We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Winter Getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosehaven Inn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haines Falls
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rosehaven Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Haines Falls B&B and Inns
Pleasantville, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Winter Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

We had a wonderful experiance at Rosehaven. The inn is beautiful and clean with great views. Kelly was very friendly and accomodating, she also made a great breakfast! During the winter the area is all about skiiing, but this was a great romantic getaway.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    11
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
104
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

My wife and I recently returned from our second trip to the Rosehaven Inn and we can't begin to describe how thoughtful and relaxing our stay was. Kelly left keys for us ziplocked to the front door as we arrived late on a Tuesday evening in terrible, cold, snowy weather. We zipped up to Room #3 and quickly started the jacuzzi bathtub. The size of the bathroom is enormous to our NYC senses and we took full advantage of each offering. The high thread count linens and gas fireplace lulled us into a perfect night's sleep. Breakfast was filling both mornings from blueberry pancakes to French toast to eggs any style and we enjoyed our conversations with Kelly the innkeeper who was readily able to suggest shops, restaurants, and spas in the area.

Truthfully, my wife and I needed to get away. We desperately needed to reconnect. The hustle and bustle of city life had bored a crevice in the armor of our marriage. Thank you, Kelly. Your beautiful inn provided the warm, nurturing environment that both my wife and I were craving.

If you're looking for constant entertainment, kindly go elsewhere. If, on the off-chance you're looking for a romantic, slow few days away, you need to stay at Rosehaven. Bring a bottle of bubbly and turn off your iPhone for two days. We can't wait to return a third time.

Room Tip: we've stayed in rooms 1 and 3 and you can't go wrong with either option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank urfman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

Rosehaven is picturesque located, gorgeous B&B, but not without its flaws. Its location is charming, but secluded – within 2.5 miles from downtown Tannersville - in severe, snowy condition you will not manage without a 4x4.
The B&B itself is absolutely beautiful, from huge wraparound porch to the charmingly decorated dining and living rooms. The place was exquisitely clean. The guestroom was as described on the web page – romantic - with functional fireplace and comfy bed.
So, why not A+? Because of minor things, which combined are able to distinguish truly excellent establishment from this: very good one.
First, the breakfast – it was good, nicely served but nothing exceptional. For me and my husband, staying in B&B is about BREAKFAST - its scrumptious taste and unique experience. Here, one might be disappointed, that there was no second round of juice offered nor was juice jar left on the dining table.
Second, the fireplaces – why all of the fireplaces were of the gas variety? I understand the safety issue, but couldn’t at least the fireplace in the common area be a wooden one to give a real fireplace feeling.
Third, the tea and coffee station in the dining room – there was an excellent choice of tea you could choose from and have your tea made at any time of the day. The tea and coffee was always there available for you. Only In theory - usually there was no mug /cup or water to make it with after breakfast time. The place has only 4 rooms so only 8 guest at most. Why not providing at least 8 mugs or even 10? This was mystery to me. If you came back too late after hitting the slopes you had no chance to get a cup of a tea or coffee by the fireplace. It wouldn’t be a problem if the hosts were in, but most of the time a friendly notice on the door would welcome you with the information “we are out and be back at …. Please give us a call at … If you need anything”. Well, I am not going to call them to ask for a cup or water for a tea. That would be ridiculous.
Forth, the bathroom – it wouldn't kill them to place some additional hooks for towels or dressing-gown. There is a nice towels rack, where the folded towels are perfectly fine looking, but once the towels are used it is uncomfortable to hang them there without folding them up. But, who folds moist towels?
Fifth, Christmas decorations – we came during Christmas season. There were no Christmas lights outside and the place felt a bit dark and spooky. The common area though was stunningly decorated, but once you make it to your room the magic was gone and not even a tiny sign of Christmas left behind. Well, but that one I could forgive – not all the gusts share the same believes, so maybe they did not want to offend anyone.
In summary, with all its minor flaws Rosehaven makes still a very good holiday destination and if you are not too picky you will truly enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karo_Bart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

A lovely place, renovated beautifully! Great room - comfy bed and great whirlpool tub and fireplace. Views were so pretty. We loved the secluded aspect but may not have reached them if we had a snow storm. Better have chains or 4-wheel drive! Kelly makes lovely gourmet breakfasts (but not any options offered for my husband's anti-gourmet tastes). Very sweet getaway - no kids, no pets, quiet and restful. Recommend highly!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

This place lives up to its name. Great location to see many historic sites and vistas in the area. Great atmosphere, cozy, clean, romantic and quiet. The hosts make sure your stay is to your liking and the included breakfast is great. My wife and I stayed in the fall and look forward to many more return visits. It is a real find.

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms so book as soon as you can. Each room has its own enchanting character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaineNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgeland, Mississippi
Level Contributor
65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

We only stayed one night on our way up the Hudson River Valley, but Kelly made our stay very comfortable. Rosehaven is clean, comfortable, and well kept. The breakfast is delicious. While it is not on the navigation systems in cars, if you follow the simple instructions on its website you will have no problems finding it.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaver's Choice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

My husband and I were looking to do one last weekend getaway before our baby arrives, and we decided on Rosehaven. The inn is absolutely beautiful, with great views of the mountains, and in a lovely secluded spot off the main road. The hosts were incredibly friendly and gracious, and both mornings the breakfasts in the beautiful diningroom were delicious. The inn is also located in a great spot - we were close to everything: the town, some gorgeous sightseeing, walks, etc. It was incredibly peaceful and relaxing, and a very sweet and memorable trip for us. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josey55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haines Falls
4.7 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
2.8 mi away
Villa Vosilla
Villa Vosilla
#1 of 6 in Hunter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
7.8 mi away
Mountain Treasure Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 10 in Windham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
10.0 mi away
Cuomo's Cove
Cuomo's Cove
#3 of 10 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
4.6 mi away
Winter Clove Inn
Winter Clove Inn
#2 of 4 in Round Top
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosehaven Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosehaven Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Rosehaven Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 147 Sunset Park Road, Haines Falls, NY 12436
Region: United States > New York > Haines Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Haines Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic and charming B&B inn located in the Catskill region near Hunter Mountain and Kaaterskill Falls. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rosehaven Hotel Haines Falls
Rosehaven Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing