We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drake inn in Hampton Bays”
Review of The Drake Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Drake Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hampton Bays
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Drake inn in Hampton Bays”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We happened on the Drake Inn driving through Hampton Bays and found it a charming place to stay for several nights. The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms newly renovated and comfortable. The ambiance was pleasant with a pool and convenient to the bridge to Shinnecott Inlet. We highly recommend the Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidLMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDrakeInn, Manager at The Drake Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
It was a pleasure meeting and hosting you both.

Thank your for taking the time to share your impressions of The Drake
Inn with other travelers.

We hope you will choose us again on your next trip to the Hamptons.

Cheers,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    32
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
43
70
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This hotel / inn has plenty of space and room to roam and relax. Sitting on lots of land but arranged to be intimate and comfortable. I was informed that there is a new owner and management and I must say they really know how to make you feel apart from the rest of the world.
The rooms are immaculate and everything is NEW! There are beautiful flowering plants everywhere....the hotel is bay-front and it's close enough to everything you need without the noise or hustle and bustle. A great get-away!!
Management of the hotel was super nice and friendly yet professional.
A perfect little paradise. I highly recommend it if you're looking to kick back, do some boating or fishing and simply enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrey492003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDrakeInn, Manager at The Drake Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
The pleasure was all ours.

It was great meeting you.

We appreciate you taking the time to write this review.

Cheers,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2013

me and the wife stayed at the Drake because it was close to what we believe to be the best beach around and we were pleasantly surprised to find that the new owners have created a diamond by the sea. The grounds looked great with new landscaping for great curb appeal and charm. The rooms where totally renovated with a modern touch and they were extremely clean. The dock area was even made into a nice space to sit by the water. David at the front desk was helpful and attended to all of our needs. Overall a great place in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dante3838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDrakeInn, Manager at The Drake Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
We enjoyed welcoming and hosting you.

Thanks you for sharing your impressions with
the travelers' community.

Again, thanks for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I called looking for a room at the last minute. They were very helpful and able to get me in a room as soon as i arrived. I see some bad reviews below but my experience was very different. Everything had been remodeled and the rooms have brand new everything from appliances to towels and beds. Flat screen TVs and a very nice couch. They even offered me some cheesecake! Thank you, will definitely come back when i'm in the Hamptons again. Also the rates were very reasonable compared to other Inns with older rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for the room facing the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 13thave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDrakeInn, Manager at The Drake Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
You were one of our very first clients at The Drake Inn.

We appreciate choosing us and enjoyed meeting you and friend

Again, thanks for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Nini and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton Bays
1.7 mi away
Colonial Shores Resort
Colonial Shores Resort
#4 of 12 in Hampton Bays
63 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
0.2 mi away
Bay Watch Hotel & Marina
Bay Watch Hotel & Marina
#5 of 12 in Hampton Bays
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo East End
Hotel Indigo East End
#3 of 8 in Riverhead
518 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead
3.8 mi away
The Hamlet Inn
The Hamlet Inn
#2 of 8 in Southampton
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drake Inn

Property: The Drake Inn
Address: 16 Penny Ln, Hampton Bays, NY 11946-3211 (Formerly Drake Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Hampton Bays
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hampton Bays
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Drake Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drake Inn is one of the Hamptons finest resorts. We are peacefully secluded yet centrally located just one block west of the Ponquogue Bridge that takes you to the beautiful nearby beaches on Dune Road. At The Drake Inn you will be minutes away from all the best restaurants and all other fun activities that the Hamptons have to offer. Come and see for yourself why people adore this little gem in the Hamptons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Drake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Drake Inn Hampton Bays, Hamptons, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing