We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hike”
Review of Kaaterskill Falls

Kaaterskill Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brewster ny
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A great hike”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Beautiful hike with spectacular views. I would say most fairly active people could hike to the first tier. Climbing to the second (which is not advised) REALLY makes the hike worth it. Just be careful. You'll love it

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hd14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    40
    7
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous falls”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Scenery, walking up through the woods by the falls. Should have had more sensible shoes on, but we still made it OK. It would have been wonderful if there was somewhere nearby to get a drink from. Also, we only knew where to find it because the guy at our lodgings gave us very specific directions. It might be helpful to have something more on the road or before you get there. We may have missed it, but I guess so might others. So glad that we found this little treasure.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ElaineMH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great family fun @ Kaaterskill Falls”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Kaaterskill Falls is a great place to visit with family or friends. I personally went with family and considering my parents aren't the youngest of folks we went up to the end of the trails and the lower basin. I would not recommend any further as it is VERY steep following this point. (If I were with friends and with better footwear I would highly consider it)

As stated on the other posts parking is a real pain!! There are 2 small lots by the falls, but they fill up quickly. There does seem to be lots of movement so a spot does open up on occasion. Be careful if you park in other locations (eg. side of the road) as I saw local police give LOTS of tickets. If it says no parking, DO NOT park there, you will be ticketed.

After the falls we also went to North-South Lake which was great as well. The view from the look out point was AMAZING and would HIGHLY recommend it.

Enjoy!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“beautiful falls and adventurous hiking”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The falls are beautiful. Its moderate 2 miles hike. You can get wet under the falls. Its good adventure for teens. during our visit, it rained before our visit so was a little difficult to hike but not bad....just wet terrain. Its advisable to follow rules and not go to the top of falls since the area is prone to erosion. The hike up to the bottom of the falls is good enough, splendid to get wet under the magnificient falls. The walk to the start of the hike is through the major highway so be careful. We visited on tuesday in july and we were not hiking alone which is nice.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aprel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napanoch, NY
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Falls”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Not too far from parking. need safe hiking boots as terrain is wet , cool and rocky but worth the small hike to get there. Not for anyone with walking issues as it can be treacherous. Hiking staff is very helpful. Falls are spectacular. Went in June when water was plentiful.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 935Kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kaaterskill Falls also viewed

 

Been to Kaaterskill Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing