We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bully Hill Vineyards Winery

Bully Hill Vineyards Winery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the heart of the Finger Lakes wine country, this family-owned winery is popular for its humorous tours, spectacular scenery and artsy wine labels.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
270 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Love the food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

This is a great place to go for a relaxing meal. The view is great and the service is friendly and fast. The wine tasting is fun.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cratsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    65
    37
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bully hill winery”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Was not impressed a charge for wine testing . They did have a nice gift shop with friendly staff went to this a long time ago and liked it much better no one helped you with your wine selection went down the road and was greeted by very friendly staff an free wine testing that made you want to buy wine. I would not return to bully hill

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklinton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff and wonderful wines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

My daughter and I visited Bully Hill about ten years ago and were not impressed with their wines. My husband and I just visited them The pouring staff was very knowledgeable and friendly and there wines were very good -- in fact we bought six bottles. They have the best Cabernet Franc in the Finger Lakes. You also have to love their labels which are unique and each one a work of art.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank travelnut1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pooler, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not Your Average Winery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Okay, before stopping here, folks need to know what they are getting into. This is the anti-winery winery. It's loud, it's boisterous, it doesn't always take itself seriously. There view on tasting is a very laid back one. And sometimes, yes it is very crowded and you will need to flag someone down to get their attention. This is one of the most popular wine stops for a reason! Go in with an open mind and a relaxed attitude and you'll do just fine. I try to come here at least once a year. If you prefer the traditional wine tasting experience, you can go inside to where you purchase the wines.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Christa_Squirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, NY
Level Contributor
265 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great tourist attraction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I went to Cornell and had not been back to Bully Hill since the late 70's. The place has grown tremendously and now it is a tourist destination with a beautiful restaurant with an awesome view and a very well stocked store. The tasting will set you back five bucks and you get to sample five different wines selected by the winery staff. The groups are large and belly up to a big almost horseshoe shaped bar. The staff wants to make the tasting entertaining so they like to be comical and loud. For me, wine is something to enjoy in a more relaxed and personal way so the circus atmosphere was not to my liking. You can also do individual product tastings inside the store for a dollar each. Bully Hill is the largest privately owned winery in NYS and has a wide selection of products. The place i beautiful, the staff pleasant and, except for their particular approach to wine tasting, quite an enjoyable experience.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AJS-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bully Hill Vineyards Winery also viewed

 
Hammondsport, Finger Lakes
Hammondsport, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Bully Hill Vineyards Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing