We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced & Not Recommended”
Review of The Twilight Lodge

The Twilight Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Twilight Lodge
Hicksville, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overpriced & Not Recommended”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Upon finding the lodge, it took my boyfriend and I about 20 minutes until we could locate someone to show us to our room. The doors to the lodge were all locked and we walked back to the apartment behind it and knocked and rang the door bell, until one of the lodge employees answered and walked us back. Greg (?) never asked us for identification or confirmation of our room. The rooms are much smaller than what the pictures online may have you believe. The so called "perfect" wifi never worked once for us, and we tried using it up and down the hallway, and in the lobby. There was dust on every shelf and counter in our room and the hallway smelled musty and just looked very unappealing. The bathroom was a whole other story, considering it is "shared" and in VERY poor condition. For the price we paid for a one night stay, I would NOT recommend this location to anyone looking for comfort and good customer service. The next morning we left earlier than planned and could not find anyone to check out with. The trails, hiking and waterfalls nearby made up for it, but we will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MariannaHenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    2
    4
    4
    5
See reviews for
1
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Stayed here during aski trip to Hunter. This B&B is a short drive from the town and ski area but nice and quiet at night. The rooms were clean and well decorated, though small, but serve their purpose very well. We were upgraded to the suite which has it's own bathroom free of charge. The bed was very comfortable. The building is old and quaint and very cosy. Breakfast was excellent with a good selection of pastries, fresh fruit with dipping sauce, cereal, juice and coffee. I couldn't have been happier with the Twilight Lodge and will definitely stay here on return trips.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KKTSkiing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We spent the weekend with my wife in this cosy twilight motel. It was a good experience! Clean, very nice staff, and the new WiFi system is very fast and accessible from anywhere in the motel! They have a new hair dryer in all bathrooms! Room has a flat screen TV! As a plus was that the rooms are equipped with a clock radio, charger is compatible with iPhone's!
Highly recommend to everyone! We are spent a very nice weekend here!
The breakfast was very tasty and hearty, you should try the pancakes, delicious!
Special thanks to the two very nice and friendly staff, Mark & Gergo!

Room Tip: All rooms are cosy and Its feels like we're in Twilight!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Island
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Confirmed late check in but there was no one around to check us in; had to hike the property in the dark with a flashlight to find someone. Were let in with no verfication of names or identification. Hall smelled very musty and property looked like a youth hostel from the 1970s. 2 bedroom 'suite' crawling with spiders; dead bugs in all the light fixtures. Bathroom fan furry with dust. ONE chair (ripped upholstery) for 4 people. WiFi and a hair dryer were advertised but not provided. Calls to innkeeper were not answered. Breakfast was late and we were not served at the same time. One waffle, 3 omelets (one not made as ordered), cold bread. No meat, butter, jam, salt, or pepper. I have stayed at dozens of bed & breakfasts, and this was my first bad experience.

Room Tip: Choose one somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Haines Falls hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haines Falls
4.9 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hunter Inn
Hunter Inn
#5 of 6 in Hunter
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Riedlbauer's Resort
Riedlbauer's Resort
#3 of 4 in Round Top
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
2.7 mi away
Villa Vosilla
Villa Vosilla
#1 of 6 in Hunter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
6.2 mi away
B&B Lounge of Catskill
B&B Lounge of Catskill
#3 of 9 in Catskill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twilight Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twilight Lodge

Property: The Twilight Lodge
Address: Route 23A, 5085 Main Street, Haines Falls, NY 12436
Region: United States > New York > Haines Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Haines Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Twilight Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful mountaintop hamlet of Haines Falls, The Twilight Lodge provides the perfect setting to unwind while experiencing all that the Catskill Mountains have to offer. We are a mere 10 minutes from the slopes of Hunter Mountain, 25 minutes to Windham Mountain, 30 minutes to the arts and culture of Woodstock and surrounded by first-rate hiking, camping, dining and more. Come stay the night in one of 7 beautiful rooms furnished and decorated with one-of-a-kind pieces collected from around the world and wake up to a full breakfast in our beautiful dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Twilight Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing