We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The devil is in the details”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haines Falls
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rosehaven Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Haines Falls B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The devil is in the details”
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Rosehaven is picturesque located, gorgeous B&B, but not without its flaws. Its location is charming, but secluded – within 2.5 miles from downtown Tannersville - in severe, snowy condition you will not manage without a 4x4.
The B&B itself is absolutely beautiful, from huge wraparound porch to the charmingly decorated dining and living rooms. The place was exquisitely clean. The guestroom was as described on the web page – romantic - with functional fireplace and comfy bed.
So, why not A+? Because of minor things, which combined are able to distinguish truly excellent establishment from this: very good one.
First, the breakfast – it was good, nicely served but nothing exceptional. For me and my husband, staying in B&B is about BREAKFAST - its scrumptious taste and unique experience. Here, one might be disappointed, that there was no second round of juice offered nor was juice jar left on the dining table.
Second, the fireplaces – why all of the fireplaces were of the gas variety? I understand the safety issue, but couldn’t at least the fireplace in the common area be a wooden one to give a real fireplace feeling.
Third, the tea and coffee station in the dining room – there was an excellent choice of tea you could choose from and have your tea made at any time of the day. The tea and coffee was always there available for you. Only In theory - usually there was no mug /cup or water to make it with after breakfast time. The place has only 4 rooms so only 8 guest at most. Why not providing at least 8 mugs or even 10? This was mystery to me. If you came back too late after hitting the slopes you had no chance to get a cup of a tea or coffee by the fireplace. It wouldn’t be a problem if the hosts were in, but most of the time a friendly notice on the door would welcome you with the information “we are out and be back at …. Please give us a call at … If you need anything”. Well, I am not going to call them to ask for a cup or water for a tea. That would be ridiculous.
Forth, the bathroom – it wouldn't kill them to place some additional hooks for towels or dressing-gown. There is a nice towels rack, where the folded towels are perfectly fine looking, but once the towels are used it is uncomfortable to hang them there without folding them up. But, who folds moist towels?
Fifth, Christmas decorations – we came during Christmas season. There were no Christmas lights outside and the place felt a bit dark and spooky. The common area though was stunningly decorated, but once you make it to your room the magic was gone and not even a tiny sign of Christmas left behind. Well, but that one I could forgive – not all the gusts share the same believes, so maybe they did not want to offend anyone.
In summary, with all its minor flaws Rosehaven makes still a very good holiday destination and if you are not too picky you will truly enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karo_Bart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    11
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
106
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

A lovely place, renovated beautifully! Great room - comfy bed and great whirlpool tub and fireplace. Views were so pretty. We loved the secluded aspect but may not have reached them if we had a snow storm. Better have chains or 4-wheel drive! Kelly makes lovely gourmet breakfasts (but not any options offered for my husband's anti-gourmet tastes). Very sweet getaway - no kids, no pets, quiet and restful. Recommend highly!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

This place lives up to its name. Great location to see many historic sites and vistas in the area. Great atmosphere, cozy, clean, romantic and quiet. The hosts make sure your stay is to your liking and the included breakfast is great. My wife and I stayed in the fall and look forward to many more return visits. It is a real find.

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms so book as soon as you can. Each room has its own enchanting character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaineNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgeland, Mississippi
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We only stayed one night on our way up the Hudson River Valley, but Kelly made our stay very comfortable. Rosehaven is clean, comfortable, and well kept. The breakfast is delicious. While it is not on the navigation systems in cars, if you follow the simple instructions on its website you will have no problems finding it.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaver's Choice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2012

My husband and I were looking to do one last weekend getaway before our baby arrives, and we decided on Rosehaven. The inn is absolutely beautiful, with great views of the mountains, and in a lovely secluded spot off the main road. The hosts were incredibly friendly and gracious, and both mornings the breakfasts in the beautiful diningroom were delicious. The inn is also located in a great spot - we were close to everything: the town, some gorgeous sightseeing, walks, etc. It was incredibly peaceful and relaxing, and a very sweet and memorable trip for us. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josey55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

My husband and I discovered this B&B on Trip Advisor. We loved our brief stay; the room was beautiful; and the view was spectacular. One morning, we looked out onto a mist covered mountain. My husband, who is a photographer was delighted. The breakfast was very fine, and the proprietors were warm and welcoming; really had you feel they were glad to see you. Did I mention the price? Very reasonable. We're from NYC, and the beautifully appointed bathroom was gigantic and elegant, also with a view of the Catskills. We'll be back for sure, and if you are looking for a place to stay in the Catskills, check out Rosehaven, and if you do, extend our greetings to Kelly and Sean, the innkeepers.

Room Tip: We faced the North--lovely, lovely views, with a balcony off the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We just had a wonderful stay at this beautiful B&B. The decor is lovely, the surroundings beautiful, and rooms clean and comfortable. The owners are warm and inviting, and breakfast was delicious during our stay. We will definitely return for another getaway!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelgra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haines Falls
10.7 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
5.4 mi away
Hunter Inn
Hunter Inn
#4 of 6 in Hunter
118 reviews
4.7 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
498 reviews
6.4 mi away
Fairlawn Inn
Fairlawn Inn
#1 of 3 in Hunter
201 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Mountain Brook
Hotel Mountain Brook
#2 of 5 in Tannersville
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosehaven Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosehaven Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Rosehaven Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 147 Sunset Park Road, Haines Falls, NY 12436
Region: United States > New York > Haines Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Haines Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic and charming B&B inn located in the Catskill region near Hunter Mountain and Kaaterskill Falls. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rosehaven Hotel Haines Falls
Rosehaven Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing