We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of The Drake Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Drake Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hampton Bays
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We had the pleasure of a four night stay in a lovely two bedroom suite.
The rooms were slightly on the small size, and storage space is not the greatest I have ever seen, but everything was beautifully presented, and impeccably tidy.
The setting was superb; just off a quiet residential street 5-7 mins from the town centre, and over-looked a beautiful grass area with comfortable loungers, beside boating docks (see photos).
Every morning we were delivered a basket of muffins and croissants, and the coffee machine in our kitchen was put to good use too.
We ventured into the much busier Southampton several times, which was a 15-20 minute drive, and if you were looking for a more exciting/buzzy vacation, this might be a better resort for you; for us looking for a quiet few days, it was ideal.
All in all, it is a very pretty peaceful hotel, that I would highly recommend

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank euanhusarmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
There are newer reviews for The Drake Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

We had the pleasure of a four night stay in a lovely two bedroom suite.
The rooms were slightly on the small size, and storage space is not the greatest I have ever seen, but everything was beautifully presented, and impeccably tidy.
The setting was superb; just off a quiet residential street 5-7 mins from the town centre, and over-looked a beautiful grass area with comfortable loungers, beside boating docks (see photos).
Every morning we were delivered a basket of muffins and croissants, and the coffee machine in our kitchen was put to good use too.
We ventured into the much busier Southampton several times, which was a 15-20 minute drive, and if you were looking for a more exciting/buzzy vacation, this might be a better resort for you; for us looking for a quiet few days, it was ideal.
All in all, it is a very pretty peaceful hotel, that I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank royal l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I stayed at the Drake Inn with my husband and another couple. The rooms were spotless. The staff was very friendly. We loved that they gave us fruit upon arrival and breakfast the next morning we were able to sit on the water and watch the boats. The location is perfect also. I would recommend this place to anyone and I will definitely be back

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbiePamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

This Inn is all newly renovated. The owner is very friendly. The grounds are impeccable. Flowers everywhere. We had our complimentary muffins and croissants on their benches on the bay. Perfect quiet location in Hampton Bays. Rooms were extremely clean. TV only via antenna, but not a big deal. The only area for improving is the WiFi. The signal was in and out. That area has a weak Verizon wireless signal, so WiFi is key. Would definitely stay here again. For the price, it was a great find.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank prezzgreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Why drop a bundle on some clip joint motel no-tell when this newly-renovated hotel, actually a set of bungalows, has everything you need right where you need it?

Room was spotless and everything in it was new. Other reviews here are pretty accurate, but I would add that the sheets were just ok, probably poly/cotton blend. Big deal. The location is quiet, on a canal, but just three minutes from the Dune Road beaches. Get up early to snag one of the passes at the front desk.

Room was $300 night which I should have negotiated as the hotel was almost empty (we checked out today). My only gripe is that the pool was out of commission for 2-3 days, almost the entire time we were there. I asked for an adjustment to the room rate and haven't heard anything, which is a bit dismaying. So...they lose a point for failing to follow-up. Customer service goes BEYOND the stay, my friends.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave M, Public Relations Manager at The Drake Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

The client is correct in stating that the pool was closed for two days. This, unfortunately, was unexpected and beyond our control; a part in the operating machinery broke. The technician arrived just as soon as soon as we realized there was a problem. That very same day we ordered a new part which was shipped to us overnight.
We regret that our client did not get to enjoy the pool, but we feel that it is important to mention here a few facts that either the client has forgotten to include in his review and/or are inaccurate.
1) Upon Check in we gave the client a 15% discount
2) Client has received from us Free Passes to the beach, an additional savings of $20/day
3) Client was welcomed with a fruit basket
4) Every morning client woke up to a complementary basket of freshly baked croissants and muffins.
5) On the last day we offered the client a late checkout so they could enjoy the pool (that by then has been fixed and ready to use. )
6) When the client writes that "Room was spotless and everything in it was new. Other reviews here are pretty accurate, but I would add that the sheets were just ok, probably poly/cotton blend" he is both, right and wrong; While we appreciate the complements, stating that the sheets are "probably poly/cotton blend" is an utterly wrong assumption. As a matter of fact - all sheets, blankets, comforters and towels used at The Drake Inn are 100% cotton.
Again, we regret we could not have the pool fixed in time for the client to enjoy it in the afternoons, but we do appreciate the feedback. Here it may be suitable to end this reply by using the clients' own words:
"Why drop a bundle on some clip joint motel no-tell when this newly-renovated hotel, actually a set of bungalows, has everything you need right where you need it?"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

It is a beautiful bungalow Well equipped in a fantastic garden water front. Very nice place for people searching quite, silence, Sun and the wonderfull atmosphere of Hamptons! We found also a good basket of fresh fruit a tour arrival. Every day they brought us delicious muffin!

Room Tip: All bungalows are recently renovated simply but very nice
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Just visited. Very quiet and very clean. Welcoming staff. Located on the canal. You feel like you are staying at a friends house. Nice pool. Will come back again. .....,,,,,,.........................,,,,.,,,,....,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank klotito19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton Bays
1.8 mi away
Colonial Shores Resort
Colonial Shores Resort
#4 of 12 in Hampton Bays
67 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
0.2 mi away
Bay Watch Hotel & Marina
Bay Watch Hotel & Marina
#5 of 12 in Hampton Bays
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Hamlet Inn
The Hamlet Inn
#2 of 8 in Southampton
69 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead
11.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Long Island - East End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drake Inn

Address: 16 Penny Ln, Hampton Bays, NY 11946-3211 (Formerly Drake Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Hampton Bays
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hampton Bays
Price Range: £135 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Drake Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drake Inn is one of the Hamptons finest resorts. We are peacefully secluded yet centrally located just one block west of the Ponquogue Bridge that takes you to the beautiful nearby beaches on Dune Road. At The Drake Inn you will be minutes away from all the best restaurants and all other fun activities that the Hamptons have to offer. Come and see for yourself why people adore this little gem in the Hamptons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Drake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Drake Inn Hampton Bays, Hamptons, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing