We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Inn yet!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hammondsport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Black Sheep Inn
Ranked #3 of 13 Hammondsport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My husband and I have stayed in several inns in the past, but our three-night stay at the Black Sheep Inn far surpassed them all. The rooms were beautiful, neat and clean; the breakfasts were as delicious as they were creative; and the Innkeepers, well I just can't say enough about them. If we so much as mentioned an interest in a particular activity, they were on the phone making reservations or arrangements. And their recommendations on the sights to see were spot-on every time. I will be recommending the Black Sheep Inn to anyone/everyone planning on visiting the Finger Lakes Region.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pleasant Valley room, which was spacious, had its own bathroom, and was absolutely...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajaverycarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debmychef, Owner at The Black Sheep Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for your gracious comments, we really enjoyed having you here. We try to keep up on what's happening here in the region, from new breweries/wineries/restaurants, to off the beaten path hikes and waterfalls. We do this for your benefit and ours, too, because who doesn't like to find a hidden gem that's been down the street all along? Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
There are newer reviews for The Black Sheep Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

This weekend was our second visit to the Black Sheep Inn and we are already planning our next. Mark and Debbie have created a beautiful, unique and comfortable home for their guests in an historic Octagon house. The home itself is worth the stay as they have preserved so much of the original home's character. However, even though you can bask in the interesting architectural aspects, it isn't like having to live in a museum. This a comfortable place that is also interesting unlike many other historical curiosities which leave one with a longing for running water and windows that close.

Debbie is a tremendous chef and obviously takes a great amount of time thinking out the combinations of her meals. Mark is a font of great information about the happenings at the local wineries and other arts. Whenever you ask about a particular restaurant or winery he can give you a recent appraisal and background.

The location of the home is ideal for traveling around Keuka, Seneca and the Western edge of Cayuga lakes. You are far enough out of town that you are surrounded by the beauty that is abundant in the lakes region. But you are just a couple minute drive to the quaint Hammondsport downtown.

Really, cannot recommend this highly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debmychef, Owner at The Black Sheep Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Andy and Kris it's always fun to have you with us and gives us a chance to catch up on what's happening back in Ohio. We're glad to be your home away from home, and to pass along helpful hints on things to do and places to go, based not only on our personal experiences, but on feedback from guests too. We look forward to seeing you soon, and enjoy the rest of your summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I regularly stay at bed & breakfast & inns...this had to be the cleanest place we have ever stayed! Very impressive! Deb and Mark were wonderful hosts...very accommodating! Deb is a fabulous chef (professionally trained) so needless to say the breakfasts were fabulous and healthy! We stayed in the Wood Room which was charming. We enjoyed a campfire one night sitting outback on the patio with one of our bottles of wine purchased earlier at one of the many wineries only minutes away.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyLois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debmychef, Owner at The Black Sheep Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you Kelly for your kind comments. We take pride in presenting our Inn to our guests in the best condition possible. We had fun talking with you and Darro in the courtyard and out at the fire. You both contributed greatly to the fun and laughter we frequently experience around the Inn with our guests. Have a great summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Mark and Debbie are extremely nice people: down to earth, welcoming, and very accommodating. It was great to meet and interact with them. Breakfasts were deliciously different each day; she makes everything from scratch using ingredients from her garden or local farms. Truly some of the best breakfasts we've had! The location was also ideal. It very close to the many beautiful wineries (we went to Bully Hill, which has a beautiful view of Keuka lake). From the inn, we were also able to walk to and on the finger lakes trail, and to downtown Hammondsport for dinner, which had several great options (Italian, tapas). Lastly, the accommodations were great. The interior design of our room (Young love) was extraordinary (interesting patterns and colors!).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debmychef, Owner at The Black Sheep Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Amy and Gabby, we really enjoyed having you here at the Inn for your honeymoon. It was a pleasure to get to spend some time with you, and we wish you many years of health and happiness together. We had fun guiding you to some new sights here in Hammondsport, and in the region as a whole. Best of luck.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We found the Black Sheep in almost by accident and boy, did we get lucky. Within a day or two of making our reservation the owners contacted us and gave us ideas and recommendations for our stay. During our four-day stay, Marc and Deb were superb, friendly, informative, talented, conversant and involved hosts. Their recommendations of wineries, restaurants, hiking trails, artisans and just about everything else were excellent. The Black Sheep Inn is conveniently located on a quiet road near the edge of Hammondsport. The unique octagonal inn has been beautifully renovated, but they have added modern conveniences such as air conditioning, a spa, and wireless internet access. We stayed in the Wood Room, which was spotless, comfortable and well appointed. Deb is a trained chef who uses locally sourced foods and her breakfasts were as innovative as they were delicious. Another guest was gluten intolerant and Deb made a special effort to accommodate her needs. Marc and Deb expended an incredible amount of effort to make our stay enjoyable and they made it look effortless. It was marvelous.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debmychef, Owner at The Black Sheep Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Susan and Eric, it was great getting to know you, and believe it or not, we really do enjoy fielding questions about the house, the wineries, and the Finger Lakes region in general. We both enjoyed our discussions with you, and that's part of the fun of running a B&B. Whether by accident or not, we are glad you found us, and that we could help you enjoy a memorable visit to Hammondsport. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My hubby and I were visiting friends nearby, so we stayed at the Inn for two days. It felt so warm and welcoming from the minute we got there...it's a gorgeous home restored to its former glory and beyond, comfortable homey touches throughout, and modern comforts you'd expect in the best of hotels. We stayed in the Curtiss Room, spacious even tho a queen size bed. Have to book early if you want the king-bed room. Very impressed with Marc and Deb as charming and attentive hosts, chefs, natural gardeners, and just all-around nice people. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lotsafunfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debmychef, Owner at The Black Sheep Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for staying with us, it was a pleasure getting to know you. And pass along a big thank you to Paul and Carolyn for us for sending you our way. We were glad to be a part of your exploration of Hammondsport and the Finger Lakes, and we hope to see you again sometime soon. Have a great summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We just spent 5 nights at the Black Sheep Inn,using it as our base for touring the Finger Lakes for a 20th anniversary trip. Hammondsport is a terrific small town at the foot of Keuka Lake with numerous top-notch restaurants & little shops and the Black Sheep is less than 5 minutes drive from all of it. The location was perfect for us to tour the Finger Lakes easily without too much driving any day. Deb & Marc were tremendous hosts,making our anniversary getaway all the more special. Deb greeted our car in the pouring rain with large umbrellas upon arrival and was the best "concierge" we've ever had--even compared to many high-end hotels costing double or more. She helped us plan our itinerary in advance of our stay, setting up a spectacular one-on-one experience with a glass artist, finding a cooking demo/class by a top chef with a 3 course meal and several appointments at small wineries with wonderful wine. These experiences were among the most memorable of our trip & we would have otherwise missed if it weren't for Deb & Marc.The Inn has been lovingly restored by Marc & Deb and is just gorgeous. There are wonderful small touches everywhere that not only show off the Inn's wonderful history, but make guests feel right at home. Deb's breakfasts were amazingly tasty, yet unique--there were no basic omelettes, toast & fruit here--and that was just fine for us, though we do agree with other reviewers who suggested to let Deb know in advance if you are not an adventurous eater and we are sure she will accommodate you. In fact, we are pretty sure you could make just about any comment or request and Deb & Marc would cheerfully make the change. If we had to describe The Black Sheep in a single word it would be "extraordinary." It's a word not to be used lightly,but truly the Inn--and its hosts--have created a special experience not only at their B&B, but have a love and knowledge of the Finger Lakes that makes the entire trip special.

Room Tip: The Taylor Room was the largest of the rooms & off in its own little wing. It made it very priva...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mellot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debmychef, Owner at The Black Sheep Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

We are very fortunate to have such lovely guests. And many turn into friends. It's always fun for us to have guests here for an extended time because it allows us to really show off the region for all it has to offer. And it gives us a little more time to get to know you, which is always a plus in our book. Tara and Jeff, we really enjoyed having you with us to celebrate your anniversary, and we thank you for the chance to guide you to some of the best of the Finger Lakes region. We hope to see you again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hammondsport
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus The Hammondsport Hotel
1.4 mi away
Vinehurst Inn & Suites
Vinehurst Inn & Suites
#3 of 4 in Hammondsport
64 reviews
19.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
#1 of 4 in Penn Yan
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bath
19.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
0.9 mi away
18 Vine Inn & Carriage House
18 Vine Inn & Carriage House
#7 of 13 in Hammondsport
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Sheep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Sheep Inn

Address: 8329 Pleasant Valley Rd, Hammondsport, NY 14840-9549
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Hammondsport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Hammondsport
Price Range: £114 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Sheep Inn and Spa located in the picturesque Wine Country of New York’s Finger Lakes Region offers you a tranquil setting from which you can explore the many unique experiences awaiting you here in the Finger Lakes..Welcome to the Black Sheep Inn an historic Octagon house lovingly restored with style, grace and charm. Your Finger Lakes experience begins here in Hammondsport, voted by Budget Travel as the “2012 Coolest Small Town in America.” Hammondsport sits at the southern tip of Keuka Lake, centrally located to the many award-winning wineries, micro-breweries, local cheese producers and a tremendous selection of cultural and outdoor activities. No need to pack and un-pack in several places, we are just a short scenic drive to everywhere you want to go!Open all year long, the Black Sheep Inn and Spa is open whenever you need to relax, rejuvenate and refresh. We offer distinctive Spa services to ensure an unforgettable massage experience. Our focus is your comfort, from our emphasis on local & seasonal organic ingredients, to our hand crafted soaps and spa products.You may choose to set out on a hike on the nearby Finger Lakes Trail, or take in one of the many waterfalls within a short drive from the Black Sheep Inn. There are also miles of scenic country roads to explore as you bike from one charming small town to another. Keuka Lake offers a cool, refreshing opportunity for a swim, kayaking, or just spectacular views.At the Black Sheep Inn, an historic Finger Lakes Bed and Breakfast, choose from one of our 5 guest rooms, each featuring its own unique design & style and private bath featuring lush towels and monogrammed robes: ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing