We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of The Drake Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Drake Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hampton Bays
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

It is a beautiful bungalow Well equipped in a fantastic garden water front. Very nice place for people searching quite, silence, Sun and the wonderfull atmosphere of Hamptons! We found also a good basket of fresh fruit a tour arrival. Every day they brought us delicious muffin!

Room Tip: All bungalows are recently renovated simply but very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Just visited. Very quiet and very clean. Welcoming staff. Located on the canal. You feel like you are staying at a friends house. Nice pool. Will come back again. .....,,,,,,.........................,,,,.,,,,....,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank klotito19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We recently rented four rooms at the Drake to attend a family wedding. The rooms were
lovely -- spotless and comfortable. It was convenient to everything. Everything about
the Drake was great. It was so wonderful that we intend to have a reunion there next
summer. I think that says it all!

Room Tip: I would suggest asking for a room on the inlet so that you can face the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The Drake was a great find. It is located on a beautiful canal with great views. The room was simply decorated, very clean, and the grounds were full of meticulously landscaped perennial flowers. There was also a delicious basket of fresh fruit in our room upon arrival. I highly recommend the Drake Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We spend three relaxing nights here in Cottage No 6. After really a lot of trouble finding the place we were welcomed as friendly and warm as you can imagine like coming home to your family. The place is very nice and well maintained. What disappointed us a bit was that we had to prepare our daughters bed ourself but the was the only tiny minus. Pool was perfect and we got the free parking ticket to the Ponquoque Beach which saved us 20 USD every day and free beach chairs and beach towels. Although we booked it as "without any meals" we received a small basket of pastries every morning.
The rooms itself were very clean with many plugs to charge all our equipment (unfortunately the WLAN was somehow buggy).
The Drake is deserves a Thumbs up! for everything.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marion E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Bright clean individual “chalets” in a gorgeous location on the banks of a tranquil creek. Benches and tables outside, and a lovely little swimming pool. A warm welcome and attentive service throughout our stay. Smitty’s Bar (he is a friendly fellow) 5 mins walk and Tully’s Restaurant 20 mins walk - good food – we enjoyed grappling with the lobster (make sure you get the right night/s). Other restaurants 5 mins drive, including the excellent Cowfish. Lovely beach 5 mins drive – free parking! A great base for exploring The Hamptons. 1 ½ hours to Montauk Point, 1 hour to Shelter Island – beautiful and great for biking. Beware - $40 per day parking for the beaches at Southampton, so you would want to spend a few hours there to get your money’s worth! We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank malcolmnewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The earlier Trip Advisor ratings aptly describe The Drake Inn, especially "Lovely Waterside Location." After spending a night there, I agree with them all. My own addition is to applaud the staff, who go out of their way to attend to their customers.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southerntravelerms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton Bays
1.8 mi away
Colonial Shores Resort
Colonial Shores Resort
#4 of 12 in Hampton Bays
69 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
2 mi away
Hampton Maid
Hampton Maid
#6 of 12 in Hampton Bays
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Long Island - East End
3.8 mi away
The Hamlet Inn
The Hamlet Inn
#2 of 8 in Southampton
73 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drake Inn

Address: 16 Penny Ln, Hampton Bays, NY 11946-3211 (Formerly Drake Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Hampton Bays
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hampton Bays
Price Range: £181 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Drake Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drake Inn is one of the Hamptons finest resorts. We are peacefully secluded yet centrally located just one block west of the Ponquogue Bridge that takes you to the beautiful nearby beaches on Dune Road. At The Drake Inn you will be minutes away from all the best restaurants and all other fun activities that the Hamptons have to offer. Come and see for yourself why people adore this little gem in the Hamptons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Drake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Drake Inn Hampton Bays, Hamptons, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing