We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing experience.”

Dr. Konstantin Frank's Vinifera Wine Cellars
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Dr. Konstantin Frank pioneered the introduction of vinifera wines to the Finger Lakes region of New York. Our winery was found in 1962 and is one of the most award-winning and historic in New York.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

After several trips to the Finger Lakes, I was looking forward to Dr Frank's. I was disappointed with my visit there. The server seemed very rushed and didn't seem to take the time to talk to us. I believe there may have been" club members" at the other end of the bar who he was focussing on. Had the server been more friendly or personable, I would have enjoyed it more and probably bought some wine. Not sure I will go back.

Helpful?
Thank Tricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    91
    19
    8
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Riesling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We really enjoyed the tasting at this location. We tried 6 or so wines and there was no charge. The semi dry Riesling is wonderful and we enjoyed the view!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, Vermont
Level Contributor
155 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“A terrific tasting experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We found the wines...Rieslings, Pinot Gris, Gewürztraminer, and Sparkling Rose...delightful. New York State wines are excellent, and Dr. Frank's are among the best. There is no charge for tastings here, and we sampled 8 or so wines. The tasting guide, Coleen, was most knowledgeable and personable as we tasted, discussed, and tasted. She offered us tastings of several Reserve wines, perhaps because she saw, correctly, that we were prospects for their wine club. All-in-all we had a delightful time, learned a lot, and bought more than a case of our favorites.

The views from the tasting veranda over the vineyards to Keuka Lake and the mountainous hills beyond are glorious. Dr. Frank's cellars, production buildings, and tasting room are all straightforward, with none of the oversize, bombastic architecture that some of the wineries had.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank PeterBrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love the riesling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Enjoyed the tasting room, bought some wine...and the t-shirt! My favorites: the Dr. Frank Dry Riesling and the Gewürztraminer.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 59LindA60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice staff, free tasting, lovely view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

A friend recommended this as her favorite winery in the area. The guy who led our tasting was very nice and knowledgeable. Unlike many of the others in the area, they don't charge for a tasting. The view from their deck is lovely and we bought a few bottles.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jenxteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dr. Konstantin Frank's Vinifera Wine Cellars also viewed

 
Hammondsport, Finger Lakes
Hammondsport, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Dr. Konstantin Frank's Vinifera Wine Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing