We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Inn to relax”
Review of The Drake Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Drake Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hampton Bays
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We were looking for a quiet spot to spend the weekend,and were fortunate to book the comfortable two bedroom cottage, which was spacious and extremely clean. The pool was right outside our door, and the dock by the water was steps away. We had a nice picnic lunch by the marina, and watched as the fisherman washed their catch from the day. By the end of our stay, we felt rested and relaxed. The manager, David, was extremely helpful, and we greatly appreciated the warm pastries he left for us in the morning on our porch. We wish the new management much luck and success as they continue to create a "home away from home", in the Hamptons!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
There are newer reviews for The Drake Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

My wife and I booked The Drake Inn on the recommendation of a friend. The hotel far exceeded our already high expectations! Value for dollar, this is the best place I have seen in my many trips to the Hamptons. Upon arrival we were greeted by name and show to our room. The rooms are completely renovated. Everything - bathroom, kitchen, bedroom is beautifully appointed and brand new. The bed and white linens are pristine and very comfortable. Welcome (and unexpected) touches included flat-screen TVs, fresh fruit, a modern coffee maker (with fresh cream in the refrigerator), and beignets delivered to our door in the morning! They even provide outdoor grills for guests wishing to cook their own food. The pool is very nice with modern, comfortable chaise lounges. The hotel offers varied sizes of rooms and seems ideal for couples, families, and large groups for multiple rooms. David, the manager, offered incredible service. They really do care that their guests are happy. We will be back soon - probably with friends.

Room Tip: Ask David for honest advice about what room you need and what you value most.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The Drake Inn, Hampton Bays felt like a lovely retreat, so pleasant to the eyes, and everyone was very accommodating during my stay. I loved the very classy welcome fruit bowl. The white decor, along with very contemporary appliances prove such a clean feel. The lawn area by your marina was just so relaxing, watching the boats and the birds on a beautiful day. And your pool and lawn furniture is what one would find at the finest resorts in the world. The Inn's location is great as well.

I look forward to my next visit, and can't wait to share this "find" with family and friends. Congratulations to the new owners and management, and much success to you with this lovely property!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are nicely appointed. Ask for closer to the marina, if available.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My wife & I just spent the past weekend at The Drake Inn. We were very pleasantly surprised with the modern amenities in the room and the incredibly clean facilities of this hotel. As mentioned by other posters, the whole place has been completely renovated and everything is brand new including flat screen tv and air conditioners (these are amenities that aren't always included in a Hamptons Hotel). David & his staff were very pleasant at all times and genuinely wanted to make sure that we were having a good stay. We even received a nice breakfast treat one morning on our porch. It was also nice to walk to the bay at the back of the hotel and to sit in the lounge chairs.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 748JohnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

My wife and I have been visiting the Hamptons for more than 10 years now. We've always stated at The Drake Inn, formally The Drake Motor Inn. The location is perfect and an enjoyable ride for us. The service has always been impeccable and every attention to detail has always been a priority for the management. Our last stay was just over two years ago, and we had commented, that the rooms, although very clean, were becoming a little outdated. The grounds, also needed a little TLC. We had heard that there was new ownership and management and that a total transformation had taken place. When we arrived at The Drake Inn, I had to do a double-take to make sure we were at the same place. It was as if someone had wiped the slate clean, and started all over. Everything, and I mean everything, is new! Ultra modern rooms and furnishings. Perfectly manicured grounds and unsurpassed service from David and his staff. The moment we pulled up to the office, David greeted us with a smile and a handshake and escorted us to our usual apartment. The second he opened the door for us, we knew that this would be our most memorable stay. Ultra modern, comfortable furniture. New kitchen and appliances. Soft linens and beautiful flowers throughout. We walked over to the marina at sunset, and enjoyed a glass of wine while watching the sun go down. It doesn't get any more romantic than that. Congratulations to the new owners. You have taken The Drake Inn well into the 21st century. We highly recommend The Drake Inn to anyone vacationing in the Hamptons. You'll have memories that will last a lifetime. Guaranteed!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerseyboy109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We booked a room at the Bentley Hotel for seven of us celebrating a bachelorette weekend and were horrified at the state of the place upon arrival - we were completely mislead by their advertising. After calling everywhere to try and find an alternative, someone recommended we call David and check out the newly renovated Drake. As soon as we arrived, we felt at home. David was warm and welcoming and toured us around the lovely modern accommodations. The rooms had brand new kitchenettes, modern seating areas, and crisp white bedding (the website does not do it justice, more work has been done since then!) The grassy picnic areas and canal are beautiful. We told him about our pickle at the Bentley and he lent us his landline to call and try to get our money back. As soon as we convinced them to refund us, we reserved the rooms at the Drake.

The rest of the weekend was heaven. David sent a bottle of wine over for the bride-to-be and brought us warm zeppolis from the local bakery in the morning. His golden retriever, Osito, visited us when we hung out on the grounds. We had one of the toilets clog and someone was right over to fix it. In fact, upon our departure, David promised us he would be replacing much of the old plumbing system in all the rooms to ensure the problem would be solved permanently . Ponquogue Beach is a 5 minute drive and there's a great breakfast cafe at the end of the block. By the end of the weekend, we felt we'd found a home away from home. The Drake is the perfect place for a charming weekend away from it all; you will feel comfortable and well looked-after. Lovely accommodations, lovely grounds, and above all, impeccable customer service. Thanks, David! You saved our weekend from disaster!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank njm1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We booked a last minute getaway at the Drake Motel. We weren't sure what to expect, as it was our first time there. Well, it was awesome! David and his staff were sweet and helpful. The rooms were super clean, newly renovated with comfortable beds and cute modern furniture. The grounds were landscaped beautifully and couldn't have been happier. We slept well, swam in the pool and spent time exploring the area - beach, boats and cute markets.

Room Tip: Sofa bed is basically a single.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nfein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton Bays
1.8 mi away
Colonial Shores Resort
Colonial Shores Resort
#4 of 12 in Hampton Bays
67 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
0.2 mi away
Bay Watch Hotel & Marina
Bay Watch Hotel & Marina
#5 of 12 in Hampton Bays
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Hamlet Inn
The Hamlet Inn
#2 of 8 in Southampton
69 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead
11.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Long Island - East End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drake Inn

Address: 16 Penny Ln, Hampton Bays, NY 11946-3211 (Formerly Drake Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Hampton Bays
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hampton Bays
Price Range: £135 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Drake Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drake Inn is one of the Hamptons finest resorts. We are peacefully secluded yet centrally located just one block west of the Ponquogue Bridge that takes you to the beautiful nearby beaches on Dune Road. At The Drake Inn you will be minutes away from all the best restaurants and all other fun activities that the Hamptons have to offer. Come and see for yourself why people adore this little gem in the Hamptons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Drake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Drake Inn Hampton Bays, Hamptons, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing