We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little piece of heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Drake Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Drake Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hampton Bays
Certificate of Excellence
Morcote, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I, we spend
3 days at the Drake Inn and it was
simply amazing!
A wonderfull location, perfect for a romatic trip to the Hamptons!
Very friendly staff!
You've to go if you're searching for
something sweet and simply!

Greetings
from
Switzerland

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BeAngeled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    28
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
34
60
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mineola, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel was newly remold end and very clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. We had a pleasant visit. The property has a pool as well as seating areas such as picnic tables and porches outside of the rooms. It was very relaxing to be able to just sit outside our room and enjoy the beautiful scenery. There is a canal that is behind the property which is very nice as we'll.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Here's a question for you: Have you ever in your life stayed in a hotel, motel or inn where the front desk was shut and locked for 15 hours, with no one available to answer the phones and without guests being informed?
Did you say no? That's because you haven't stayed at the Drake Inn, where management's philosophy appears to be, "When we're not around, you're on your own!"
On the day we checked in, I had occasion to call the front desk about a problem, shortly after 6 pm. My call, from the room phone, was answered by a voice saying, "Thank you for calling the Drake Inn. No one is available to answer your call," etc., etc. Thinking this was a mistake, I walked to the office but it was locked and dark, with no signs of life. It stayed that way until 9 the next morning! The voicemail messages I left at 6 pm and again at 9 pm went unanswered.

The assistant manager told us the next day that the inn routinely is not staffed on-site during those hours but that normally voicemail messages are forwarded to her cell phone. She could not explain why they had not happened the previous night. I told her the hotel could adopt whatever policies it wishes but it's wrong and perhaps illegal not to tell guests about it.

Fortunately the problem I had called about was not a life threatening situation. However, had there been a true emergency, such as a power failure causing a guest's medicine in the fridge to go bad, or a crime, the liability to the inn's owners would be incalculable.

The only compensation offered to us for this state of affairs was a bottle of wine sent to our room. However after I mentioned the possibility of liability for a future occurrence, an envelope was hastily taped to the office door with a handwritten note reading, "6 pm to 8 am, call xxx-xxxx."

Fortunately the issue I had called about was not life threatening

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave M, Guest Relations Manager at The Drake Inn, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
At The Drake Inn we always try our best to make every client feel at home and we are deeply sorry for having failed this particular client. But there is an explanation.
Due to a personal emergency on that particular evening, the person in charge had to be away from the property. All calls were transferred that night to the assistant manager's cell phone.
Unfortunately when this client called, the assistant manager's phone was in use, assisting another client, and, as a result, the call got bumped to a second line, hence the message was left on the office phone and it was not received until the next morning.
Our property is totally renovated and everything in it is brand new, including the WiFi, routers and boosters. The Internet signal to all rooms is usually very strong and steady.
After consulting with the company who has installed the system about the failure the client is complaining about, we were told that it may have been that at that particular time the system was overloaded, hence the weak signal.
Because our property is on the water, we have to overcome that challenge, too. Our system contractor is looking for more powerful equipment to meet this challenge. And because of this complaint we have purchased even more boosters to make sure the signal is fortified with the hope this does not happen again.
We are truly sorry for the incident.
"Fortunately," as the client himself stated, "the issue I had called about was not life threatening."
Luckily this whole ordeal was the exception and not the rule, as the rest of the reviews we get from our very happy clients attest to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Love the location. Chamber Maids could use a lesson on how to prepare a room.
Need to replace toilet paper when low. Coffee needs to be replaced when used.
To me this was minor issues.
Cute place and clean.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minica1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at The Drake Inn for a few days. We had a really great time and would recommend it for anyone staying in the Hampton Bays area.

The room was recently renovated (if you like Ikea you'll feel right at home) and it was very clean. The room size was pretty decent. Bed was comfortable and looked brand new as well. There was a small kitchen with complimentary coffee and tea.

The bathroom was also renovated - very clean. Good size. Good water pressure. Bathroom came with small toiletries.

It’s close to the shore - so there are lots of options available for dining on the water or relaxing on the beach.

I thought the staff did a great job keeping everything clean and organized.

The pool is in the parking lot and not private at all. The wifi was pretty spotty throughout the day.

In terms of price – it’s the Hamptons during the summertime - so its not cheap. We called around and they seemed to be on pair with the other places available in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms 10-16 are towards the back of the property near the marina. These rooms are much more private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellinglobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkland, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I had a chance to visit the Drake Inn last summer, and found it to be just beautiful. When I returned in June, 2014 with my husband, we stayed for 4 nights and really enjoyed the upscale, clean accommodations, the beautiful water view, and the ease of access for the Hamptons, Management was so professional and hospitable in just the right way. having taken the Bridgeport to Port Jefferson Ferry. We also enjoyed the very nice Market/Restaurant right around the corner for delicious breakfasts, and found the oysters at the corner waterfront bar to be excellent. Can't wait to return...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Pros: Great location - on a quiet road. Beautiful and modern room renovation, really liked the kitchen. [good quality] Glassware, dishes and utensils were provided. Fresh pastries each morning and bowl of fruit upon arrival. Room and grounds were meticulously clean/well groomed. Keurig machine in the room. Vending machine and ice. Great sized mini fridge. Terrace with table & chairs. Plenty of storage for clothes and in the bathroom enough draws for toiletries, we didn't have to live out of the suitcase. Comfy bed. Free beach towel and chair rental option. Appreciated the local suggestions of where to eat/ what to do. Loved the staff. Did NOT want to leave!

Cons: There wasn't a curtain or shade in the bathroom window. No privacy while showering, the next door neighbors had an active driveway and could see in. Pool wasn't opened yet during our stay (June 15-18). Screen door didn't shut properly or lock, would have liked to have kept it open over night. Construction workers/cars took up almost all of the parking. The AC unit was a bit loud.The Wifi wasn't good, too slow or couldn't connect.

Recommendations: box of tissues and a roll of paper towels for the kitchen. Open pool sooner. Fix shower privacy issue. supply more toilet paper in the bathroom

Room Tip: All of the rooms are pretty private, but for extra privacy rent one towards the back by the water th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank almafe0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton Bays
8.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
11.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo East End
Hotel Indigo East End
#3 of 7 in Riverhead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
1.7 mi away
Colonial Shores Resort
Colonial Shores Resort
#4 of 12 in Hampton Bays
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead
5.8 mi away
The Quogue Club
The Quogue Club
#1 of 1 in Quogue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Hamlet Inn
The Hamlet Inn
#2 of 8 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drake Inn

Property: The Drake Inn
Address: 16 Penny Ln, Hampton Bays, NY 11946-3211 (Formerly Drake Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Hampton Bays
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hampton Bays
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Drake Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Drake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Drake Inn Hampton Bays, Hamptons, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing