We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough”

Wendt University Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hamilton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wendt University Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice enough”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This place is nice enough and does the job. Pretty much the only place to stay if you are visiting the colleges in the area. I was hesitant to stay after reading the reviews but there was no one that was "rude" that I dealt with. They are adding on to the building making it twice the size.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RMamakos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    33
    30
    13
    10
See reviews for
43
12
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Great place to stay. There are not many choices in that area,this place was excellent. No fridge or coffee maker in the room though. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hockey320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Owner is dogmatic, rude, and controlling. Rooms are sparse, towels poor quality,
breakfast all carbs. Housekeeping poor --- reported dirt on carpet 3 times; additionally,
came back one evening at 8:00pm and room had never been cleaned -- wet towels still
on bathroom floor, bed unmade, no new linens. Difficult to reserve room ahead - can
only go through owner, at his discretion. And this hotel - really motel - does not even
provide a plastic bag for dirty clothes as all other motels do.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AntiqueNuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hamilton hotels

Boston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The Wendt is more like a clean and sparsely furnished motel than a hotel. There is no elevator. The rooms are very spacious but sparse in decor and in furniture. There was a refrigerator and microwave in our room. The linen service was very good but there is no food room service. Good place for kids. Good parking. Good location. The continental breakfast was only plain bagels and donuts and coffee. Bathrooms were small. However, this was $150 less per night for the same accommodation at the Colgate Inn which is a few block away. Must go out for food. The key word here is value.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank USA47Dutchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Enjoyed staying here - close location to Colgate and pleasant staff/owner who spoke with us whenever we were around the front desk area. This was our 5th stay in 4 years and this stay was for graduation. Our reservation was made about two and half years ago with a check provided for the full amount of the reserved dates. Check was not cashed until several months prior to our stay. Besides graduation weekend, the motel is at capacity during Family Weekend so reservations need to made early for peak dates.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reviewer808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

This is not an inn. It's a motel that only does business because there are so few choices in Hamilton, NY. If it was in any larger place, it would have closed by now. It can't even come close to very good hotels in Utica which is 45 minutes away. It is tired in every way--tired beds, tired TV, tired linens etc.
But, apparently, they have no incentive to improve. We try to stay elsewhere whenever we can.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dnwdeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

I traveled to Colgate University with family and friends to attend a school sponsored function. I found it convenient to stay at the Wendt Inn. We needed 5 rooms and there were no other available places in the area since it was Valentine’s Day weekend. Upon check-in the clerk was very cordial; however the night clerk was very rude! The function we attended was over after 10pm and the town pretty much closes by 10pm with the exception of bars. We were able to locate a take-out place and brought food back to the hotel to eat. We brought the food in the dining area and the clerk went ballistic. She was very offensive and told us to make sure we cleaned up everything and place all the chairs back when we finished. This was always our intention, however we were shocked at her hostile tone and behavior. We cleaned the dining area leaving it in better condition than we found it. The hotel was extremely noisy. We were able to hear the conversation of the guests on both sides of us.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kbrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
21.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Hartford
19.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Verona
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cazenovia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Patricia's Guest House
Patricia's Guest House
#2 of 6 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
16.7 mi away
Lincklaen House
Lincklaen House
#4 of 7 in Cazenovia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
20.0 mi away
Super 8 Norwich
Super 8 Norwich
#1 of 2 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wendt University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wendt University Inn

Property: Wendt University Inn
Address: 175 Utica St, NY, Hamilton, NY 13346-2001
Region: United States > New York > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 94
Also Known As:
Wendt University Hotel Hamilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing