We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Motel”

Wendt University Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hamilton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wendt University Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton
Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant Motel”
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Enjoyed staying here - close location to Colgate and pleasant staff/owner who spoke with us whenever we were around the front desk area. This was our 5th stay in 4 years and this stay was for graduation. Our reservation was made about two and half years ago with a check provided for the full amount of the reserved dates. Check was not cashed until several months prior to our stay. Besides graduation weekend, the motel is at capacity during Family Weekend so reservations need to made early for peak dates.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reviewer808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    33
    30
    14
    10
See reviews for
43
12
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

This is not an inn. It's a motel that only does business because there are so few choices in Hamilton, NY. If it was in any larger place, it would have closed by now. It can't even come close to very good hotels in Utica which is 45 minutes away. It is tired in every way--tired beds, tired TV, tired linens etc.
But, apparently, they have no incentive to improve. We try to stay elsewhere whenever we can.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dnwdeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hamilton hotels

Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

I traveled to Colgate University with family and friends to attend a school sponsored function. I found it convenient to stay at the Wendt Inn. We needed 5 rooms and there were no other available places in the area since it was Valentine’s Day weekend. Upon check-in the clerk was very cordial; however the night clerk was very rude! The function we attended was over after 10pm and the town pretty much closes by 10pm with the exception of bars. We were able to locate a take-out place and brought food back to the hotel to eat. We brought the food in the dining area and the clerk went ballistic. She was very offensive and told us to make sure we cleaned up everything and place all the chairs back when we finished. This was always our intention, however we were shocked at her hostile tone and behavior. We cleaned the dining area leaving it in better condition than we found it. The hotel was extremely noisy. We were able to hear the conversation of the guests on both sides of us.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kbrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, NY
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Beware when trying to book this hotel on a busy college weekend or during the Bouckville Antiques week. The owner likes to pool possible guests and then finagle the reservations until he has a full hotel for the week. So, instead of you calling for a reservation and the hotel booking a room for you if they have a vacancy, they find out how long you would like to stay and then deny you a room of you don't want to stay the entire week. Of course you only know this if they bother to get back to you at all. The owner knows the area is lacking adequate accommodations for busy periods and takes every advantage of it. Of course the fact that he is a rude jerk on top of it makes the experience all the more unpleasant. If you do manage to get a room, be ready for paper thin walls and floors. This place was built like a large house, not a public building.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank christian9090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2010

I was told a reservation for Jan. 2011 could not be made until Jan. 2011 as that was the way their system worked. I called in Sept. and Nov. 2010 and was told this. In Dec. I called as rooms are scarce in this small college town and was told they were completely booked! I asked how this was possible the hotel clerk(?) said they would not take reservations earlier as they were waiting to see if they could get a group. The "group" took all the rooms. This seems very unfair to someone who would take them at their word and hope to get a room in Jan. for Jan. This small college town has 2 hotels within 30 miles and this is deceitful to the public.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maxmandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E. Hanover
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

We felt the rooms were big and comfortable. The entrance was warm and comforting as well as the staff. Enjoyed the Continental Breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTrip2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alabama
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

The Wendt University Inn was perfectly OK for a visit to Colgate. We had a spacious room with two queen beds on the ground floor. The front desk clerks were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was a little on the sparse side but there is a McDonalds and a local restaurant within walking distance. If my son attends Colgate I would have no problem staying here again. I really thought the stay was very reasonable (less than 125 a night inc taxes) in a town with only two hotels and a "captive audience" of college parents.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4ddawgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
21.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Hartford
19.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Verona
16.2 mi away
Vernon Downs Hotel
Vernon Downs Hotel
#3 of 3 in Vernon
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cazenovia
0.7 mi away
Patricia's Guest House
Patricia's Guest House
#2 of 6 in Hamilton
119 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Checkered Moose Inn
The Checkered Moose Inn
#2 of 2 in Sherburne
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wendt University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wendt University Inn

Property: Wendt University Inn
Address: 175 Utica St, Ny, Hamilton, NY 13346-2001
Region: United States > New York > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 94
Also Known As:
Wendt University Hotel Hamilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing