We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A unique and happy home away from home.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Black Sheep Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hammondsport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Black Sheep Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Hammondsport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Corning, New York
2 reviews
“A unique and happy home away from home.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

Marc and Debbie were excellent hosts this past weekend -- the original home they have renovated has completely been transformed into a welcoming and warm abode. After a peaceful tour of the unique octagonal structure, we left for dinner and quickly came home to spend the evening watching the snow fall through our second floor window. Awaking to a fresh blanket of snow, we showered and the fresh smell of lavender castile soap filled the air as we went down to breakfast. The food top notch --Debbie's humbleness in her culinary expertise shines through the course; my favorite being the organic granola raisin scone with lemon curd.
Being a local, it touches my heart when I encounter people following their life passion, especially when their impact touches my community in a positive form. Thank you both for the experience. See you soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rochele1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    13
    4
    6
    3
See reviews for
15
125
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elkton, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

The owners, Debbie & Marc, are very personable and love to share stories and laughs with their guests, but are content to leave you to yourselves if you wish. The inn is very well maintained with many newer but still era-relevant hardware/ fixtures. This is a great place to stay whether you're looking for a place near the wineries or just a place to get away for a couple days.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

Our family stayed at the Black Sheep in just after Thanksgiving and Debbie and Marc really let us settle into their inn for 2 days! We spent the evenings hanging out in the beautiful common rooms and found the breakfasts both innovative and delicious! We had our 2 teenage boys with us and Debbie and Marc planned out a wonderful driving route complete with shopping, wine tasting and site seeing. Our older son was in the midst of writing college applications (to study architecture) and was really impressed with the history and wonderful restoration of the octagonal house. We look forward to returning in the future!
Sharon and John C

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

Marc and Debbie,
Just wanted to thank you for a wonderful getaway. I picked your Inn for our 25th anniversary getaway weekend and boy was it special. My husband and I enjoyed the guests as well as your company. Awesome breakfast that kept us full until late afternoon. Your home is a one of a kind and you both made us feel very welcome. Until next time.....
Sheri and Troy York, PA

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Troy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Black Sheep Inn. There were three of us, so we stayed in the Taylor Suite - very spacious with 2 beds, a shared bathroom and access directly onto the outdoor patio. The octagonal house has been beautifully renovated, we took a tour around the rest of the house and could have easily cosied up in any of the guest rooms, additionally there are two spacious indoor sitting areas, as well as a large patio outside for use in the warmer months. The little touches like the light fittings, wall paper and furnishings make for a warm and welcoming Inn. The breakfast that Debbie servied up was absolutely delicious and a lovely balance of sweet and savory. We were very sad that we could have only spent one night at The Black Sheep Inn!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pine Grove Mills, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

We stayed at the Black Sheep Inn during Wineglass Marathon weekend. Deb arranged a very appropriate early morning pre-race breakfast that met all of my dietary restrictions. Living gluten-free is difficult so it was extremely refreshing to find accommodations that understood my eating requirements. It didn't stop with just the breakfasts; which were some of the best I've ever eaten. All of the local restaurant recommendations were great. The spa services, winery recommendations and general knowledge of the surrounding area makes the stay at the Black Sheep Inn an exceptional value.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

Came to this INN on a Friday night after eating at a restaurant that the owner had suggested, got food poisoning 1 hour after we checked into the hotel and had to leave and drive 2 1/2 hours back home (very sick). In all the mayhem, we accidentally forgot to leave the room key with the owner and took it home. The owner not only charged us the full $330 for a 1 night stay, but also an additional $30 for the key (which we told her we would mail back immediately). And the room wasn't anything special either, very ordinary. I understand people need to make a living, but in my opinion, she should have had a little compassion and only charged us half of the fee and most definitely not an extra charge for the room key...given that we were only there for 1 hour. Huge waste of time and money. 5 thumbs down. Never again.

Room Tip: I wouldn't choose this Inn again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debmychef, Owner at The Black Sheep Inn, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
It's unfortunate that these guests had a bad experience at a local restaurant, which is a rare occurrence around here. This guest and her companion had eaten before they arrived at our Inn, and the restaurant they selected is not one that we usually recommend to our guests. The one we did recommend, (and made a reservation for them), they chose not to visit. Our recommendations are the result of feedback from hundreds of guests over the course of time, which is the most reliable method. As for the charge for the room, the only additional amount on this guests bill was for the unreturned key, which is more of a deposit until the key is returned. This $30 key deposit was only assessed when the guests didn't return that evening and didn't contact us to advise us of any problem, we had to assume that the keys would not be returned. We placed several calls to the guests that went unanswered, and as with all of our guests, we were concerned when they didn't return to the Inn that night. Regarding the room rate, the guests knew the rate when they booked the room, and when you spend several hours in the room and shower in the bathroom before you go out for the evening, we anticipate that you will return that evening, unless you tell us otherwise.

The most interesting part of this story is that this guest finally called us back 5 days later and informed us what had happened. When asked if he had called the restaurant, he replied that he had not and had no plans to do so. As of this date, more than a week after their stay, we still have not been able to refund the key deposit because we have not yet received the keys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hammondsport
6.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bath
19.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites
20.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Penn Yan Finger Lakes Region
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Steamboat Castle Bed & Breakfast
0.9 mi away
18 Vine Inn & Carriage House
18 Vine Inn & Carriage House
#11 of 12 in Hammondsport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
19.2 mi away
The Blackberry Inn B&B
The Blackberry Inn B&B
#1 of 17 in Watkins Glen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Sheep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Sheep Inn

Property: The Black Sheep Inn
Address: 8329 Pleasant Valley Rd, Hammondsport, NY 14840-9549
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Hammondsport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Hammondsport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Sheep Inn and Spa located in the picturesque Wine Country of New York’s Finger Lakes Region offers you a tranquil setting from which you can explore the many unique experiences awaiting you here in the Finger Lakes..Welcome to the Black Sheep Inn an historic Octagon house lovingly restored with style, grace and charm. Your Finger Lakes experience begins here in Hammondsport, voted by Budget Travel as the “2012 Coolest Small Town in America.” Hammondsport sits at the southern tip of Keuka Lake, centrally located to the many award-winning wineries, micro-breweries, local cheese producers and a tremendous selection of cultural and outdoor activities. No need to pack and un-pack in several places, we are just a short scenic drive to everywhere you want to go!Open all year long, the Black Sheep Inn and Spa is open whenever you need to relax, rejuvenate and refresh. We offer distinctive Spa services to ensure an unforgettable massage experience. Our focus is your comfort, from our emphasis on local & seasonal organic ingredients, to our hand crafted soaps and spa products.You may choose to set out on a hike on the nearby Finger Lakes Trail, or take in one of the many waterfalls within a short drive from the Black Sheep Inn. There are also miles of scenic country roads to explore as you bike from one charming small town to another. Keuka Lake offers a cool, refreshing opportunity for a swim, kayaking, or just spectacular views.At the Black Sheep Inn, an historic Finger Lakes Bed and Breakfast, choose from one of our 5 guest rooms, each featuring its own unique design & style and private bath featuring lush towels and monogrammed robes: ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing