We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hammondsport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lake & Vine Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 13 Hammondsport B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed at the lake and vine and we were amazed with the attention to details not only what a lovely house,well maintained and beautifully restored but the food- poached pears,broiled grapefruit was unique and excellent. Carol was welcoming,inviting and very wiling to supply extra local information. We spent some quiet time of the beautiful porch watching the sun set!
We would definitely stay there again. We were within walking distance of downtown shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2012

The Lake and Vine is a charming older home with comfortable and well appointed furnishings. We arrived late afternoon and enjoyed a glass of wine on her spacious porch overlooking formal gardens. Another evening we read in front of a cozy fire. Carol is a warm and friendly hostess - and great cook! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will recommend to our friends.

Bel Air, MD

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Beautiful! Carol is a very warm and friendly hostess! She takes great care with details. Menus were available, so we could see where to have dinner. Breakfast was lovely!. Poached pears, never had them before, delicious. Her house is beautiful and very inviting. This time of year, it was wonderful. I could go on and on..... I would recommend her beautiful bed and breakfast to all my friends. Thank you, Carol! Hope to come again soon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stewbiedew2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed at the Lake & Vine over the Columbus Day holiday for a quick leaf-peeping getaway. What a perfect spot! Our room--spotless and comfortable. Our breakfast--thoughtful, tasty, and elegant (on beautiful Czech china). Our hostess--open, warm, and very welcoming. You need to seek no more if you're considering a trip to Hammondsport!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItaliaAmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We promised we would return; it only took us 4 months to do so! Although separated by many miles, we thought of 2 other couples whom we wanted to share this lovely gem. Lake and Vine was the perfect place for our little group to rekindle a long-time friendship. Once again, Carol gave a warm welcome and helpful introduction to all the amenities. She did not miss a detail in making our stay comfortable. When the men wanted to watch football upstairs in the lounge, the women were able to retreat to a lovely living room area downstairs for a meaningful time of conversation. Once again, the breakfasts were above all expectaions. Each morning the china pattern was even changed. We were able to enjoy the last of the nasturtiums on our plate before a hard frost hit the garden.
We spent our days introducing our friends to the area. Watkins Genn, Corning Glass and the Sonneburg Mansion are worth a visit. We visited some wineries and added Carol's suggestions to our list of favorites. The bright colors of foliage and brisk air reminded us that fall is here. On this visit we were not able to enjoy the lovely porch due to the cool temperatures. In addition to coffee, a welcomed seasonal treat was the choice of hot cider and hot chocolate, avaiiable at all hours.
I just happened to have celebrated my birthday at this time. Carol helped my husband with a suggestion for a local florist who delivered a lovely flower arrangement to our room.
Carol certainly aims to please and is a most gracious host.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We had the great fortune of staying in this beautiful B&B during our recent visit to Hammondsport. The home is incredible and very historic. Carol greeted us warmly upon arrival and showed us around her welcoming home. We really enjoyed sitting with our friends on the beautiful porch. Carol helped us with a local itinerary for wine tasting and provided us with free tastings at a favorite winery. We stayed in Isabella and it was comfortable and lovely with beautiful toiletries. The bed linens are luxurious and the beds are heavenly. Breakfast was delicious and healthy. She uses organic ingredients in all her dishes. Breakfast also provided a social setting for us to meet and enjoy other guests and share experiences in this beautiful wine country. Hammondsport is a very cool town, the coolest small town in America according to Budget Travel magazine. The visitor’s center is a great place for information for what’s fun in Hammondsport. We also took a ‘bracing’ five-mile hike on the FLX trail which commences at Mitchellsville. This was followed up by a fabulous dinner at Stonecat on Seneca Lake. Our entire visit was delightful and enhanced by the fine hosting of Carol.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire-Rich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed the Lake and Vine B & B. The house itself is absolutely lovely with art work that is unique and lovely. The common areas are welcoming in every way. We were fortunate enough to have some time on the welcoming porch in perfect fall weather overlooking Carol's well designed garden and fountain. Our two breakfasts' were delicious. We found Carol a gracious hostess who was welcoming and informative on touring the region.

In reading the previous review, there were enough common descriptive elements to know it was the same B & B, however, our experiences with Carol were completely different.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely; just choose between a shared or ensuite bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pcase2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammondsport hotels
0 mi away
18 Vine Inn & Carriage House
18 Vine Inn & Carriage House
#7 of 13 in Hammondsport
50 reviews
2.1 mi away
Vinehurst Inn & Suites
Vinehurst Inn & Suites
#3 of 4 in Hammondsport
66 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus The Hammondsport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Village Tavern Inn
Village Tavern Inn
#9 of 13 in Hammondsport
45 reviews
0.5 mi away
Keuka Lakeside Inn
Keuka Lakeside Inn
#2 of 4 in Hammondsport
334 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hammondsport Lodging
Hammondsport Lodging
#8 of 13 in Hammondsport
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake & Vine Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake & Vine Bed and Breakfast

Address: 61 Lake St, Hammondsport, NY 14840-9375
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Hammondsport
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Hammondsport
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing