We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boring!”

Pleasant Valley Wine Company
Ranked #10 of 28 things to do in Hammondsport
Attraction details
State College
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Boring!”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We encountered temperatures in the high 90ies during our last stay at to the Finger Lakes, and were looking for ways to escape. Visits to several wineries and shops did the trick, but not our stop at the Pleasant Valley Wine Company. We had heard before that this one was actually the "Granddaddy" of all the wineries, but - if so - the "Granddaddy" must have spent a lot of time snoozing lately. The introductory slide show turned out to be pictures in random order without any kind of narration. Some antique looking wine equipment was scattered around willy nilly. Actually the small area devoted to the history of local wineries in the Glenn H. Curtiss Museum in Hammondsport did a much better job showing the highlights of one of the region's most important industries. My husband and I were the only visitors there, and by the time we reached the Tasting Area we were just not interested any more. We left without regrets.
I think the people in charge there would greatly benefit from a visit from the "Bully Hill Winery" or one of the other exciting new wineries to get some novel ideas!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Reiselust1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    14
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great tour, great buildings, unsure future”
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

First off, try their champagnes. They're very good and the most reasonably priced ones you'll find in the Finger Lakes.
The grounds are impressive. Buildings built into the hillside, their own railroad track they built themselves- very impressive stuff.
My only worry is that they are constantly talking about the past, and not looking towards the future. This place use to be insanely busy, but not anymore. I just left the tour feeling like they had dozens of missed opportunities to regrow their business and their level of tourism.
Still worth the stop though.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Virginia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saugerties,ny
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great tour and pretty good wine too!”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We basically happened upon this winery because we had done some tastings at other wineries but my husband wanted to tour one. This is a beautiful old winery with a lot of history in it and its still being used. Our tour guide Jen was very knowledgeable and had grown up in this area. She had many interesting stories about Pleasant Valley Winery and it was a fun tour because of her. When we returned for our tasting the other 2 couples did not care to taste so we had her undivided attention and she gave us her all. Beautiful tasting room and nice museum attached to that. The wines are very reasonable and slightly sweeter than we normally like but they were good and of course we brut some home. The $5 tour fee includes free tasting, the tour lasted at least 45 minutes perhaps more.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank roadkinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairborn, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
436 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Nice Museum with Free Tastings”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Look for the name "Great Western Winery" too when searching for this place. It has a nice welcome center and a little museum with the interesting history of wine making. We didn’t take the free 45 min tour due to time constraints. They give five tastes for free and they do have some good tasting wines. They give a 15% case (or more) discount even on mixed cases. We bought a case plus. No food or snacks are available.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OldBoyScoutFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Best winery tour we found”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Pleasant Valley offers a very informative and historical tour of their winemaking operation, including multiple stone buildings from the 1800's which were gems. (Be sure to bring your camera; we could have kicked ourselves that we left ours in the car.) The tour guide was great and knew lots of interesting things about not only how they make wine and the history of Pleasant Valley, but of the Finger Lakes in general. It only cost $5 for the tour and the wine tasting; most Finger Lakes wineries do not offer any kind of tour and charge $3 for wine tasting alone. So a great value.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LauraFF7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pleasant Valley Wine Company also viewed

 
Hammondsport, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Pleasant Valley Wine Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing