water is shallow, so the kids have a wide expanse of beach that is suitable for those who do not yet swim, and those who are not confident in their swimming yet. We did not use the beach at North Lake because we all loved going to South Lake each day. We saw one bear within 5 minutes of arriving at our site. We did not see a bear again. We were scrupulous about keeping all food and food prep items in our car when we were not eating. We also made sure not to sleep in the clothes we ate in. We took along a loud bike horn just in case we needed to scare away a bear, but thankfully we did not have to use it. The staff at the front gate will tell you exactly what you need to do to keep bears out of your site. If you can get used to the idea of dealing with bears looking for food, and you are willing to take extra precautions to keep your site uninteresting for bears, this is really a terrific place to camp. We saw deer, wild turkeys, raccoons and hawks. It is an easy drive from NYC, and there are beautiful hikes in the campground park, and immediately adjacent.

Room Tip: Generally speaking, the sites on the outside of the loops seemed further apart than the sites on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WaHiMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tappan, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

This place was a great weekend get away. No cell service was defiantly a plus.. The staff was nice and helpful except after 10pm.. They are SERIOUS about their quiet hours..the walking path was cool got to see and the boat rentals were reasonably prices.. we stayed at site 130 in loop 5. it was decent size - enough for 2 nice sized tents and a pop up tent to sit under.. the fireplaces on site are nice and the country store isnt too far away if u forgot anything. You do have to be serious about your garbage and coolers so the bears dont get into it..over all a nice place and cant wait to get back..

Tip.. Buy the wood on site.. its a nicer bundle then anyplace else. A lot more wood!

Room Tip: The sites on the water are small and dont be near the bathroom you can hear the hand blowers ALL nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Shore, NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

This is a great place and my review is years overdue. We have been camping here for years and we always look forward to our return camping trip here. The staff is always friendly warm and helpful and if you smile and joke back their smile will make your day! The sites have always been clean, showers clean, always hot water for bathing AND washing dishes- which is AWESOME! 99% of your fellow campers are courteous and friendly and when its quiet time it's really quiet :). This is a great place to camp yet have most of the modern luxuries for when you dont want to rough it-a flushing toilet and hot water without boiling it are camping luxuries to me. Friendly chipmunks and deer say hi when your by the campfire.
Great camping for:
first timers
small children/families
groups
handicap
easy camping with luxuries

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AquaBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haines Falls
4.2 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
16.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Villa Vosilla
Villa Vosilla
#1 of 6 in Hunter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Mountain Brook
Hotel Mountain Brook
#2 of 5 in Tannersville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
7.1 mi away
Fairlawn Inn
Fairlawn Inn
#1 of 4 in Hunter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North-South Lake Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North-South Lake Campground

Property: North-South Lake Campground
Address: County Route 18, Haines Falls, NY 12436
Region: United States > New York > Haines Falls
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Haines Falls
Number of rooms: 219
Also Known As:
North-South Lake Campground Hotel Haines Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing