We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again!”
Review of High Peak Motel

High Peak Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Haines Falls
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
High Peak Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Haines Falls
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Never Again!”
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed at this motel 2 nights for a zipline adventure at Hunter Mountain which was absolutely awesome (not for the faint at heart). At $100/night, this was not a good value. The rooms are plain and simple and outdated. But the big problem is the smell of mold and mildew. Both of my kids woke up each morning with complete congestion and they weren't sick! The walls are paper thin so you hear everything. The owners couldn't have been nicer and own the convenience store 1/2 block away (which is where you check in). I also thought it was peculiar that when I made reservations over the phone, he insisted that neither night was refundable even if there was a death in the family. The experience was marginal for me, but my wife was beside herself...she even took a nap in our car versus the room one afternoon.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    3
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
2
2
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2011

The owner of the place is a bit eccentric but was very helpful. The rooms are basic, clean, and comfortable. This place is good if you want to get a good night sleep before hitting the slopes early in the morning. I wouldn't recommned staying at this motel if you're planning to hang out with your buddies and get wasted through the night, as the owner seemed to be very concerned about noise during the night.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dima120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

Between the lack of air conditioning, the abundance of insects, the moldy smell, terrible beds, and the poor bathroom lighting it might be best to find a different spot. We did. Beautiful campground nearby.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank banemcnally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Haines Falls hotels

ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2009

Up with a couple of friends going to a festival, this was the last room available in town... HMMMMMMM..... Interesting. Spoke to Joe, Owner/operator, and we already knew this was a bad decision. Housemother Joe, in a true lick of country spirit, wanted to know when we were coming, when we would return from the festival, how many people would be there, he explained that no one could visit us in the room under any circumstances, and told us we had to be extremely quiet even though there were no other patrons in the motel. As we checked in, Joe needed to sign all 3 of us into the motel, wanted to know where we came from and what we were doing in town.

Now lets get to the room .... WOW.

First thing I noticed it is about half the size of a normal motel room, which isn't saying much at $106 a night. I take that back, the first thing I noticed was the pungent stench of mold, mildew, and disappointment. The floor was uneven, and guess what, the light switches weren't connected to lights. 2 small table lamps were all the lighting in the room, so I apologize for the terrible pictures due to bad lighting. The size of the gap under the door permitted small to medium sized leaves to freely blow under, into the interior of our room. We have inferred that the odor in the room may be partially contributed to the fact that dew is able to seep into the room during the wee hours of the morning. This hypothesis is further supported by the fact that none of the wooden drawers in the room were able to open, leading us to believe that the cheaply constructed plywood furniture has become warped due to the moisture...

Now lets start with the sleeping amenities. FAIL. The comfort level of the mattresses made me severely jealous of the puppy-farm raised animals at the mall whose cages look oh so comfortable compared to these beds. The exposed wiring throughout the room and bathroom proves that it was merely an after thought when electricity was introduced probably no more than 3-5 years ago at this location. The decision to open the window and let the stank out, was a toss-up, a real mind bender if you will, between continuing to inhale spores of an unknown nature or obtaining the warmth that we so desperately desired. Good OId Joe explained to us that the thermostat doesn't work because the heat doesn't come on until the sun goes down. Sweet. We spent a total of 15 minutes in this worn down disaster of a hillbilly hellhole. A truly dilapidated wreck.

Thanks for the memories Joe.

And.... Oh yes.... No refunds.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mustang1968man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2009

We had the WORST experience at High Peak Motel. The room was decent but the service was awful. We had a friend that lived in the area visit us and the owners waited outside our room asking when she was going to leave when she was only there for five minutes!
There also wasn't a lock to the room so we got nervous and tried calling other hotels in the area but there is no cell phone service in the motel. We decided that is much better to drive back three hours after a full day of skiing than stay at this motel. And to make matters worse they refuse to give us our money back when we only stayed in the room for a total of 30 mins. Awful service and an awful experience, I DO NOT recommend staying at the High Peak Motel.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — service, owners
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ET11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2007

I was traveling to a meeting and needed affordable accommodations for one night. This place fit the bill and I would stay there again.

The selling points here: service and location. The owners were kind, accommodating, caring, thoughtful and saw to my comfort, safety and peace of mind. The motel is just off Route 23A...easy to find and very convenient for those passing through. Also a great location for hikers and skiers. The setting is quiet, I slept like a baby!

This is not a luxury resort or a romantic bed and breakfast; there are plenty of those in the area. If you are looking for clean, comfortable but plain looking accommodations (carpet in my room neeed replacing), a darn good price and thoughtful owners who welcome you like family, stay here!

Of note, some redecorating is underway.

  • Liked — price, service, very clean!!
  • Disliked — Rooms are drab, carpet old
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LindyHikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to High Peak Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Peak Motel

Property: High Peak Motel
Address: Box 86, North Lake Road & O'Hara Road, Haines Falls, NY 12436-0086
Region: United States > New York > Haines Falls
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Haines Falls
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing