We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was ok.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vinehurst Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hammondsport
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“It was ok.”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

It's a nice inn. The highway is right in front of the inn. I know that the address indicate a highway but I thought the inn might be on a hill or further in. I saw other hotels which fits the description I mentioned. We had a suite it was nice. Had a small kitchen. One of my issue was a very musty smell in the room. I mentioned it to the front desk and they said that they would take care of it. We came back later on at night and the smell was still there. There is a pergola in front and you get the view of the cars passing by and the cars parked around it. The continental breakfast no biggie. Mini muffins, croissants,coffee and fruits. We brought some eggs and made breakfast in the room. Not much to do at the inn. The back of the inn doesn't have anything to offer. No chairs or tables. Another pergola should be added in the back. The inn was a pit stop for us. We slept and got ready to do other activities: Wine Trail, Jazz Festival (Corning) and Glass Museum (Corning). I don't get the town logo: "The coolest small town". There is nothing to do there. One good thing is the inn gave us a bottle of champagne for our anniversary and a card. That was a very nice touch.The front desk is very informative. You can go to them for tips and suggestions.I guess my problem was the price $160 @ night. Way overpriced. I am not sure if I would go back unless the prices were much cheaper.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Letin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    21
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
38
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The charming accomodations and the new owners make this place a best bet. I really loved the room; very cosy, nice soaps and towels. The owners had some misfortune with their water pressure one day this past weekend but it is fixed now and it shouldn't happen again. They went above and beyond to make it up to thier guests! This staff really cares. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I gotta tell you that we were very skeptical to stay here, because it was the only place in town that we found that wasn't sold out--so we had no choice. When we arrived, the owner's Mother was outside gardening and we thought, hmmmm, maybe it's not so bad. She greated us and made us feel at home. The receptionist was just as friendly and gave us great suggestions of places to eat. The room was clean and comfortable. The towels were nice, the shower could have been better with regards to pressure and getting the temp. consistant. The next morning the owner gave us directions for an awsome bike ride--better service than a concierge at a 5 star hotel!! And by the way, the coffee is great--locals go all over the world to find their beans--we'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank margaret891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

While in town for a wedding, my husband and I had the opportunity to stay at the Vinehurst, and we are certainly glad we did! The Vinehurst was a refreshing change of pace from the chain hotels that we typically stay in when travelling.

First and foremost, the staff was wonderful! Everyone was very friendly and helpful, making sure that our needs were met and that our stay was everything we expected it to be. When asking for suggestions about what to do in the area, they tried to get a feel for what would be a good match for us—there was no standard answer; they really wanted to make sure we would enjoy what the area had to offer us.

Next, the accommodations: Our room was clean and cozy. The A/C was cold; the water was hot. We slept in a comfortable bed in a tastefully decorated room. We were fortunate to have a room with a balcony, which provided us with a nice view of the valley and rolling hills surrounding us (as well as the beautifully landscaped grounds). It was a relaxing place to start the morning while my husband enjoyed his coffee and I devoured my blueberry muffin. We found the hotel to be conveniently located to both Bath and Hammondsport, and of course, several local wineries and breweries!

Finally, this hotel is under new management, and we understand that this is a huge venture for the owners! We’d like to thank the Oliver Family and staff for all they have done to resurrect the Vinehurst. They have put a lot into it, and it really shows. We look forward to staying with them again and will definitely recommend them to friends and family travelling to the area!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tipsy679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

The new owners are working hard to upgrade this motel that had fallen on hard times. The landscaping is very nice. The room was freshly painted and nicely decorated with local art. The sheets were scratchy, but the towels were lovely. The beds were very comfortable. The water pressure in the shower seemed low. The AC filter needed changing, and when we mentioned this, it was taken care of promptly. The breakfast was juice, coffee, small pieces of watermelon, and pretty bad muffins. $100 per night seemed high for what you get. The woman in the office was lovely. There is an excellent restaurant right across the road.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elizabeth73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coraopolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Stayed at the Vinehurst Inn for two nights with my wife. First, it is a great location (1.5 miles from Hammondsport) so if you are staying in town to do a wine tour, this place is good. The Vinehurst is under new management, and the new owners are making great strides to make the Inn look nice. There is new paint, new gravel driveway, landscaping etc. From the exterior, it looks inviting. There is even a new pergola with lawn chairs. Very cute.

The inside of our room was a little dated, but clean. Carpets worn, old-looking bathrooms etc. However, the bed was comfortable, linens clean and fresh, and the room had a fridge, and microwave. There are a few kinks to work out, but overall I would recommend the vinehurst.

Overall, the staff was very friendly, and you can tell they really want to turn this hotel around. In time, I think they will get it right. They seem ambitious, and really want to please their customers. If I go back to Hammondsport again, I will stay there again. Good rooms, good rates, nice people.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hammondsport
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Hammondsport Hotel
5.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bath
21.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Super 8 Bath Hammondsport Area
21.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Penn Yan Finger Lakes Region
19.3 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vinehurst Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vinehurst Inn & Suites

Property: Vinehurst Inn & Suites
Address: PO Box 477, 7988 State Route 54, Hammondsport, NY 14840-0477
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Hammondsport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hammondsport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Vinehurst Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort abounds at Hammondsport’s Vinehurst Inn & Suites in the Finger Lakes. Stay and explore one of the coolest small towns in America on beautiful and pristine Keuka Lake. Be a guest and bring a friend, your love or the entire family. Enjoy sophisticated rooms, romantic whirlpool suites and fully appointed spacious family suites that provide the perfect wine country getaway. Celebrate your travels at a locally and Veteran-owned small hotel offering complimentary Wi-Fi, continental breakfast on beautifully landscaped grounds only 1.5 miles from Keuka Lake. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vinehurst Hotel Hammondsport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing