We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Inn”
Review of Colgate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Colgate Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Beautiful Inn”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We recently visited Colgate University and stayed at the Colgate Inn. What a charming hotel. I would highly suggest staying here if you can get a room since it is the only hotel in town and has only 40 rooms. The room was nicely furnished and comfortable. The bathroom was on the small size but that did not bother us. Nice restaurant in hotel. If you are in area be sure to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frefutravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    46
    24
    5
    3
See reviews for
47
23
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We stayed here while visiting Colgate University. The Inn is charming with a nice restaurant/tavern on the first floor. Rooms are clean and location is perfect for the town. The staff is friendly and helpful.

The only complaint is if you want to watch TV the bed post obstruct the view of the TV screen. Not sure why this was not noticed when the Inn was renovated.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

This historic old hotel is located in the heart of the little town of Hamilton. The hotel is well run, clean and picturesque, but it has the downsides of a country inn: no room service and thin walls. Being the only real hotel for miles, all 40 rooms were fully booked on the rainy cold Wednesday night in April that I was there. Running at 100% capacity can challenge hotel management, but every service that I needed was performed to a high standard. There was free wifi in the room. My room was small, but well furnished with a comfortable queen bed, plenty of lamps and an updated bathroom. There is no room service, so all meals and anything to drink needed to be consumed in the cozy restaurant downstairs. (Request a table by the fire, if it is cold!) For $150/night, I thought it delivered an excellent experience at a good price. My only complaint is that the walls are very thin: I unwittingly shared every conversation of the couple next door as well as the bathroom habits of the people above me.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pfpedersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Very charming and comfortable hotel, right in the middle of Hamilton (which itself is charming too). Spacious and nicely-appointed rooms, free wifi, comfortable beds. Great breakfast available in the cafe/restaurant/bar downstairs.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDEC_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
latrobe
Level Contributor
117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

If you're visiting Hamilton, NY or Colgate University and have a lot of spare pocket change you might enjoy the Colgate Inn. It's owned by the University and the room rates are exorbitant. There's no in room coffee and the restaurant is very expensive for beverage and food, but tasty. It was recently renovated, reducing the number of rooms by enlarging some, but they are small by comparison to a "regular" chain type room with all the in room amenities. The staff is very helpful and eager to please. The wait staff members are well versed in the menu selections and the bar choices. There is a small craft brewery "just down the street" and the staff can make recommendations on what's good.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank armedinfidel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Stayed here while traveling on business and it's my second visit. A New England Style Inn but really elegant like a stately home that's been passed from generation to generation. Warm inviting restaurant with a fire burning hearth. Nice dinner and great service. Beautiful central staircase with an amazing chandelier made entirely of branches....hard to explain but if you visit you must see it for yourself. The bathroom was huge with amazing vintage style tile; modern amenities but done in a style that was fitting for the time period. Lovely paintings displayed throughout the first floor common areas and some are for sale and painted by a local artist. This hotel is located right in the middle of Hamilton where you can walk to restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: Be sure to park in the hotel's parking lot located behind the hotel; it looks like it's ok t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHB130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We came to visit Colgate University, my son's first choice for college. We had come from staying at The Lord Jeffrey inn in Amherst, which also had been recently renovated. We were enchanted by the Colgate inn. The renovation was impeccable, the service warm, and the rooms spacious, luxurious, and charming. It is a splendid place, and if our son comes to Colgate we will be sure to book far in advance to be sure of securing a reservation. We loved it. One of our favorite historic inns now

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele-Myers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
21.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Hartford
19.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Verona
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cazenovia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Verona
0.1 mi away
Patricia's Guest House
Patricia's Guest House
#2 of 6 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Checkered Moose Inn
The Checkered Moose Inn
#2 of 2 in Sherburne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colgate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colgate Inn

Property: Colgate Inn
Address: 1 Payne St, Hamilton, NY 13346-1111
Region: United States > New York > Hamilton
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton
Hotel Class:3 star — Colgate Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
Colgate Hotel Hamilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing